Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,395 | Posts: 598,578 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 18-03-06, 12:02   #1

1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

KT and Abdessalam in the Daily Rangers

MOTHERWELL V HIBS Hibs celebrate as Moroccan hitkid is finally cleared to sign

HIBS have finally received clearance to sign striker Abdessalam Benjelloun - more than two months after he arrived at the club.

Awork permit for the 21-year-old Moroccan was secured yesterday and the formalities of his deal will be completed next week.

Benjelloun has spent the last 10 weeks training with the Easter Road side and manager Tony Mowbray is excited at the prospect of seeing the talented youngster added to his squad.

Mowbray said: "There's a few more bits of red tape we need to get through first but hopefully they are just technicalities.

"I am excited about him. He will be a good signing for us, he brings further competition and hopefully his arrival will give us a wee lift.

"He's a striker and he's a goal scorer. I don't want to build him up too much but he's got very obvious talent - we would not have had him here for 10 weeks if he didn't.

"When he gets out there hopefully the fans will see what he is capable of. He is fit but we haven't seen him on a full-size pitch since he got here and he still needs to build up match fitness.

"He came to our attention through our scouting network after playing in the World Under-20 Championships in 2005 and we have liked what we have seen.

"I don't bring lots of people in to our club on trial but having seen his pedigree and knowing the source as one we trust we gave him a trial and we are happy to have him here.

"He has a happy, smiling face. He's very respectful and everyone gets on with him - he's right for our dressing room.

"Our players respect his talent. We have some decent Scottish players and when he doesn't look out of place among the Scott Browns, Kevin Thomsons and Steven Whittakers you know he is at a decent level."

Benjelloun will fly back to Morocco, where he played with Moghreb de Fes, to tie up a few loose ends before returning to Edinburgh and could make his Hibs debut in the reserve fixture against Inverness on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, midfielder Thomson says he is desperate for Roy Keane to stick it out at Celtic so he can learn from the best and realise his dream of winning a move to the Premiership.

Thomson handed the Easter Road side a massive lift last week when he signed a new deal which sees him tied to the club until 2010.

The 21-year-old has been linked with moves to both halves of the Old Firm and Spurs this season but was eager to carry on his football education under Mowbray.

That learning curve continued last Sunday as the youngster came face to face with Keane and Neil Lennon in the Celtic engine room.

Keane has since admitted the experience led him to cast doubts over his future in the game, saying his long-standing hip injury didn't stand up too well to the test of playing against Hibs' young, hungry midfield.

But Thomson hopes the former Manchester United man stays as he is eager to test himself against the Parkhead playmaker for as long as possible.

Speaking ahead of today's clash with Motherwell, he said: "We were playing against quality players last Sunday. Roy's done it and worn the T-shirt, he's got the lot - and it showed in the second half when our legs went a wee bit. He picked the passes, slowed the game down, speeded it up and dictated the play.

"That's something the manager wants me to do. In some games this season I've maybe got a hold of the game and felt as if I've played it at my pace. But I'm only 21, I'm still learning and listening and if anybody wants to give me advice I'm taking it in.

"Maybe in a year or two I'll be able to dictate the game the way Roy did on Sunday.

"I'd definitely like to see Roy stay next year. As a young lad you want to play against the best players - and he's the best."

Having watched team-mate Garry O'Connor earn a move to Lokomotiv Moscow, Thomson admits he has his eye on his own big-time transfer - but only once he has learned his trade at Hibs.

He added: "Everybody wants to play at the highest level, I'm no different. If my ability is good enough and the desire is there then, fingers crossed, I can maybe get down to England and play in the top league.

"But I've got a lot of time to learn and I don't think I could be at a better place to learn my trade."

Old 18-03-06, 12:10   #2

Re: KT and Abdessalam in the Daily Rangers

It sounds as though Thommo wants his next move to be down to the premiership. So the old firm can get to fcuk !!
Old 18-03-06, 13:40   #3
7-0
Old Skool Radge

7-0 is on the way to a first team debut

Re: KT and Abdessalam in the Daily Rangers

thommo isnae goin anywere soon, hopefully!
7-0 is offline   Reply With Quote