Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,397 | Posts: 598,611 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 07-03-06, 10:33   #1

It appears everyman and his dog is lining up to attack SFA decision..

If it was going to be so difficult and such a nightmare surely the Polis would have said no to Hampden?
Old 07-03-06, 11:09   #2

Re: It appears everyman and his dog is lining up to attack SFA decision..

At the risk of maybe seeming a little naive can someone please explain to me why there will only be a 1000 seats available on trains that day?

There's three trains at 9, 10, and 11 (ignore the total nonsense that you can't get to Hampden in half an hour from Queen Street). Why exactly are Scotrail not just adding lots of extra carriages to these trains given that they know there will be huge demand? Don't they want to make extra money?
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 07-03-06, 11:14   #3
Sex, Vodka n Football Radge

Swoosh is on the way to a first team debut

1-i Champion! 1992 Champion! 360 Dergree Snake Champion! 3D SuperBall Champion! Air Heads Champion! Alien Attack Champion! Alien Invasion Champion! Alien Missle Attack Champion! Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion! Alpha Force Champion! Apple Season Champion! Assteroids Champion! Asteroids 2000 Champion! Attack by Night2 Champion! B-Ball Shoot-Out Champion! B-Ball Shootout Champion! Ball Champion! Balloon Shoot Champion! Balloony Champion! Barrel Jumper Champion! Base Defender Champion! Baseball Champion! Battleship Champion! Beach Pong Champion! Beat The Cheese Champion! Benjamin Blümchen Champion! Bird Feeding Champion! Blast Billards Champion! Boat Hunt Champion! Boat Rider Champion! Bomb Disposal Champion! Boomerang Mayhem Champion! Border 2 Champion! Bounce Frog 2 Champion! Breakout Champion! Brum Brum Champion! Bubble Bobble Champion! Bubble Bugs Champion! Bueno Rufus Champion! Bug Attack Champion! Bumper Cars Championship Champion! Camper Strike Champion! Capture The Flag Champion! Castle Defender Champion! Cat Batting Champion! Cave Run Champion! Chopper2 Champion! Classic Breakout Champion! Cone Crazy Champion! Copter Champion! Cosmo Pilot Champion! Cowboys Champion! Crazy Koala Champion! Cursor Love Bunny Champion! Curveball Champion! Desert Battle Champion! Dodge Champion! Dodging Circles Champion! Donkey Rocket Champion! Doom Champion! Dragon Force Champion! Driller Champion! Dyno Champion! Easter Eggs Champion! EVOLVRON Champion! Finding Nemo Champion! Fishing Impossible Champion! Flash Invaders 2 Champion! flashteroids_2001 Champion! Flies Champion! Flysui Champion! Four Balls Champion! Free Lancer Champion! Free Mars Champion! Golden Gate Drop Champion! Goo Slasher 2 Champion! Gravity Ball Champion! Gruellas GrubFest Champion! Gunny Bunny Champion! Halflife 2 Total Mayhem Champion! Hammered Champion! Heineken! Champion! Helicopter Champion! Homeland Defense Champion! HTF Crazy Disco Champion! Jade Dagger Champion! Mario Capeglide Champion! Michu Champion! Mine Sweeper Champion! Minesweeper Champion! MJ Baby Drop Champion! Plasma V2 Champion! Plastic Saucer Champion! Road Hogs Champion! ROFLattack! Champion! Round Champion! Rudolph Champion! Samba Champion! Scope Assault Champion! Sheep Invaders Champion! Sheep Jumper Champion! Shield Shot Champion! Shoot Rat Champion! Shoot The Cliche Champion! Shoot The Fly Champion! Shoot the Gatso Champion! Short Bus Rampage Champion! Shortbus Revenge Champion! Simpsons Shooter Champion! Sniper Champion! Sonar Challenge Champion! Space Ace Champion! Spacegame Champion! Speartoss 5 Shots Champion! Speed Mania Champion! Sperminator Champion! Spore Pong Champion! Spy Hunter Champion! Squares 2 Champion! Star Bores: Episode One Champion! Star Runner Champion! Star Strike Champion! Super Clicker v2.0 Champion! Surgery Champion! Tank named Grizzly Champion! Teh Zombie Champion! Terrorist Attack Champion! The Balls Game Champion! The cave of death Champion! The GunGan Champion! The Hammer Game Champion! The Terrortubbys Champion! Tomb Digger Champion! Toms Adventure 2 Champion! Tricky Clicky Ball 2 Champion! Turkey Shoot Champion! Turkey Shoot Champion! UFO 101 Champion! Van Champion! Walking Bots Champion! Weezer Jam Session Champion! Western Shooter Champion! Wheel of Misfortune Champion! Woop Ass Champion! X Attack Champion! Yeti Pengu Throw Champion!

Originally Posted by wee 162
At the risk of maybe seeming a little naive can someone please explain to me why there will only be a 1000 seats available on trains that day?

There's three trains at 9, 10, and 11 (ignore the total nonsense that you can't get to Hampden in half an hour from Queen Street). Why exactly are Scotrail not just adding lots of extra carriages to these trains given that they know there will be huge demand? Don't they want to make extra money?
Apparantly, the maintanince on the rail lie dont allow for extra carriges and trains

But feck it. Bounce Tours going in style

Browse the web in style with Google Hibernian!

Swoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 11:15   #4

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Why was 50,000 travelling from the east not a problem in the CIS cup final two years ago?

Blog
Old 07-03-06, 11:15   #5

Apparently, long planned essential works are taking place that day..
Old 07-03-06, 11:27   #6

Originally Posted by Smurf
Apparently, long planned essential works are taking place that day..

yeah a chance to skin 20K->30K people at £10 a pop... yeah I reckon the rail folk will quite happilly lay on trains and extra carriages and put off 'essential works ' for 250K...

Old 07-03-06, 12:10   #7

Originally Posted by hibadelic
Why was 50,000 travelling from the east not a problem in the CIS cup final two years ago?
tbf it hardly compares from a security pov
Old 07-03-06, 12:12   #8

There's three trains at 9, 10, and 11 (ignore the total nonsense that you can't get to Hampden in half an hour from Queen Street
I'd welcome some tips Al. Last time I took the train to Q st en route to hampden was for a scotland game. it took feckin ages to get to hampden and that was with no security issues.

Taxis wouldnae pick up fitba fans, and we needed in the end to get a special train from central, which took forever. walked back after the game, and I'm sure it took longer than 1/2 hour. as in, waayyy longer.
Old 07-03-06, 12:41   #9

Jock's Lodge Hibby is on the way to a first team debut

Platforms aren't long enough. Longest ones at Queen Street only take 6 carriages - suspect the same might be true at Mount Florida / Kings Park. The best solution would be to scrap the engineering works and run a 15-minute service starting at 7am, like on weekdays. Even better, run loads of football specials direct to Mount Florida / Kings Park, with Hibs trains leaving from Waverley and Hearts trains leaving from Haymarket, but I think they've already ruled that out.
Jock's Lodge Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 12:45   #10

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

2 Ball Pool Champion! Bugs Are Coming Champion!

Originally Posted by egb_hibs
I'd welcome some tips Al. Last time I took the train to Q st en route to hampden was for a scotland game. it took feckin ages to get to hampden and that was with no security issues.

Taxis wouldnae pick up fitba fans, and we needed in the end to get a special train from central, which took forever. walked back after the game, and I'm sure it took longer than 1/2 hour. as in, waayyy longer.
Taxis will take you when the games on, usually no problems with that. There is no special train to Hampden, only the normal service train thats extended to take more folk in a oner. That takes at most 30 mins, prob only 20 as well.

Walking back from hampden isnt advised, its not really a walkable kinda journey, best off just getting one of hunners ae buses or the train back in again.
Tkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 12:49   #11

Originally Posted by Tkraz
Taxis will take you when the games on, usually no problems with that. There is no special train to Hampden, only the normal service train thats extended to take more folk in a oner. That takes at most 30 mins, prob only 20 as well.

Walking back from hampden isnt advised, its not really a walkable kinda journey, best off just getting one of hunners ae buses or the train back in again.
it's not so much how long the train takes, as how long it takes to get on it, with hundreds, perhaps thousands queueing!

i for one will be going in a motor to this game. but having missed the kick off at ibrox, having set off at 9.30, i'm wondering what time we'll have to depart for this!
Old 07-03-06, 12:51   #12

Tkraz is on the way to a first team debut

2 Ball Pool Champion! Bugs Are Coming Champion!

Hampden should be much easier to drive to and park near, than ibrox.

If yer struggling fir space let me know and ill free up some in the driveway outside

Only a 15 min walk frae here
Tkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 13:10   #13
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by egb_hibs
i for one will be going in a motor to this game. but having missed the kick off at ibrox, having set off at 9.30, i'm wondering what time we'll have to depart for this!
I left for Ibrox at 10.15 and was in the ground just before 12

Here's the way I'd go to Hampden if driving:

Come off the M 8 at Bellshill, (A725), follow this round the side of East Kilbride and then the A749 in towards Glasgow.

You will then appear on this map, on the dual carriageway at the bottom right hand corner. So take the left fork, turn right, go under the railway bridge and turn left on King's Park Avenue (the B762). You can usually get parked somewhere on this road. If you're round about King's Park station it's about a 10 minute walk.

Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-06, 17:44   #14

Originally Posted by Brian
I left for Ibrox at 10.15 and was in the ground just before 12

Here's the way I'd go to Hampden if driving:

Come off the M 8 at Bellshill, (A725), follow this round the side of East Kilbride and then the A749 in towards Glasgow.

You will then appear on this map, on the dual carriageway at the bottom right hand corner. So take the left fork, turn right, go under the railway bridge and turn left on King's Park Avenue (the B762). You can usually get parked somewhere on this road. If you're round about King's Park station it's about a 10 minute walk.

In france they would call you, la reynard

Old 07-03-06, 17:49   #15