Old 28-02-06, 10:16   #1

Rep Power: 4 Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut
15,500 Good Reasons For Murrayfield

At the risk of being accused of being dogmatic, I cannot understand this almost sentimental attachment to a crap stadium/pseudo anti-rugger establishment (do you really care about the SFA rather than the SRU getting the money? I don't) argument for the most important Derby in 110 years to be played at Hampden Park. In Glasgow. 60 miles away. With 15,500 less seats.

Surely, as the late Jock Stein (a former Hibs boss to boot) once famously stated 'the most important people in football are the supporters'. Surely, to deny approximately 7,500 Hibbies and, for that matter, 7,500 Jambos the chance to view the game, the chance to say I was there (whether the day brings happiness or despair) just so tradition can be maintained is both short-sighted and wrong.

Also, why should Glasgow be given the honour of hosting the most significant Derby in modern times? Is the Athens of the North not capable of it? Would you not prefer to have to travel for an hour or so along that hellish M8?
At the risk of repeating myself, we have a choice here:
(a) Hampden, 52,000 capacity in Glasgow. And unless your seat is near the half-way line you'll get a very poor view. Especially from behind the goals.
(b) Murrayfield, 67,500 capacity in Edinburgh. Most of the stands are fairly close to the action.

Obviously, I've got a vested interest here, I'm a Hibbie living in Cardiff. But me, my father (aged 63 and Easter Road born and bred) and my brother (who lives in Manchester) are all comin up for the semi. And people like ourselves should not be denied the right to cheer the Hibs on, in what I'd say is our biggest game since the European Cup semi half a century ago (Dad was there!), because of red tape and/or sheer bloody-mindedness.
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 11:27   #2

Re: 15,500 Good Reasons For Murrayfield

good points mate the only problem i see at murrayfield is segregation outside the stadium.you can walk right round the stands on the walkway at the bottom of the stands.also the west stand has the running track in front of it so you are a bit further from the pitch.the east stand is the best especially if it is sunny.
DREW*BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 11:53   #3

Casino cash: £643

Originally Posted by Seven Tattoos
At the risk of being accused of being dogmatic, I cannot understand this almost sentimental attachment to a crap stadium/pseudo anti-rugger establishment (do you really care about the SFA rather than the SRU getting the money? I don't) argument for the most important Derby in 110 years to be played at Hampden Park. In Glasgow. 60 miles away. With 15,500 less seats.

Surely, as the late Jock Stein (a former Hibs boss to boot) once famously stated 'the most important people in football are the supporters'. Surely, to deny approximately 7,500 Hibbies and, for that matter, 7,500 Jambos the chance to view the game, the chance to say I was there (whether the day brings happiness or despair) just so tradition can be maintained is both short-sighted and wrong.

Also, why should Glasgow be given the honour of hosting the most significant Derby in modern times? Is the Athens of the North not capable of it? Would you not prefer to have to travel for an hour or so along that hellish mate?
(a) Hampden, 52,000 capacity in Glasgow. And unless your seat is near the half-way line you'll get a very poor view. Especially from behind the goals.
(b) Murrayfield, 67,500 capacity in Edinburgh. Most of the stands are fairly close to the action.

Obviously, I've got a vested interest here, I'm a Hibbie living in Cardiff. But me, my father (aged 63 and Easter Road born and bred) and my brother (who lives in Manchester) are all comin up for the semi. And people like ourselves should not be denied the right to cheer the Hibs on, in what I'd say is our biggest game since the European Cup semi half a century ago (Dad was there!), because of red tape and/or sheer bloody-mindedness.
I hope you get tickets for the semi but it has nothing to do with anti-rugger etc,etc as you state as to why some supporters do not want this game played at murrayfield.Having already played there it give hearts an advantage over the Hibs players phsyical/phsycological imo & i feel it is more important the team progress to the cup final if it means some fans may miss out on a great occasion.Anyway red tape or sheer bloody-mindness you missed a great game at ibrox in the cup like a lot of other great HIBS SUPPORTERS,some supporters travel regulary to our home & away games from distances further afield than Cardiff.
This is not meant to be a dig at yourself or any other fans who wish to go to see this game.My main interest is to see our club lift the Scottish cup if i thought Hibs had an advantage playing at murrayfield i would be all for it,unfortunately it is not a view i share.
GIBBY NEWTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 12:06   #4

Also, why should Glasgow be given the honour of hosting the most significant Derby in modern times? Is the Athens of the North not capable of it? Would you not prefer to have to travel for an hour or so along that hellish mate?

Hampden every time for me.

(a) Love it or hate it, Hampden is the national football stadium.

(b) With regards to tickets. What happens the next time Celtic play Rangers in a cup final. Considering they have a much larger fan base than us or Hearts surely they would be well within their rights to get their final moved to Murrayfield to get extra tickets. FECK THAT!!

The games must be played at hampden.
Tony Mowbray is admired by the Hibernian support due to his fast, flowing football philosophy and his dignified approach. Tony also has a habit of unearthing gems, such as Ivan Sproule, the scorer of a hat-trick at Ibrox and an instant hero to the Hibernian fans.

davidhibs7_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 12:17   #5
Moths in the Wallet Radge

Nah, nae logic there, sorry.

Just because Hearts have previously played there is no reason for us to not embrace the chance of going there. Do ye fight shy of Tynie? I hope ye do not.
Toolpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 12:29   #6

Casino cash: £255

Originally Posted by Toolpusher
Nah, nae logic there, sorry.

Just because Hearts have previously played there is no reason for us to not embrace the chance of going there. Do ye fight shy of Tynie? I hope ye do not.
Exactly

There is going to be a 50/50 ticket allocation plus they have only played 2 games at Murrayfield (IIRC) & they didn't win either of them.

I don't see how it gives them any advantage whatsoever
Shifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 12:32   #7

Gibby, thank you for your remarks. With regard to the Cup tie at The Lodge, two days before that draw was made I booked a flight for Fri 17 Feb so I could watch us there in the league (clearly I couldn't have envisaged the draw at that stage of the competition; I'm not Doris Stokes). Trying to change your flights with BMI Baby is like trying to convince a bluenose that green is beautiful.

I watched the cup tie in the Bear in Cowbridge and believe me, me and the old man celebrated like mad. Later on watching the England-Wales rugby game in another boozer my Dad still had his old (Planet Saturn badge) Hibs scarf on!

I attended the game on Feb 18th; you may have noticed a guy with a bad haircut, topless, covered in Hibs tattoos. That was me. I did the same at Pittodrie on Sat Oct 22nd (it was Mark McCabe's bday and the 5th anniversary of the 6-2). I moved down to Wales after being sacked by TSPL (I still won't read their papers) in Nov 2004 and I also attended last year's Cup Semi. In life, you have to cut your coat according to your cloth, so while I accept there are guys who week in, week out travel miles, greater distances than I do, to watch and support Hibernian FC, I come up as often as I can afford to.

With regard to the point about Hertz' recent European ties at Murrayfield, I don't think that this will have any significant bearing on the match itself. They've signed a lot of new players since then and European games are very different to the blood and snotters, Linford Christie on speed type of matches when Two Tribes Go To War.
Old 28-02-06, 12:46   #8
Radge-o-tron

Casino cash: £260
vCash: 96000
Rep Power: 3 Marchmont Hibs is on the way to a first team debut

I was originally against having Murrayfield as a venue for this Semi-Final, but with the kick-off time being announced as 12:15pm, I am now warming to the idea. Getting to Glasgow for that time would be insane and there would be no scope for a little bit of boozing.

The proximity to Gorgie can be seen as a stumbling block, but in the interests of safety after the game, etc, with the Jambo's going off to their slum in tears and us in jubilant mood heading the other direction past many more boozers, I think it's a good thing.

After the derby and the masses of police they had blocking our way to Gorgie Road, I'm sure they could set up a similar thing at Murrayfield.

And the increased capacity, as Seven Tats is saying, would REALLY make this a derby to remember.
Marchmont Hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 04:59   #9

Gibby, thank you for your remarks. With regard to the Cup tie at The Lodge, two days before that draw was made I booked a flight for Fri 17 Feb so I could watch us there in the league (clearly I couldn't have envisaged the draw at that stage of the competition; I'm not Doris Stokes). Trying to change your flights with BMI Baby is like trying to convince a bluenose that green is beautiful.

I watched the cup tie in the Bear in Cowbridge and believe me, me and the old man celebrated like mad. Later on watching the England-Wales rugby game in another boozer my Dad still had his old (Planet Saturn badge) Hibs scarf on!

I attended the game on Feb 18th; you may have noticed a guy with a bad haircut, topless, covered in Hibs tattoos. That was me. I did the same at Pittodrie on Sat Oct 22nd (it was Mark McCabe's bday and the e 6-2). I moved down to Wales after being sacked by TSPL (I still won't read their papers) in Nov 2004 and I also attended last year's Cup Semi. In life, you have to cut your coat according to your cloth, so while I accept there are guys who week in, week out travel miles, greater distances than I do, to watch and support Hibernian FC, I come up as often as I can afford to.

With regard to the point about Hertz' recent European ties at Murrayfield, I don't think that this will have any significant bearing on the match itself. They've signed a lot of new players since then and European games are very different to the blood and snotters, Linford Christie on speed type of matches when Two Tribes Go To War.
I have no reason to doubt your love of Hibs or the lengths you have gone/would go to see them play. My only wish is to see us reach the Scottish Cup Final,i am more than happy to see as many Hibees as possible get to see the Semi wherever it may be played.

TM is an astute manager & i am sure any decision he & the club come to,will be with the players uppermost in their thoughts.It is only right that the benefits of playing at Murrayfield should be explored & great consideration given to all Hibs supporters who wish to see this match.At the end of the day whether the game is played at Hampden or Murrayfield i feel on behalf of Hibernian fc TM should nominate the venue in his opinion that best suits our players.

Just my personal feelings but i would always want to stay clear of Murrayfield(although it's a fantastic stadium)to near swinecastle for me & these gunts see it as a home game.Petty statement but that's me,well i really do hope wherever it is played you get ticket's.Will look out for your hair style & tattoos maybe have a beer to celebrate.

ps. Is the tspl=The Scotsman Publication Limited, if so you may know my sister Cath Walker who worked in production.
Old 01-03-06, 06:39   #10

Any thoughts the Yams might have about Murrayfield being a "home game" will be blown away by 30-odd thousand Hibbys
Old 01-03-06, 09:01   #11

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Marchmont Hibs
I was originally against having Murrayfield as a venue for this Semi-Final, but with the kick-off time being announced as 12:15pm, I am now warming to the idea. Getting to Glasgow for that time would be insane and there would be no scope for a little bit of boozing.
I was thinking of this first thing this morning. To get 52,000 through from Edinburgh what time would everyone need to have left by to get into Hampden in plenty of time?

The M 8 was a nightmare when 6000 of us went to Ibrox..
Old 01-03-06, 09:39   #12

Thanks again for your fair-minded comments Gibby.

I do indeed know your sister, Cath Walker, she was (probably still is) manager of production, which at a media organisation like TSPL is one hell of a responsibility with all the various co-ordinating and communicating tasks it entails. I'm not sure that she would remember me but I worked there from Mon 05.01.04 (we beat the Harrywrags 3-2 the previous Sat, Whittkaer with a late winner) until Tues 19.10.04 (19th anniversary of Colin Harris's second late winner in a 2-1 at The Lodge in the calendar year 1985). I worked in Classified and I was the only male member of staff. I tried to take them for unfair dismissal on the grounds of sex discrimination (I'd better not say any more here for legal reasons) but was declined legal aid. You may be interested to know that in the legal wrangling that went on from Nov 2004 until Feb 2005 I was sent a copy of my full HR file and one of the resaons cited for not taking me on permanently after my probationary period (which expired at the beginning of July 2004) was the fact that I had written 'HFC' on my folder! Now, granted a 32 year old man writing HFC on a folder could be viewed as a bit juvenile but it hardly constitutes justification for not retaining someone who'd been Salesperson of the Month in the March and had never had a day off due to ill health. Does it? As Cath will confirm, the turnover of staff at Holyrood is frightening.

Anyway, enough of my rant about my own personal bitter memories. I take your point about TM. He is just the best thing to happen managerially at ER in my time as a supporter and such is the respect I have for him that I would bow to his greater knowledge of what would benefit the cats in emerald green when they're strutting their stuff against the rats in dark pink.

However, as I and Smurf have said on other threads, I think this has been a fix by the authorities (SFA and polis) and with a 12.15 kick off on the sabbath and the media manipulation by TSPL and probably the bizzies casting the deciding vote, I can't see other than Farquar Mews hosting the tie.

Hope to see you anyway for a beer. Undoubtedly you'll know Dudge, who I occasionally used to serve in The Balfour when I worked as a part-time barman there. I'm good mates with Alan Craven, James Alexander, Mikey Farrow etc who I would imagine you know quite well.
Old 01-03-06, 09:52   #13

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

I do indeed know your sister, Cath Walker, she was (probably still is) manager of production, which at a media organisation like TSPL is one hell of a responsibility with all the various co-ordinating and communicating tasks it entails.well.
I worked at TSPL from 1997-1999 and Cath is a star. A legend.

Last bumped into Cath when i was on a train going down to Newcastle for a Stag weekend in 2003.

With the HUGE turnover in staff at TSPL i was well chuffed that she remembered me.
Old 01-03-06, 10:47   #14

Casino cash: £356

The Jambos are gettin cocky already. Lets play the arrogant numptys at Murrayfield, and beat them. Do they really believe they get a significant advantage playing at Murrayfield, where out of three matches they have won once?
Kerry Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 11:42   #15

Thanks again for your fair-minded comments Gibby.

