Old 02-04-06, 18:34   #1

You've taken us far Mogga but that was unacceptable..

Said before many a time but 'We can't win anything with that Defence'. You obviously recognised that yourself with the tactical changes with Caldwell & Whittaker. IMO it was the right thing but it didn't work.

In one season 0-4, 1-4 & 0-4 defeats to Hearts is not acceptable. In all games the defence cost us.

Priority Must be on getting this right otherwise the exciting young talents we do have will never get their rewards.
Old 02-04-06, 18:38   #2

SkyeHibs has a spectacular aura about
Re: You've taken us far Mogga but that was unacceptable..

Originally Posted by Smurf
Said before many a time but 'We can't win anything with that Defence'. You obviously recognised that yourself with the tactical changes with Caldwell & Whittaker. IMO it was the right thing but it didn't work.

In one season 0-4, 1-4 & 0-4 defeats to Hearts is not acceptable. In all games the defence cost us.

Priority Must be on getting this right otherwise the exciting young talents we do have will never get their rewards.
The making (or otherwise) of Mowbray will be whether he can develop this team further. It does remind me of the late sixties before Turnbull's arrival when we had good players but they did not have what it takes to become winners of silverware. The winning mentality and ability to achieve on a consistant basis are what is needed.
Old 02-04-06, 18:39   #3
Get It Up Ye Radge

hibbypotter is on the way to a first team debut

how come mogga was a defender but cant pick any good 1's for the team

lets all do the hibees bounce
hibbypotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 18:44   #4

Originally Posted by LanarkHibs
The making (or otherwise) of Mowbray will be whether he can develop this team further. It does remind me of the late sixties before Turnbull's arrival when we had good players but they did not have what it takes to become winners of silverware. The winning mentality and ability to achieve on a consistant basis are what is needed.
It's frustrating Ian as we are not too far away. IMO the key is major surgery to the defence (Obviously including goalkeeping..) that should only IMO see Murphy & Hogg survive.

I said to my Dad before the game that i was confident but predicted that we would need a minimum of 3 goals to win the game. Even having Riordan, Brown, Killen & O'Connor we would have needed 5 to win..

No case at all IMO for the defence..
Old 02-04-06, 18:46   #5

It's frustrating Ian as we are not too far away. IMO the key is major surgery to the defence (Obviously including goalkeeping..) that should only IMO see Murphy & Hogg survive.

I said to my Dad before the game that i was confident but predicted that we would need a minimum of 3 goals to win the game. Even having Riordan, Brown, Killen & O'Connor we would have needed 5 to win..

Mowbray has to be supported by the board in the summer and allow him to begin surgery.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 18:47   #6

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
Mowbray has to be supported by the board in the summer and allow him to begin surgery.
The absolute Key point.
Old 02-04-06, 18:47   #7
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Broxburn_Hibby will become famous soon enough

I have been saying for long enough that in order for us to progress we need to have solid foundations at the back but TM continues to play "We'll score more than we concede card" after every defeat.Not good enough

Broxburn_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 18:47   #8

Steve-O is on the way to a first team debut

Crazy as it is to say, if Simon Brown was playing we might've only needed 3 to win!

We really need a big commanding centre half beside Hogg. I still don't know why we got rid of Rudge because he was the best defender of the lot of them, as proven when Hearts scored a big fat ZERO against us at ER.

Steve-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 18:50   #9
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Originally Posted by Steve-O
Crazy as it is to say, if Simon Brown was playing we might've only needed 3 to win!

We really need a big commanding centre half beside Hogg. I still don't know why we got rid of Rudge because he was the best defender of the lot of them, as proven when Hearts scored a big fat ZERO against us at ER.
Good point and i agree totally.Rudge had his faults but in general he was a no nonsense centre half who looked comfortable on the ball and in the air,why TM got rid of him we'll never know

Last edited by Broxburn_Hibby; 02-04-06 at 20:28.
Old 02-04-06, 20:23   #10
Brafur Radge

BoomtownHibeys is on the way to a first team debut

Build from the back. Look at Hearts. Best defence in the league. There team is built around Gordon Pressley and Webster
BoomtownHibeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 20:26   #11

Originally Posted by DaddyK
He's got a job to do that's for sure. Despite the result, some of the failings were there to see. Caldwell I don't rate; Zibby and Brown (get a decent keeper it's a Hibs tradition)

I have faith and I know today was difficult, however I don't think it's purely down to the board, just yet. Tony has work to do and so does Venus. No offence to wee people, but my mate who is a Performance director down South, was astounded when he saw Jinky and the other even smaller guy, he thought there was an U15'S MATCH on at the interval. In the warm ups, it looked like men against boys
Our bench told a story of how weak a squad we have DaddyK..

