Old 28-02-06, 00:20   #1

GIBBY NEWTON is on the way to a first team debut
Who Plays Up Front Now

With deek already out & big ? over gary's future,should our next 4 games be used to establish who may play up front in Semi.Killen(when he is fit again)Sproule & Fletcher.Don't think any of the other forwards are in contention,accept of course Gary O but after listening to Gary Mackay on Talk 107fm tonight it would appear he's on his way out of ER unless he has a huge change of mind.

Totally disilliousioned by RP & BOARD OVER THIS FIASCO.

GIBBY NEWTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:24   #2

davidhibs7_0 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Who Plays Up Front Now

Originally Posted by GIBBY NEWTON
With deek already out & big ? over gary's future,should our next 4 games be used to establish who may play up front in Semi.Killen(when he is fit again)Sproule & Fletcher.Don't think any of the other forwards are in contention,accept of course Gary O but after listening to Gary Mackay on Talk 107fm tonight it would appear he's on his way out of ER unless he has a huge change of mind.

Got to be Fletch and probably Killen. He's a big guy and will get stuck in about Pressley and let Sproule feed of him. Fletch bang in form so not to worried about that one.
Tony Mowbray is admired by the Hibernian support due to his fast, flowing football philosophy and his dignified approach. Tony also has a habit of unearthing gems, such as Ivan Sproule, the scorer of a hat-trick at Ibrox and an instant hero to the Hibernian fans.

davidhibs7_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:25   #3

Hibees-Mad will become famous soon enough

Are you sure that Garry is being forced out the door, and has no interest in playing in a better league, make loads more money, and experience more in life than just playing the same teams in Scotland all the time?
But Hibs supporters kept hoping that the purse-strings could be prised apart and an audacious bid launched to tempt back the finest striker in a generation to have worn Scotland's original green and white.
Hibees-Mad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:26   #4

gifford is on the way to a first team debut

Id say has to be killen when fit and fletch, bring on super Ivan to finish the job after half time
gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:29   #5

Originally Posted by gifford
Id say has to be killen when fit and fletch, bring on super Ivan to finish the job after half time
Got to play Sproule from the start to. Remember Riorden is suspended.
Tony Mowbray is admired by the Hibernian support due to his fast, flowing football philosophy and his dignified approach. Tony also has a habit of unearthing gems, such as Ivan Sproule, the scorer of a hat-trick at Ibrox and an instant hero to the Hibernian fans.

Old 28-02-06, 00:32   #6

Briant will become famous soon enough

Fixtures

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416>Saturday, 04 March 2006
Bank of Scotland Scottish Premier League

v
, 15:00

<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Sunday, 12 March 2006

v
, 14:00

<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Saturday, 18 March 2006

v
<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Saturday, 25 March 2006

v

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

No chance of messing around with these games. Every three points are huge,

In answer to the question, I reckon for the rest of the season Derek and Fletch are more than capable of doing the business

Briant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:36   #7

Originally Posted by Briant
Fixtures

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416>Saturday, 04 March 2006

v

<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Sunday, 12 March 2006

v
, 14:00

<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Saturday, 18 March 2006

v
<HR class=greyline width="100%" noShade SIZE=1>Saturday, 25 March 2006

v

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

No chance of messing around with these games. Every three points are huge,

In answer to the question, I reckon for the rest of the season Derek and Fletch are more than capable of doing the business

I agree but Riorden can't play in the semi and TM won't just throw Killen in for that one game. He will probably change things after the Celtic game to try and get his favoured cup team settled.

Old 28-02-06, 00:40   #8

Cullen is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by davidhibs7_0
I agree but Riorden can't play in the semi and TM won't just throw Killen in for that one game. He will probably change things after the Celtic game to try and get his favoured cup team settled.
after an entire season of the mowbray shuffle and you really think that?

Change we can believe in.
Cullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 00:44   #9

The goals will come. I've no doubt. Lets be honest Mogga probably wouldn't have played Deeks in the semi v the Yams anyway. O'Connor is a loss but in Killen and particularly Fletcher i am very confident.

Scott Brown, i pray...
Old 28-02-06, 00:46   #10

Originally Posted by Smurf
The goals will come. I've no doubt. Lets be honest Mogga probably wouldn't have played Deeks in the semi v the Yams anyway. O'Connor is a loss but in Killen and particularly Fletcher i am very confident.

Scott Brown, i pray...
def need scott brown back - creating consistent chances is much more important than who gets to finish them.

