Old 11-04-06, 10:47   #1

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
There's Only One Kevin Harper!

Eight years ago today, Easter Saturday 1998, the Jim Jefferies bandwagon rolled into Easter Road. Hertz, to be fair, were running the OF close for that season's title. The huns, after causing mass synchronised ejaculations on the sportsdesks of the weegie pravdas by equalling the tims' nine-in-a-row the previous year, were in major decline, while Porn Star Jansen's Celts would ultimately be one of the luckiest sides to win the league.

However, hertz' title hopes had taken a serious dent as they'd dropped a point at home to Motherwell, one of our few serious rivals for the dreaded drop zone. Hibs, after starting the season brightly under Jim, most recently Judas, Duffy had gone on a club record premier league losing streak of seven games and been 'marooned' in tenth spot since before Christmas. Ironically, a 6-2 mauling at McLeish's Motherwell saw the bald ex-Morton centre-half get his cards and the ginger one assume the managerial reins at ER.

McLeish gave us some hope that Hibs might stay up with a ten men victory over his old club and injury time equalisers against St Johnstone and Aberdeen. Going into this derby though, hertz were protecting an eight game unbeaten run going back until New Year's Day 1996 when Kevin Harper had scored the winner with a glorious volley. Interviewed on the short-lived 'Hibs Club' (at 7pm on Wednesdays on Sky Scottish only during the 1997-98 season) a few days before the game, Kevin stated that the game when he scored the winner was his favourite derby.

How prophetic those words were, as after Barry Lavety had given us the lead after 57 minutes, and Robertson equalised for them with 20 minutes left, late sub Harper went off on a run that ended with a low shot from the edge of the box past Rousset. That defeat effectively ended hertz' chances of the title.

Unfortunately, that was our last victory of the season and, in fact, Harper's last home goal for Hibs (his last was at Boghead on 5.9.98, in a 2-2 draw with Clydebank). However, he was always one of my favourite Hibbies cos of his record of scoring against hertz and the huns.

THERE'S ONLY ONE KEVIN HARPER!
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 10:49   #2

Naked Chef will become famous soon enough
Re: There's Only One Kevin Harper!

I used to fancy him. - very pleasant on the eye.
Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 10:56   #3

Did Kevin score against Clydebank that day.

I was there and was sure he was only a sub and he
didn't get a game 'cos the club didn't want to risk him
being injured. I remember him warming up and some
twat shouting at him for being a money grabbing Judas.
He soon got shouted down though. That was behind the goals.
My mate ripped his brand new Lacoste polo shirt on a
ragged bit of metal from one of the crush barriers, and it
was also the last time i ever backed Hibs on my fixed odds.
Let me down for hunners

Old 11-04-06, 11:30   #4

Kevin did indeed score that day. He'd come on as a sub at half-time and scored from about two yards right in front of us, on that old crumbling terrace. There was a wee semi circle grassy verge behind the goal and some bairns jumped on, so I (three weeks off my 27th bday at the time!) joined in!

Drink's a terrible thing!
Old 11-04-06, 11:39   #5

Originally Posted by Seven Tattoos
Kevin did indeed score that day. He'd come on as a sub at half-time and scored from about two yards right in front of us, on that old crumbling terrace. There was a wee semi circle grassy verge behind the goal and some bairns jumped on, so I (three weeks off my 27th bday at the time!) joined in!

Drink's a terrible thing!
I stand corrected.
I remember that we scored with about a minute left.
The Bankies went right up the park, got a corner and
scored from it. Sickener

And yes, drink is a terrible thing

Old 11-04-06, 11:56   #6

Drink is indeed a terrible thing; when we got back to Embra we took over the back area and when Keith Wright came in we greeted him with 'Keith, Keith, Keith'. Keith also signed a very dubious t-shirt of mine bu phucked off shortly afterwards. Quite possibly cos that hertzkant Kevin Twattle was in his company.

Also, on this date:
Sat 11.4.87 Hibs 1-4 Celtic
George McCluskey for us after 3 mins, they equalised after 41 and then scored three times in the last quarter of an hour.

And:
Sat 11.4.92 Falkirk 2-3 Hibs
Can't remember who scored all the Hibs goals but Graeme Donald got one of them. Think it was McGinlay and Evans but I'm a 'bouncer' even more asperger's like than me can correct me.

FECKTHEHERTZ!
Old 11-04-06, 12:36   #7

Shearer is on the way to a first team debut

That game was my first derby. i was sitting in the old west stand with my uncle. What a game, what a goal, I still watch the game on my old Hibs videos.

Shearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 17:25   #8

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Shearer
That game was my first derby. i was sitting in the old west stand with my uncle. What a game, what a goal, I still watch the game on my old Hibs videos.
Same. I was in the F5 though.

I remember it snowed, rained, was sunny, windy, freezing and roasting all in that 90 minutes

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 19:12   #9

Luke D is on the way to a first team debut

Wow that brings back memories, that was a great derby, still got the newspaper cuttings, oh the memories of days gone by...

wheres ma pipe....

"Step up super fletch, your time is nigh"
Luke D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 19:15   #10
Totall Effing Bonkers Radge

Reservoir Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

i remeber that very well i seem to remember hugging a copper

Reservoir Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 20:06   #11

Decal Joe has a spectacular aura about

Drink is indeed a terrible thing; when we got back to Embra we took over the back area and when Keith Wright came in we greeted him with 'Keith, Keith, Keith'. Keith also signed a very dubious t-shirt of mine bu phucked off shortly afterwards. Quite possibly cos that hertzkant Kevin Twattle was in his company.

