Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,395 | Posts: 598,577 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 03-03-06, 21:18   #1

LSHS is on the way to a first team debut

Am I the only one happy to be in a semi final

At the end of last season and especially after the severe disappointment of the Dundee United game at Hampden, I for one did not expect the chance of another Scottish Cup semi final so soon.It is frustrating listening to supporters actually complaining about the venue.I actually don't care where it is played and am perfectly happy to leave it to the the powers that be to decide.Having supported Hibs for a fair few years I view these occasions as an all too rare treat and this year against Hearts probably a once in a lifetime. It is bloody ridiculous that some people seem to think the venue is more important than the game.Still dreaming of Hibs showing of the cup along Princess Street but as usual not counting any chickens.
LSHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-06, 21:20   #2

Decal Joe is a jewel in the roughDecal Joe is a jewel in the rough

Re: Am I the only one happy to be in a semi final

Originally Posted by LSHS
At the end of last season and especially after the severe disappointment of the Dundee United game at Hampden, I for one did not expect the chance of another Scottish Cup semi final so soon.It is frustrating listening to supporters actually complaining about the venue.I actually don't care where it is played and am perfectly happy to leave it to the the powers that be to decide.Having supported Hibs for a fair few years I view these occasions as an all too rare treat and this year against Hearts probably a once in a lifetime. It is bloody ridiculous that some people seem to think the venue is more important than the game.Still dreaming of Hibs showing of the cup along Princess Street but as usual not counting any chickens.

It should become more commonplace for us from now on IMO.
Old 03-03-06, 21:22   #3
Nijinsky Radge

arthurduncan is on the way to a first team debut

I am of course delighted to be yet again taking the long happy song-filled road to Hampden and the long painfully silent road back
This is nothing to do with playing Yams, actually that probably helps us but for all my lifelong, dyed in the wool support I quite simply hate supporting Hibs in these big matches - started with final(s) in 79 and Arthur's tragedy and hasn't really recovered. Still I've got £50 on HFC to win the cup so . . .
Old 03-03-06, 21:27   #4

Originally Posted by arthurduncan
I am of course delighted to be yet again taking the long happy song-filled road to Hampden and the long painfully silent road back
This is nothing to do with playing Yams, actually that probably helps us but for all my lifelong, dyed in the wool support I quite simply hate supporting Hibs in these big matches - started with final(s) in 79 and Arthur's tragedy and hasn't really recovered. Still I've got £50 on HFC to win the cup so . . .
It started earlier for me with Turnbull's team coming up against an excellent Celtic team.I tend to agree that enjoyment is probably the wrong word, more like endurance.We live in hope.
Old 03-03-06, 21:28   #5
Cantankerous Old Radge

Dr Shrink is a glorious beacon of lightDr Shrink is a glorious beacon of lightDr Shrink is a glorious beacon of lightDr Shrink is a glorious beacon of lightDr Shrink is a glorious beacon of light

Bubbels Champion! Glop Champion! Gold Strike Champion! Halloween Pumpkins Champion!

Well said that man.

Totally agree with the sentiments LSHS.

erm........ would that be Long Suffering Hibs Supporter by any chance?

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 03-03-06, 21:36   #6

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink
Well said that man.

Totally agree with the sentiments LSHS.

erm........ would that be Long Suffering Hibs Supporter by any chance?

you got it in one
Old 03-03-06, 21:39   #7

This is a great opportunity for us. I'd say it's 50:50 between us and the Yams with the pressure all on them.

Get beyond this tie and it's time to enjoy the ocassion IMO.

Lets put it this way i honestly reckon this is the best chance we've had to win it since 1979.
Old 03-03-06, 21:40   #8

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

I can't wait though an enjoyable part has been ruined by the kick off time.
It's usually a huge part of it when we all get together for a few bevvies , i'll bet the Pollok Club are disappointed too
Old 03-03-06, 21:45   #9
Nijinsky Radge

Originally Posted by Smurf
This is a great opportunity for us. I'd say it's 50:50 between us and the Yams with the pressure all on them.

Get beyond this tie and it's time to enjoy the ocassion IMO.

Lets put it this way i honestly reckon this is the best chance we've had to win it since 1979.
Although it's not the same cup, I still get the dry boak thinking of the defeat by Ferranti FC or even worse Ayr United - although I've got money on the pen nibs to win I'm not confident - I only hope this is the one time Hibs dinnae bottle it in the big match - that's what gets me - not defeat, heroic, manly struggle etc. but lying down like lambs in front o the enemy with 40000 supporters lookin on. Of course IF we win then we're in a pretty unique position fer us but it's a BIG IF and I'm waiting till 2pm on 2 April before getting carried away.
Old 03-03-06, 21:45   #10

Originally Posted by Forzahibs
I can't wait though an enjoyable part has been ruined by the kick off time.
It's usually a huge part of it when we all get together for a few bevvies , i'll bet the Pollok Club are disappointed too
All that will be forgotten if we parade the cup along Princess Street. It's the game that counts.
Old 03-03-06, 21:53   #11

Originally Posted by arthurduncan
Although it's not the same cup, I still get the dry boak thinking of the defeat by Ferranti FC or even worse Ayr United - although I've got money on the pen nibs to win I'm not confident - I only hope this is the one time Hibs dinnae bottle it in the big match - that's what gets me - not defeat, heroic, manly struggle etc. but lying down like lambs in front o the enemy with 40000 supporters lookin on. Of course IF we win then we're in a pretty unique position fer us but it's a BIG IF and I'm waiting till 2pm on 2 April before getting carried away.
Fair comment mate. I think Aberdeen 2000, Ayr 2002, Livingston 2004 & Dundee Utd 2005 and i think that surely at some point we'll get it right?
Old 03-03-06, 21:56   #12

Forzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of lightForzahibs is a glorious beacon of light

All that will be forgotten if we parade the cup along Princess Street. It's the game that counts.
It is but The Bounce has had some superb trips which adds to the occasion for me anyway .
Just need to save it for the final
Old 03-03-06, 22:35   #13
Nijinsky Radge

Originally Posted by Smurf
Fair comment mate. I think Aberdeen 2000, Ayr 2002, Livingston 2004 & Dundee Utd 2005 and i think that surely at some point we'll get it right?
This is a once in a 100 years chance for men to be men and to stand up and be counted - winner takes all, almost literally. Defeat's bad enough but surrender is absolutely unacceptable. So I will join you in thinkin that at last the moment is here for the hibs to show what a "wee team" can do
Old 03-03-06, 22:41   #14

Good post mate. I am of the same view that we should be happy once again to be in the cup semi-final at the home of Scottish Football, Hampden, only a year after last years disaster. I am confident that we can win this game, as it is only Hearts we are playing, our city neighbours, and not some top class Old Firm team or early 80's Aberdeen side. Hibs are a very good team who can play terrific attacking football. I think we deserve to win this tie and win the cup. However, from experience, most semi-finals are ugly battles, which suits Hearts more. We really will have to be prepared to mix it with them in this game, be physical, and impose ourselves on them. If we do this we will win, I have no doubts.