Old 14-04-06, 10:21   #1

doontheslope70 hasnae upset anyone -yet
Spurs track Thomson..

Today's Daily Ranger reports Spurs scouts to watch KT again on Sunday..

Although we have Kevin, Scott Brown etc on extended contracts this is just to ensure a transfer fee and not on the basis the players will last this time.

doontheslope70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 10:25   #2

Re: Spurs track Thomson..

Unfortuantely if Spurs came in with an offer, I doubt we'd refuse it, although the players have shown commitment in signing these new deals, so maybe they want to stay here for another couple of seasons to learn their trade a bit more.
Old 14-04-06, 10:31   #3

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

I said it when GOC went to Loko and I'll say it again now!

I think it's a great boost for our Club that Teams such as Spurs and those elsewhere in Europe are looking at our Players! Not just the OF and Championship rubbish!

I'd hate to see our good players go, but if they must surely it's better to see them depart for teams with the calibre of Tottenham Hotspur.
Old 14-04-06, 10:37   #4

Originally Posted by CadgeMac
although i would hope they would do that i think if spurs came calling they would go
IMO it would be to tempting for him
Aye, you wouldnie grudge them a move to the premisership though, at least they wouldnie get wasted like they would if they moved to the smellies.
Old 14-04-06, 10:38   #5
Blackhall Radge

ct01 will become famous soon enough

It would be a great move for either brown or thomson imho. Look at the way young players have been given their chance for spurs this season almost similiar to hibs and if they made the champions league it may tip the balance in them actually making a bid. I think spurs would be fair too with a bid in the region of maybe £1.5 million+ coming from them for either player a price you would think hibs would seriously consider.
ct01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 10:40   #6
Ich bin ein Radge

Dr.Gonzo has a spectacular aura about

Couldn't grudge him a move to Spurs - it's a club that's finally going somewhere again.

Just to be petty with the article, notice how the word Celtic was in Bold and underlined twice. Wheras Hibs are just normal text. God I'm petty
Old 14-04-06, 11:18   #7

jonesy is on the way to a first team debut

if we keep letting our best players go O Connor, Caldwell, etc.. we have nae chance of winning anything end of story!
Old 14-04-06, 11:34   #8
Aye Man Radge

stanton4 is on the way to a first team debut

enjoyed the wee clip of family guy series 4 dvd

we've beat the famous english clubs.....we're better than the rest
stanton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 11:49   #9

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by jonesy
if we keep letting our best players go O Connor, Caldwell, etc.. we have nae chance of winning anything end of story!
Agreed,

But until we can compete with bigger clubs this will continue to happen.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:11   #10

Tony is on the way to a first team debut

Some thoughts - firstly, amazing how this story was released just before we playn Celtic = traditional media unsettling of the team proir to playing OF teams.
Secondly, if true, then it would be a great experience for the player as Spurs have great training facilities comapred to us.
Thirdly, we would miss him hugely as this side is slowly being unpicked with Gary O'C, Caldwell, Riordan and now Thomson on the move. We would have to be patient as TM rebuilds, and see if another crop of talented teenagers can make it in the top of the Scottish game.
Fourthly, the new contracts the players signed were partially a statement of faith in Hibs, and Hibs insuring themselves for sales to make sure some money comes in to develop training facilities, ER, and pay the interest on our debts. This last point seems to hot at our business plan which is the groom good young players to sell on and then invest in developing even better players, but this model depends on investment in training facilities, coaching and good communication with communities to let kids spend time with Hibs.
Old 14-04-06, 12:16   #11

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Originally Posted by Decal Joe
I said it when GOC went to Loko and I'll say it again now!

I think it's a great boost for our Club that Teams such as Spurs and those elsewhere in Europe are looking at our Players! Not just the OF and Championship rubbish!

I'd hate to see our good players go, but if they must surely it's better to see them depart for teams with the calibre of Tottenham Hotspur.
Wonder how Ihun Murray feels now
seeing BIG clubs looking at Hibs players, and no some diddy team from the west coast.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:19   #12

where does he go, and what does he do? Jambos?
Old 14-04-06, 12:20   #13
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by ©stretch
Wonder how Ihun Murray feels now
seeing BIG clubs looking at Hibs players, and no some diddy team from the west coast.

probably spewing.

Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:23   #14
Loves the Bevy Radge

Chris_HFC#1 is on the way to a first team debut

if he is gonna go it would be good for hibs to hold out for 2 3 mil cause imo thomson is worth that a doubt we would get that for him though probs less than o'connor
Chris_HFC#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:26   #15

does anyone think that thomo will get a game over carrick and jenas a hope so if he goes a doubt hel go though.
Old 14-04-06, 12:30   #16

Good point. However, in terms of his development, he may well be sold the dream of playing and training in the Prem.League, and working with world class players. The extra wedge may well have some sway too. On the other hand, a year or more in the reserves will not do much for his Scotland chances so stay and play with Hibs Kevin
Old 14-04-06, 12:48   #17

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Young_hibee
does anyone think that thomo will get a game over carrick and jenas a hope so if he goes a doubt hel go though.
Why wouldn't he go?
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 12:51   #18

Originally Posted by Postiga
Why wouldn't he go?
its not his desicion while hes under contract is it.
Old 14-04-06, 12:54   #19

Couldnt grudge Thommo the move but I reckon he'd be more sensible not to go there. He is a good player no doubt but the competition ahead of him is pretty good. They also have plenty midfielders making it even harder.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 19:14   #20

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
Couldnt grudge Thommo the move but I reckon he'd be more sensible not to go there. He is a good player no doubt but the competition ahead of him is pretty good. They also have plenty midfielders making it even harder.
I agree with that. Although I would be dissapointed he left, I couldn't blame him for going. However I don't think he would get into the first 11 especially for the next few years. They've got players like Davids, Carrick, Jenas, Aaron Lennon and even Danny Murphy who are all probably better than him. I'm not saying he's not good by the way cause I think he is a great player.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 20:10   #21

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Originally Posted by calumhibee1
I agree with that. Although I would be dissapointed he left, I couldn't blame him for going. However I don't think he would get into the first 11 especially for the next few years. They've got players like Davids, Carrick, Jenas, Aaron Lennon and even Danny Murphy who are all probably better than him. I'm not saying he's not good by the way cause I think he is a great player.
Davids, Finished
Carrick, Good player but Thomsons better.
Jenas. Overated
Aaron. See above
Lennon.

Danny Murphy. Finished,was good in the Liverpool team. Found out at Charlton, and now canny get a game for Spurs.

Thomson would walk into the Spurs midfield. Although he'll need to start learning how to use his right leg,and how to win a header. But apart from that, he's better than what they have at the moment.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 20:47   #22

Davids, Finished
Jenas. Overated
Aaron. See above
Lennon.

Danny Murphy. Finished,was good in the Liverpool team. Found out at Charlton, and now canny get a game for Spurs.

Thomson would walk into the Spurs midfield. Although he'll need to start learning how to use his right leg,and how to win a header. But apart from that, he's better than what they have at the moment.
Thomson is a good player and could make it in the Premiership. If Barry Fegushun can do it then Thommo certainly can. But I'm not so sure that if we had Carrick and Jenas at Hibs, Thomson would be getting his game. They've also got Teemu Taino at Spurs aswell who is a good player to have in the middle. Carrick can pass a ball and has an element that Thomson doesnt have that he can shoot. Jenas has more pace than Thommo, is good at running with a ball and can also shoot. I just think they are allround better players than Thommo.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-06, 20:47   #23

Davids, Finished
Jenas. Overated
Aaron. See above
Lennon.

You wearing your green goggles Garry ? Thommo better than Carrick ? Jenas is a superb player on his day, as is Davids. Lennon is superb as well. They are all full internationals for their country apart from Lennon. Spurs are clear 4th in the premiership, the midfield must be doing something right.