Also, on this date:
Sat 11.4.87 Hibs 1-4 Celtic
George McCluskey for us after 3 mins, they equalised after 41 and then scored three times in the last quarter of an hour.

And:
Sat 11.4.92 Falkirk 2-3 Hibs
Can't remember who scored all the Hibs goals but Graeme Donald got one of them. Think it was McGinlay and Evans but I'm a 'bouncer' even more asperger's like than me can correct me.

FECKTHEHERTZ!
Scotty!, If you cannae remember what chance have any of us mere mortals with average memory banks got!

In fact if you can't remember it, did it even happen?
Decal Joe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 20:10   #12

i thought it was graeme donald

i just started drinking at the time

Old 11-04-06, 20:48   #13

jonesy is on the way to a first team debut

anyone know if Kevin is still playing and where about?
Old 11-04-06, 20:50   #14

Originally Posted by jonesy

Old 11-04-06, 20:52   #15

chrissy-r-hfc is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Reservoir Hibee

Derby bought him for £300,000 when we were in the first division. Football has changed like.

WELCOME HOME DEEKS
chrissy-r-hfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 21:57   #16

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

April 11th 1998 was my favouritest derby. The worst Hibs team I have ever seen beat the best Hearts team.

Anyhows.

Tonights statto stuff.

April 11th 1992.

Falkirk 2 Hibernian 3

Scorers: Brian Hamilton, Graeme Donald, Tommy McIntyre. Attendance 3943.

Team:

Chris Reid, Willie Miller, Joe Tortolano, Billy Findlay, Tommy McIntyre, Gordon Hunter, Mickey Weir, Brian Hamilton, Graeme Donald, Gareth Evans, Pat McGinlay.

Subs: Neil Orr & Mark McGraw.

How the feck did we score 3 times in one game with that team?

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 22:39   #17

PaddyBarry is on the way to a first team debut

That is one of my all-time fave derbies. Went for a few shandies before, can't remember where now, but just got the feeling we'd deliver, and some of the most mental celebrations ever when the winner went in.

Ended up getting soaked, didn't care. KH LOVED scoring against Hearts, and usually did so in some style!
PaddyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-06, 23:09   #18

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

That 2-1 win v herz at Easter Road, wonderful goal by Harper 9who really should've played for Scotland by now).
What should be remembered is that we went into that derby on the back of a 7-0 hiding at Ibrox, so you could say the players owed us one. Miller should have got his P45 after that thumping at Ibrox, but Dougie Cromb was always too soft in dealing with Lexo.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-06, 01:04   #19
Pure Bawbag Radge

overDrive hasnae upset anyone -yet

Originally Posted by jonesy
He was in one of the Sunday tabloids a couple of weeks ago whoring himself for a return to Hibs.

I think his contract is up and he was saying he's desperate for a move to an SPL side and Hibs would be his first choice as he'd like to be the auld heid amongst the youngsters.

He also said it was the SFA's brushing under the carpet of racial abuse against him (by Gary McKay I assume) that made him leave Scotland in the first place and that he's dissapointed that so few Scottish black kids have made it through the system in Scottish football since then.

HIBEES!

The Pride of Leith
The Pride of Edinburgh
The Pride of Scotland
The Pride of Britain
overDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-06, 01:23   #20

Harpandcastle is on the way to a first team debut

[quote=Seven Tattoos]. Keith also signed a very dubious t-shirt of mine

Those plums sure were shiny!
Harpandcastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-06, 08:16   #21

doontheslope70 hasnae upset anyone -yet

Eight years ago today, Easter Saturday 1998, the Jim Jefferies bandwagon rolled into Easter Road. Hertz, to be fair, were running the OF close for that season's title. The huns, after causing mass synchronised ejaculations on the sportsdesks of the weegie pravdas by equalling the tims' nine-in-a-row the previous year, were in major decline, while Porn Star Jansen's Celts would ultimately be one of the luckiest sides to win the league.

However, hertz' title hopes had taken a serious dent as they'd dropped a point at home to Motherwell, one of our few serious rivals for the dreaded drop zone. Hibs, after starting the season brightly under Jim, most recently Judas, Duffy had gone on a club record premier league losing streak of seven games and been 'marooned' in tenth spot since before Christmas. Ironically, a 6-2 mauling at McLeish's Motherwell saw the bald ex-Morton centre-half get his cards and the ginger one assume the managerial reins at ER.

McLeish gave us some hope that Hibs might stay up with a ten men victory over his old club and injury time equalisers against St Johnstone and Aberdeen. Going into this derby though, hertz were protecting an eight game unbeaten run going back until New Year's Day 1996 when Kevin Harper had scored the winner with a glorious volley. Interviewed on the short-lived 'Hibs Club' (at 7pm on Wednesdays on Sky Scottish only during the 1997-98 season) a few days before the game, Kevin stated that the game when he scored the winner was his favourite derby.

How prophetic those words were, as after Barry Lavety had given us the lead after 57 minutes, and Robertson equalised for them with 20 minutes left, late sub Harper went off on a run that ended with a low shot from the edge of the box past Rousset. That defeat effectively ended hertz' chances of the title.

Unfortunately, that was our last victory of the season and, in fact, Harper's last home goal for Hibs (his last was at Boghead on 5.9.98, in a 2-2 draw with Clydebank). However, he was always one of my favourite Hibbies cos of his record of scoring against hertz and the huns.

THERE'S ONLY ONE KEVIN HARPER!
Remember the game well, my wee 8 year old boy was mascot, I have the picyures on my wall, he is now 16 and 6'3"". Ah how time flies.
doontheslope70 is offline   Reply With Quote