Maybe someone who watched on telly can confirm but i've just spoken to a guy who watched it on telly who said he couldn't believe how negative Mogga was before the game in his SKY interview.

Said the panel on SKY were shocked at how negative Mogga was?
Old 02-04-06, 20:27   #12
Van Zanten Ya Radge

Our bench told a story of how weak a squad we have DaddyK..

Maybe someone who watched on telly can confirm but i've just spoken to a guy who watched it on telly who said he couldn't believe how negative Mogga was before the game in his SKY interview.

Said the panel on SKY were shocked at how negative Mogga was?

What was he saying like

Old 02-04-06, 20:29   #13

Originally Posted by Broxburn_Hibby
[/b]

What was he saying like
That's what i am asking..
Old 02-04-06, 20:29   #14

CockenzieHibee is on the way to a first team debut

have a look at TM's post match comments on the official page, I totally agree with him. We only have the money to play around 9 decent players with little experience outside scottish football. Hearts have a 40 or so strong squad to choose from and celtic have a squad of 50. we couldnt expect much from our small choice of reserves and the squad definately needs some money for next season
CockenzieHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 20:40   #15

What makes a good team great Kenny.
The point about not being far away I agree with. Ned made three signings to turn the under achieving team he inherited the team we still talk fondly of-Turnbull's tornadoes.

I am grateful for what Tony has achieved and I hope he can take us onto the next level.......Let us see if he can. It does mean he must show great tactical awareness as well as needing the room to manouevre to make the right signings.
Old 02-04-06, 20:41   #16

Originally Posted by Steve-O

I agree with all except the first bit. Hogg for me stands off too much Steve.
Old 02-04-06, 20:43   #17

Originally Posted by DaddyK
He's got a job to do that's for sure. Despite the result, some of the failings were there to see. Caldwell I don't rate; Zibby and Brown (get a decent keeper it's a Hibs tradition)

I have faith and I know today was difficult, however I don't think it's purely down to the board, just yet. Tony has work to do and so does Venus. No offence to wee people, but my mate who is a Performance director down South, was astounded when he saw Jinky and the other even smaller guy, he thought there was an U15'S MATCH on at the interval. In the warm ups, it looked like men against boys
We have been lucky over the years with great keepers..........Not for now. And yes we need a physical presence.........In this case size matters.
Old 02-04-06, 21:26   #18
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Just a wee thought: of all the exciting young talents coming through the youth system that we've had the pleasure to watch over the past few years, it's interesting to note that not one of them has been a defender.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 21:36   #19

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

I agree that we need to bolster defence, and that you should build from the back. It starts with a decent keeper and we don't have one. That is the first priority IMO.

However, I'd also add that the midfield and attack were woeful today too. Yes there were absentees, but the overall team performance was poor and it wasn't all down to a lack of quality players. The tactics puzzled me somewhat; I couldn't see what Whittaker was meant to be doing half the time, for example. In short I don't think we should insist on mass clearouts just on the strength of this game, important though it was.

Bartok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 21:42   #20

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

That's what i am asking..
He appeared quite downbeat about the players who were missing. Both Rix and Nicholas felt he feared defeat before a ball was kicked. On Sky they felt he should've spent more time talking up who was playing rather than being down about who wasn't playing.

Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 21:54   #21
The Radge of all Radges

liam_ya_bas is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by oo2beahibby
Just a wee thought: of all the exciting young talents coming through the youth system that we've had the pleasure to watch over the past few years, it's interesting to note that not one of them has been a defender.
Ma pal was going to get signed on a full time contract when he turned 16, but hibs told him he would be getting signed if he played centre half(he is a CM) and he refused and left.

Good point though.. Whittacker was a RM but he only started playing RB when he was breaking into the 1st team..

liam_ya_bas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 23:34   #22
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut