Old 14-04-06, 12:23   #1
Blackhall Radge

ct01 will become famous soon enough
Right now how would you rate this season out of ten?

For myself personally i would say five out of ten which might go up a mark or two if hibs can end the season in some style though a very hard ask right now. Some good results throughout the course of the season but disappointing exits from both cup contests not just the result but the performance in both games too. Hoping next season with a couple solid signings and the rub of the green with injuries hibs can maybe find the flair and passion from most of last season.
ct01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:37   #2

Re: Right now how would you rate this season out of ten?

I'm pretty disappointed tbh. Injuries have absolutely killed us, and even before a lot of them kicked in there were a lot of poor poor performances. A far from exceptional Celtic side have walked the league, and as bad a Rangers side as there has been in twenty years will finish in front of us. Going out of both domestic cups in the way we did was pish. The European game I still consider us a bit unlucky to have gone out of, and the 2nd leg result was a travesty. Some excellent performances, and results just make it all the clearer how inconsistent we still are.

A grudging 5.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 14-04-06, 12:38   #3

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

7. if we finnish 4th and get into the Uefa cup and deek signs a new contract 8 1/2

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:40   #4

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

7. Finishing fourth would be a excellent season for us.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:57   #5

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

Last season I'd have given Hibs 9/10 with the defeats against the Dog and Duck in both League and Scottish cup being the major downers.

This season given Hibs finish 4th then I think they will have finished as high up the league as is possible relative to the resources of the teams above them.

Player for player there isn't that much between Hibs,Hearts,Celtic and 'Scotland's shame' first 11 but in terms of depth of squad the gap is quite enormous and to finish 4th would be a very creditable achievement.

The cups this season however have been a complete disaster and the manager for all his great work and attacking beliefs is now totally culpable for failing to strengthen the defence with either a proper central defender or a protective midfield player and both his keepers are now proven flops so I'd say 7/10 .

Ariggo Sachi.
SlovSam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 13:28   #6

HibbyChar is on the way to a first team debut

6 for beating rangers 3 ( hopefully 4) times in a season

HibbyChar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 13:50   #7
Pure Mental Dancin' Radge!!

hibeechick1985 is on the way to a first team debut

5 1/2 - as it stands, but if we finish 4th and beat the scumbos and get a little smidgin of pride back id give us 7!

Glory Glory.....

Mandz

hibeechick1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 14:14   #8
Radge Against The Machine

Cowshed Graffiti is on the way to a first team debut

GOOD: Beating Rangers three times. Ending the Hertz unbeaten run. Another 7-0 (though against Meadowbank this time).

BAD: Cups. 4-goal hidings off the Hertz. Inconsistent performances such as losing 3-2 after being 2-0 up against Falkirk. Weak in goal, defence and midfield (I know that's because of injuries but it's still true.) The Riordan saga.

So I give it 5/10. 6/10 if we make Europe and beat Hearts at ER.
And make him yell.

But spare the bald young clerks who add
The profits of the stinking cad;
It's not their fault that they are mad,
They've tasted hell.
- Slough - John Betjeman
Cowshed Graffiti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 14:15   #9

Hibees_Nutter is on the way to a first team debut

There's Only One Chris Hogg
Hibees_Nutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 14:18   #10

4th is the best we could hope for so if we achieve that with the horrendous injuries then 10/10 in the SPL.

We deserved better in the UEFA Cup but our defence once again let us down.. 6/10.

The Defence let us down in the CIS Cup.. 0/10

Fantstic result at Ibrox in the Scottish Cup. Again though defence let us down at Hampden in the Semi final.. 6/10.

Overall for the season i think we are 6/10.

If we had a defence then perhaps we could have achieved so much more..
Old 14-04-06, 14:24   #11
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

8 or 9 if we finish fourth.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 14:44   #12

Tony is on the way to a first team debut

i agree. 8-9 out of 10. TM and the players have excelled. I thought after last season that we may have struggled, and yo-yoed a bit. However, the rocking was not that intense, although the injuries and lack of strength in the squad has been clear. When fully fit and firing this Hibs team has been entertaining and competitive. Highlight so far - 3-0 in the Cup at Ibrox - just like my subutteo games used to be like in the 1970s.
Old 14-04-06, 14:58   #13

1875steve is just really nice1875steve is just really nice

Id say 7/10.

If we were finish with more points than we did last season(61) i think it's abit progress.

At the end of the day, the only reason we are not fighting for 3rd again is because of the money Hearts have spent, it's got nothing to do with having a worse season than last year.

At the end of the day, were sitting in the same position in the league as this time last year.

We got to the same stage in the Scottish Cup as last year.

I can't at this moment in time remember, where we got in the CIS last year, but it wasn't any further than were we got this year.

We have not went backwards, that's for sure.
1875steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 19:15   #14

Originally Posted by SlovSam
Last season I'd have given Hibs 9/10 with the defeats against the Dog and Duck in both League and Scottish cup being the major downers.

This season given Hibs finish 4th then I think they will have finished as high up the league as is possible relative to the resources of the teams above them.

Player for player there isn't that much between Hibs,Hearts,Celtic and 'Scotland's shame' first 11 but in terms of depth of squad the gap is quite enormous and to finish 4th would be a very creditable achievement.

The cups this season however have been a complete disaster and the manager for all his great work and attacking beliefs is now totally culpable for failing to strengthen the defence with either a proper central defender or a protective midfield player and both his keepers are now proven flops so I'd say 7/10 .
I would agree with that.
Old 14-04-06, 19:50   #15

hibee is on the way to a first team debut

7 or 8 as we have been to inconsistent. but great results against the huns but disapointing games against the yams!

тоиφ моωвяαφѕ gяεεи и ωнιтε αямφ
hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 21:38   #16
Perth Radge

jakey boy is on the way to a first team debut

right now id say a 6, but 4th in the league and uefa cup place would make it an 8.

true we have had problems with injuries, but thats life,

if we were facing gretna in the final of the scottish cup then everyone would be aye 10, but thats just if's and but's, if my auntie had balls she'd be my uncle!!

a home win v dnipro could have set us up.....

let down in cis v dunfermline.......

how many 4 goal defeats to the yams.........

not ideal but cast your mind back to bottom 6 finishes with fat boab, getting humped 4-1 at livi last game of season, just a couple of years back
jakey boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 21:46   #17

Originally Posted by jimmyhibs
i'll go along with that al.

i'd even go further and say we could've should've done better. the lack of quality coming through has been made evident with so many injuries.
i remember john park saying that the younger lads were even better than the 1st team. wel, where are they. they should have been kicking down the door of opportunity with all the injuries we've had.

I think Mogga is reluctant to use any more youngsters. The majority of the first team he inherited had already been introduced into the SPL and were quite prepared for it. Lets be honest they couldnt have been introduced in any harder times really. Keegan Ayre is meant to be some player and there was talk he could make some appearances this season but has never once featured.

Just Look at Jay Shields. Fair enough he's only had 2 games but 2 bloody good games they were. I havnt seen Whittaker peform as good as either of Shields performances all season. If he is anything to go by then I'd reckon there are probably a few that could step up but I dont think Mogga really wants many more young inexperienced boys in there just now. Boab through all the young boys in and maybe Mogga just has to take that chance aswell. I reckon Kevin McDonald could have come in during the tough times if he had been here but whether or not Mogga would of used him is another issue.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 21:52   #18
Loves the Bevy Radge

Chris_HFC#1 is on the way to a first team debut

gotta give it an 8 the last two seasons we have brilliant TM has totally changed the team
Chris_HFC#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 21:53   #19

Probably about 7/10. If we'd beat the scumbos at
Hampden then it would have been 10/10 and the
end of a very long wait. C'est la vie, as delboy
once said, and it's onwards and upwards for next years
ride. Being a Hibby is full of ups and downs, but at
least we'll have a team to follow in the years to come.
Not like the soul selling hertz feckers across town.

Old 14-04-06, 21:58   #20

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Originally Posted by brianmac
Probably about 7/10. If we'd beat the scumbos at
Hampden then it would have been 10/10 and the
end of a very long wait. C'est la vie, as delboy
once said, and it's onwards and upwards for next years
ride. Being a Hibby is full of ups and downs, but at
least we'll have a team to follow in the years to come.
Not like the soul selling hertz feckers across town.

well said fello

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 22:59   #21

seaofgreen is on the way to a first team debut

7/10 if we beat hertz and finnish 4th
seaofgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 23:13   #22

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

When i think about the season overall, im dissapointed. Personally, this has been by far the most enjoyable season ive ever experienced as a hibs fan. Had some great times. In Dnipro
Ibrox(twice) and Hearts at home. Some great memories but the consistency just wasnt there when we needed it most.

Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 23:54   #23

Originally Posted by wee 162
I'm pretty disappointed tbh. Injuries have absolutely killed us, and even before a lot of them kicked in there were a lot of poor poor performances. A far from exceptional Celtic side have walked the league, and as bad a Rangers side as there has been in twenty years will finish in front of us. Going out of both domestic cups in the way we did was pish. The European game I still consider us a bit unlucky to have gone out of, and the 2nd leg result was a travesty. Some excellent performances, and results just make it all the clearer how inconsistent we still are.

A grudging 5.
Pretty much with Al, and would add I never thought I could fall out with Tony, I have, regularly. I think his tactics have been pish since he knew Garry O was going, its Williamson fotball and I hate it. He has picked on Deek way to much, his two goalies are rubbish and he has acquired too many injury prone players. Konte is a useless fud too.

On the Brighter side, Murph (when fit) has been excellent, Scott Brown is simply fantastic (when fit), Deek has been by far the best player to play in a Hibs shirt since Frank and JC, Ivan Sproule can be good to watch and we did pump the Huns a few times.

I will go for 7 out of 10, ignoring the expectations being raised after last season.