Old 02-03-06, 15:36   #41
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Yet again a MR Bill Alcorn speaks on behalf of all of us...

Originally Posted by wee 162
Course it would. Bill Alcorn is being picked up for saying something (out of context (again) apparently) which a lot of people disagree with. There's probably a good few people pissed off about Frank Dougan saying it should be at Hampden as well.

The various different "fans representatives" really need to start consulting with their members before opening their mouths and feeding reporters. It doesn't matter what their personal opinion is, they are being asked to comment because they are representing their membership, not because they are highly quotable charismatic enigmas. I'm not saying there should be a vote on every issue but anyone who thinks that all Hibbies think one way on most issues is mental, so at least present differing viewpoints, and if some reporter cherry-picks and misrepresents them, don't have any dealings with them any more. Doesn't seem that complicated to me...
So Bill Alcorn has a talk with the Committee, has a squint at the Bounce and Hibs.net tae feel the pulse, phones a friend .....then tells the journo 'I could understand the reasons behind the game being held at Murrayfield, though my personal view was/is and I've done a lot of consultation on this with other Hibs fans, that it should be played at Hampden' Do you think the guy fae the Record would have reported it as such. No danger. The alternative isnae tae speak to the press ever I suppose.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 15:52   #42

Hibees7062 is on the way to a first team debut

The Yams won't come out with the real reason they want to play us at Murrayfield. Fair enough, part of their reasoning may be to get more fans to the game and for safety reasons. But they don't want to face the fact that we'll pish all over them on the big Hampden pitch.

Also, when's the last time they won at Hampden.
Even when they won the cup the final was at Ibrox.
Hibees7062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 16:06   #43
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

GORDONSMITH7 is on the way to a first team debut

That'll be the same Hampden where me were ripped by Livingston and Dundee United. That'll be the same Hampden that Gordon,Webster,Pressley,Hartley and McCann have all played more than at Murrayfield. There is no advantage to either team. Hibs in my opinion, even without Deeks and Garry will beat them at either ground.

GORDONSMITH7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 16:24   #44

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Originally Posted by GORDONSMITH7
That'll be the same Hampden where me were ripped by Livingston and Dundee United. That'll be the same Hampden that Gordon,Webster,Pressley,Hartley and McCann have all played more than at Murrayfield. There is no advantage to either team. Hibs in my opinion, even without Deeks and Garry will beat them at either ground.

Go on Big G my kind of thinking

" target="_blank">

©stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 17:08   #45

Originally Posted by GORDONSMITH7
So Bill Alcorn has a talk with the Committee, has a squint at the Bounce and Hibs.net tae feel the pulse, phones a friend .....then tells the journo 'I could understand the reasons behind the game being held at Murrayfield, though my personal view was/is and I've done a lot of consultation on this with other Hibs fans, that it should be played at Hampden' Do you think the guy fae the Record would have reported it as such. No danger. The alternative isnae tae speak to the press ever I suppose.

Yes, that's exactly what he should do.

I am trying to mind but was it not The Daily Record who apparently misquoted him at some point previously? Given that, tell them to go feck themselves.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 03-03-06, 01:54   #46

Originally Posted by 23 years a hibee!
And is the Chairman of the HSA not entitled to a personal opinion?

"Bill Alcorn, chairman of the Hibernian Supports Association, yesterday commented on the price of milk yesterday" - So would that be deemed to be talking as a voice of every supporter?

FWIW, and i doubt this will make a blind bit of difference, but what Bill said was that he could understand the reasons behind the game being held at Murrayfield, though his personal view was/is that it should be played at Hampden. They Rantic took the first line and ran with that (probably because the journo who took the quote heard somethink that sound like what he wanted to hear, and was desperate to hurry back to polish his signed Huns team photo).
Dinnae see your point at all? Bill Alcorn, Hibs Fan.....aye, but using his title changes the whole context of the story.

As for the misquoted, entitled to his own opinion stuff, he could simply say I have nothing to say?

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote