Old 02-04-06, 15:36   #1

Bossie will become famous soon enough
9,000 empty seats today

Putting the abject performance aside, it was a shocker to see that hapden was almost 20% below capacity today. I would have guessed that there was maybe 5,000 or so empty seats in our end today, which to me is still absolutely baffling.

After seeing so many empty spaces, I reckon we should go back to the system of two seats per season ticket holder It's all very well trying to cater for everyone, but the demand just isn't there, and the least the club can do now make sure that those who do care get a chance to sit together, season ticket holders or not.
Old 02-04-06, 15:43   #2

Postiga is on the way to a first team debut
Re: 9,000 empty seats today

Behind the goals looked empty.
Postiga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 15:54   #3

toiletrim is on the way to a first team debut

i just got back from hampden, i live in weedge, and i was behind the goal,it was seemingly the family section ,but there was healthy gaps like, dissapointing,not as dissapointing as the shitty lightweight performance from us.gutted like........gutted
toiletrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 15:56   #4

Shearer is on the way to a first team debut

Extremely disspaointing turonout. Didn't someone say onhere yesterday that there were only 500 ticket left???

Shearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 16:00   #5

Bossie will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by hibee_shearer
Extremely disspaointing turonout. Didn't someone say onhere yesterday that there were only 500 ticket left???
To me, it looked like we had 5,000 to 6,000 empty seats, so our support would have been around 17,000 to 18,000. The size of the support was doubly disappointing seeing as we took considerably more than that to last years semi.
Old 02-04-06, 16:01   #6

Pilrig is on the way to a first team debut

Had we got to the final the glory hunters would have been out in force no doubt. But very disappointing to see the empty seats, a reflection on Hibs recent form I'd say.
Pilrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 16:02   #7

Erin is on the way to a first team debut

Yeah extremely puzzled by the turnout -
[or lack of ]
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 16:42   #8

I dont really care anymore to be honest. The fans that can make it and want to go will be there the ones that dont want to be there can stay at home for all i care. Unless its a sure win game they wont come out.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 16:53   #9
Numb Elbae Jiner Radge

s n hibs is on the way to a first team debut

The problem was the restrictions on buying tickets not that the demand wasn't there!
Old 02-04-06, 16:56   #10

Hibee_angel is on the way to a first team debut

I agree with gloryglory, the fans who want to be there wil be there the others couldn't care less.

SUNSHINE ON LEITH
Hibee_angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 16:57   #11

Originally Posted by s n hibs
The problem was the restrictions on buying tickets not that the demand wasn't there!
Really ? Then how come there were a lot fewer empty seats in their half of the stadium ? Nope, the troops didn't turn out in sufficient numbers, lack of confidence being the main reason I'd guess.
Old 02-04-06, 17:00   #12

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
I dont really care anymore to be honest. The fans that can make it and want to go will be there the ones that dont want to be there can stay at home for all i care. Unless its a sure win game they wont come out.
still think it is disgraceful that one of the biggest derby's in years was not sold out
but atleast the hibbys that were there backed their team all the way
Old 02-04-06, 17:00   #13
Numb Elbae Jiner Radge

s n hibs is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Pilrig
Really ? Then how come there were a lot fewer empty seats in their half of the stadium ? Nope, the troops didn't turn out in sufficient numbers, lack of confidence being the main reason I'd guess.

Because they weren't restricted to 1 ticket per person, they were allowed 4 per person!
Old 02-04-06, 17:01   #14
NGP

NGP is on the way to a first team debut

plenty of empty seats before the game, plenty more at the end, even after 2-0 people were leaving.

I would rather have a faithful 10,000 at any game than p/t 'supporters' who walk out when their team goes 2 down.

I think only one ticket per ST holder was a mistake, makes it very difficult to sit with your mates etc.
Old 02-04-06, 17:08   #15

Originally Posted by CadgeMac
still think it is disgraceful that one of the biggest derby's in years was not sold out
but atleast the hibbys that were there backed their team all the way

Maybe its time to realise that the fanbase we all belive is there isnt.

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 17:11   #16

Originally Posted by s n hibs
Because they weren't restricted to 1 ticket per person, they were allowed 4 per person!
Well if that's the fact then Rodders has a lot to answer for, the gaps were nothing short of embarrassing.
Old 02-04-06, 17:13   #17

Originally Posted by GloryGlory
Maybe its time to realise that the fanbase we all belive is there isnt.
if we can take 38,000 to the cis cup final then why cant we take 23,000 to an all edinburgh semi final
Old 02-04-06, 17:33   #18

Originally Posted by CadgeMac
if we can take 38,000 to the cis cup final then why cant we take 23,000 to an all edinburgh semi final
Sorry to say the gloryhunters were oot in force at the CIS final - we were odds-on favs remember. Whereas today few neutrals gave us much chance. No excuse though - the biggest derby in a century and a lot of Hibbie-inclined people bottled out of turning up at Hampden today.
Old 02-04-06, 17:39   #19

Originally Posted by Pilrig
Sorry to say the gloryhunters were oot in force at the CIS final - we were odds-on favs remember. Whereas today few neutrals gave us much chance. No excuse though - the biggest derby in a century and a lot of Hibbie-inclined people bottled out of turning up at Hampden today.
yeah, i could probably put money on about 9 or 10 thousand turning out on wed, not many part timers for a while now
Old 02-04-06, 17:47   #20
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

A was a little shocked at the big gaps today and to see that the hearts end was practically full doesnt give hibs that great an impression.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-06, 17:51   #21

Originally Posted by Bossie
Putting the abject performance aside, it was a shocker to see that hapden was almost 20% below capacity today. I would have guessed that there was maybe 5,000 or so empty seats in our end today, which to me is still absolutely baffling.

After seeing so many empty spaces, I reckon we should go back to the system of two seats per season ticket holder It's all very well trying to cater for everyone, but the demand just isn't there, and the least the club can do now make sure that those who do care get a chance to sit together, season ticket holders or not.
I agree with all of that.

IMO we have a true support base of 15,000-18,000 and it would be great if we could get all of them along to ER on a regular basis..

Today is a step back in that process but we can get there..
Old 02-04-06, 17:54   #22

Originally Posted by Smurf
I agree with all of that.

IMO we have a true support base of 15,000-18,000 and it would be great if we could get all of them along to ER on a regular basis..

Today is a step back in that process but we can get there..
think your right smurf
Old 02-04-06, 20:20   #23

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

I was pretty amazed at the low Hibs turnout, but I think they fecked up by limiting season ticket holders to 1 each. Plenty of people I know decided to give it a miss rather than try in the public sale, which wrongly, they suspected they wouldnae be able to get tickets.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is offline   Reply With Quote