Old 07-04-06, 19:04   #1

bumblebee is on the way to a first team debut
Intertoto

Was reading this link and think this will be a pretty good thing for Hibs to be in (assuming we don't make UEFA anyway).

From what I'm reading, it looks like the intertoto is now only 3 rounds long, and from the link it says the Scottish team will enter at round 2 meaning Hibs will only have to play 2 ties (4 matches) to get into the qualifying round for the UEFA cup.

Now, seeing as each country only gets to enter 1 team and there are 11 places in the 2nd Qualifying round of the UEFA up for grabs - if there is seeding for the 3rd round, with Scotland being the 10th placed country we would miss one of the big guns (not sure if there is seeding tho!).

Also, the countries below us (unseeded) that may be scary won't have their countries top teams in it (i.e. Steua & Rapid Bucharest will surely qualify for Europe automatically) so we'd probably get a team on the same level as us in the 3rd round.

Europe here we come!!

If we make the UEFA through the league, I'd quite fancy Inverness to make it with this format!!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 19:07   #2

hibadelic has a spectacular aura abouthibadelic has a spectacular aura about
Re: Intertoto

We'll make the UEFA as fourth spot.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
hibadelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 19:08   #3

It seems an attractive format with the big goal at the end. Custard pie job if ye fall flat on yer faces like we did to Vetra and Dundee to that Albanian mob though.

Old 07-04-06, 19:21   #4

bumblebee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by TattooedHibee
It seems an attractive format with the big goal at the end. Custard pie job if ye fall flat on yer faces like we did to Vetra and Dundee to that Albanian mob though.
true, but Mowbray only had one week with the players before the last game. Plus remember how much it was pissing it on the Saturday at Easter Road!

THE PEOPLE'S PRINCESS
Forever in our Hearts
RIP
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 19:21   #5

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about

If Hertz are not caught by the Huns this will be our only route. Worth doing for the glory of European nights.
Old 07-04-06, 19:24   #6

HibeeSned is on the way to a first team debut

The Intertoto Cup is a nice little safety net in the unlikely event that we don't qualify for the UEFA Cup by getting fourth spot. Still though, I think we'll qualify
HibeeSned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-06, 20:05   #7

Originally Posted by bumblebee
Was reading this link and think this will be a pretty good thing for Hibs to be in (assuming we don't make UEFA anyway).

From what I'm reading, it looks like the intertoto is now only 3 rounds long, and from the link it says the Scottish team will enter at round 2 meaning Hibs will only have to play 2 ties (4 matches) to get into the qualifying round for the UEFA cup.

Now, seeing as each country only gets to enter 1 team and there are 11 places in the 2nd Qualifying round of the UEFA up for grabs - if there is seeding for the 3rd round, with Scotland being the 10th placed country we would miss one of the big guns (not sure if there is seeding tho!).

Also, the countries below us (unseeded) that may be scary won't have their countries top teams in it (i.e. Steua & Rapid Bucharest will surely qualify for Europe automatically) so we'd probably get a team on the same level as us in the 3rd round.

Europe here we come!!

If we make the UEFA through the league, I'd quite fancy Inverness to make it with this format!!

Been saying as much since they changed the format last year. Uefa are now looking at ways to enhance the status of the Intertoto and bring back 3 euro competitions. This keeps the big bad wolves(G12?? clubs) who keep holding summit meetings and hinting at setting up "breakaway" leagues/tournies, off their back.

By making qualification easier, or giving more options, for the "lesser" euro clubs, it takes the pressure off them(Uefa) and makes the chances of a "North Atlantic League", or similar, less likely and keep everyone under uefa's control.

More clubs, even top clubs having a bad season or two, who may have missed out on the "real deal" by a point or two/goal difference, will look at Intertoto as a back door/consolation and fancy their chances of getting into the "big cup".

And Mowbray did'nt have one week to prepare for Intertoto, he had a month at least. When he was appointed he went on holiday(arranged before the Hibs job came up) a week after taking up the job, he returned 10 days before the first leg match. Well documented at the time.

Old 08-04-06, 09:42   #8

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut

As long as there is European football back at ER i don't care if we have to enter the inter toto, This time around Tony will be prepared.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 12:24   #9

Davy is on the way to a first team debut

While it is a way into UEFA proper we should enter if we dont make UEFA as it is still good quality Euro teams and better than simply playing friendlies. It might be seen as failure not to win the Toto but I dont see it that way, any route to raising our experience of European football should be sought. In the early years of European football we were in almost every year and it was expected, so we need to start playing teams from abroad on a regular basis no matter what the name of the competition is.

Davy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 12:39   #10

hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut

Think this is a possibility but seems more of a hassle, think we will still finish 4th behind the Yams. Rangers will come second then we NEEDthe Yams to win the Cup..

Found seated under the Gantry.
hibeesbounceross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 12:58   #11
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

It would be a good compition a think something that a think we could do pretty well in.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 14:20   #12

CockenzieHibee is on the way to a first team debut

Yeah, it is a great opportunity for Hibs to have a go inthe intertoto again. One thing we lack is experience when it comes to the european game and was the only reason for our Dnipro result. And all these teams that say its a diddy comp are talkin sh1te. I can assure you that if rangers didnt turn round their game at the seasons mid-point, they would be hailing the thing as a real opportunity and a respectable comp.
CockenzieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 19:54   #13

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

I think the prospect of European football is attractive to potential signings but tbh, I just don't think we are good enough to play at that level right now. Our form indicates a mid table team in a $hite league. Aye, it's great to have an away day to some foreign land but be honest, that is all it is right now. We need to be a more consistant, winning team to make a dent in any european competition.
Old 08-04-06, 21:41   #14

HibbiesandtheBa is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by BurbankHibee
I think the prospect of European football is attractive to potential signings but tbh, I just don't think we are good enough to play at that level right now. Our form indicates a mid table team in a $hite league. Aye, it's great to have an away day to some foreign land but be honest, that is all it is right now. We need to be a more consistant, winning team to make a dent in any european competition.
We're a much better team when we have all our first picks available than we have been the last few games. Only Boozy would still be a doubt by the time we were scheduled to play our first tie
HibbiesandtheBa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-06, 21:50   #15

HibeeSned is on the way to a first team debut

I think the Intertoto is very mediocre, however, I agree that we need more European experience.

We'll still come fourth despite today's result. Let's just remain positive and get behind the team 100%.

I'll be proud if we finish fourth.

Mind you, I'll also be proud if we do win the Intertoto Cup...

Stay positive, we can finish fourth, we've got it in us.
HibeeSned is offline   Reply With Quote