I do indeed know your sister, Cath Walker, she was (probably still is) manager of production, which at a media organisation like TSPL is one hell of a responsibility with all the various co-ordinating and communicating tasks it entails. I'm not sure that she would remember me but I worked there from Mon 05.01.04 (we beat the Harrywrags 3-2 the previous Sat, Whittkaer with a late winner) until Tues 19.10.04 (19th anniversary of Colin Harris's second late winner in a 2-1 at The Lodge in the calendar year 1985). I worked in Classified and I was the only male member of staff. I tried to take them for unfair dismissal on the grounds of sex discrimination (I'd better not say any more here for legal reasons) but was declined legal aid. You may be interested to know that in the legal wrangling that went on from Nov 2004 until Feb 2005 I was sent a copy of my full HR file and one of the resaons cited for not taking me on permanently after my probationary period (which expired at the beginning of July 2004) was the fact that I had written 'HFC' on my folder! Now, granted a 32 year old man writing HFC on a folder could be viewed as a bit juvenile but it hardly constitutes justification for not retaining someone who'd been Salesperson of the Month in the March and had never had a day off due to ill health. Does it? As Cath will confirm, the turnover of staff at Holyrood is frightening.

Anyway, enough of my rant about my own personal bitter memories. I take your point about TM. He is just the best thing to happen managerially at ER in my time as a supporter and such is the respect I have for him that I would bow to his greater knowledge of what would benefit the cats in emerald green when they're strutting their stuff against the rats in dark pink.

However, as I and Smurf have said on other threads, I think this has been a fix by the authorities (SFA and polis) and with a 12.15 kick off on the sabbath and the media manipulation by TSPL and probably the bizzies casting the deciding vote, I can't see other than Farquar Mews hosting the tie.

Hope to see you anyway for a beer. Undoubtedly you'll know Dudge, who I occasionally used to serve in The Balfour when I worked as a part-time barman there. I'm good mates with Alan Craven, James Alexander, Mikey Farrow etc who I would imagine you know quite well.
Bloody small world,things at Scotsman just as bad as when you where there.Recent takeover by Johnson Press meaning quite a few redundancies already being enforced.Was telling one of my other sister's you worked with Cath & it seem's both her & my bro in law also appear to know you Rosie & Vinnie Westgarth(highlander 2 on the bounce).Even stranger thread below with Smurf(a really good poster) also knowing Cath,Dudge was sitting beside me at recent league game at castle greyskull.Will undoubtabily know the other guys you have mentioned & will have possibly have been in their company at our recent trips to Ireland/Germany & the Ukraine but my memory for names is terrible especially after a bevy.

Anyway with all this being a small world it would appear we are all destined to meet the day Hibs parade the cup along Princes St i only pray it is this year.cheers GIBBY
Old 01-03-06, 11:46   #16

Casino cash: £1456

In a competitive situation like this Hibernian must take every advantage.

Hearts have played and trained at the home of the egg chacers on numerous occasions, the stadium is also ''yards'' from there own.

They also WANT to play the semi there..FECK THUM.

Take them through to Hampden against their wishes and HUMP THUM.

doontheslope70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 11:51   #17

Originally Posted by Smurf
I worked at TSPL from 1997-1999 and Cath is a star. A legend.

Last bumped into Cath when i was on a train going down to Newcastle for a Stag weekend in 2003.

With the HUGE turnover in staff at TSPL i was well chuffed that she remembered me.
Really is a small world,Cath would be touched at your kind words & am sure she would only have good things to say about yourself.Will let her know she's being talked about on the bounce.Gibby
Old 01-03-06, 12:05   #18

Originally Posted by doontheslope70
In a competitive situation like this Hibernian must take every advantage.

Hearts have played and trained at the home of the egg chacers on numerous occasions, the stadium is also ''yards'' from there own.

They also WANT to play the semi there..FECK THUM.

Take them through to Hampden against their wishes and HUMP THUM.

It makes nae odds, Murrayfield's as much alien turf tae us as it is tae them, they got stuffed there in the UEFA Cup so it's no exactly a happy huntin ground.

They want tae play there? Let's go and play them there, on oor way tae Hampden, and the Final
Old 01-03-06, 12:40   #19

Casino cash: £1153

If I was in the Hibs starting 11 I'd be happy to play them on a public park with jumpers for goalposts, I'd still be going through brick walls to f*ck them over. Initially wanted a Hampden semi, but the more I mull it over the more I am also warming to a Murrayfield semi. Can you imagine the night out in Edinburgh if the Hibees triumph???? From Murrayfield all the way back to ER the town would literally be bouncing!
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 12:56   #20

Casino cash: £2052

I can understand your stance and those who are worried they might lose out on tickets BUT Murrayfield benefits herz rather than Hibs. Why do you think their supporters are werring themselves at the prospect of it being held there.
The important thing is that Hibs win the Scottish Cup, every other matter concerning the semi is secondary. Christ I might not get a ticket myself but once again the important thing is we win the cup.
Pilrig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 14:38   #21