Old 28-02-06, 01:02   #11

Perth_Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

After questioning bout TM bringin in all the strikers he was, I think he may have gettin Deeks and Gary's replacements sooner rather than later. And now im just glad we have a lot to choose from. remember we still have dalglish for the legue games.

!!Oot Ma Box!!
Perth_Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 01:02   #12

It would be a huge bonus to have a fit Scott Brown back for the semi, as he terrifies the Yams. His pace and skill alone would give them major problems at Hampden. I think he will be pushing it however, to be match fit by April 2nd though. He would defo have to start training again within the next fortnight or he will have no chance.

With regards to the strikers, I have a feeling the Hibs board may, and I stress may, decide to pull the plug on Garry O's move just now in light of the draw tonight. They may just say to Loko Moscow to come back at the end of our season and he's yours. We simply have to win this game, and absolutely every effort must be made to ensure all our best players are available and fit to play. If O'Connor does go however, I expect to see Killen as a lone striker to hold the ball up for both Fletcher and Sproule. This could be a match-winning set up IMO, as the jambo's won't be used to it. I think Mowbray will play it tight in Midfield and play a system to stop Skacel and Hartley breaking as they are by far Hearts most dangerous players. Even though Hearts have an international defence and goalkeeper, I think they are slow and struggle to last 90 minutes. We can certainly take advantage of this with the pace of our players.

I am confident about the semi, though not quite as much as I was before it emerged that both Riordan and (likely) O'Connor will be missing.
Old 28-02-06, 01:12   #13

do the ruskies have a transfer window they need to beat? them and their silly sub arctic tundra.

Old 28-02-06, 04:13   #14

GIBBY NEWTON is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Hibees-Mad
Are you sure that Garry is being forced out the door, and has no interest in playing in a better league, make loads more money, and experience more in life than just playing the same teams in Scotland all the time?
Possibly you misread what i said (1)"Gary O is on his way out of ER unless he has a huge change of mind".I never stated he is being forced out the door,Gary mackay is his agent & he more or less stated on 107 fm tonight that it's a done deal provided L/moscow back up verbal statement's salary/conditions etc,etc when all parties sit round the table(as i have stated i can only see it failing to go through if the player changes his mind). He also stated RP been more than the perfect gentleman in all the discussions that have went on behind the scenes in the last couple of weeks between Gary,his agent,Hibs & the russians.(2)? if it's a better league he maybe going to,or at least L/moscow not doing to well performance wise this season.(3)Money well am sure that's the biggest/only reason if he goes & i don't blame him for that.(4)I take he's not interested in winning the scottish cup with Hibs.

I have concerns with RP & his statement's in the past "we want to keep all our young players & killen/dalglish etc,etc are additions to the squad not replacement's.Aye right Rod,i really pray things go our way in the cup because if we do not reach/win the cup final or make Europe next season.Am sure there will be a lot more to be said.

for that.
GIBBY NEWTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 06:35   #15

Tassie Devil is on the way to a first team debut

I believe Tony Mowbray has anticipated the moves of both Riordan & Oconnor at some stage and took the steps to make sure we were not left in the lurch signing Killen and Dalglish as well as he youngster from Aberdeen(i Thinks thats where hes from) He already knew he had a Gem in Fletcher who in my opinion will turn out to be better than both Oconnor & Riordan .I will be sorry to see them go but hopefully the funds recieved can be put towards a training complex so we can produce more Oconnors & Riordans
Tassie Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 07:49   #16

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
It would be a huge bonus to have a fit Scott Brown back for the semi, as he terrifies the Yams. His pace and skill alone would give them major problems at Hampden. I think he will be pushing it however, to be match fit by April 2nd though. He would defo have to start training again within the next fortnight or he will have no chance.

With regards to the strikers, I have a feeling the Hibs board may, and I stress may, decide to pull the plug on Garry O's move just now in light of the draw tonight. They may just say to Loko Moscow to come back at the end of our season and he's yours. We simply have to win this game, and absolutely every effort must be made to ensure all our best players are available and fit to play. If O'Connor does go however, I expect to see Killen as a lone striker to hold the ball up for both Fletcher and Sproule. This could be a match-winning set up IMO, as the jambo's won't be used to it. I think Mowbray will play it tight in Midfield and play a system to stop Skacel and Hartley breaking as they are by far Hearts most dangerous players. Even though Hearts have an international defence and goalkeeper, I think they are slow and struggle to last 90 minutes. We can certainly take advantage of this with the pace of our players.

I am confident about the semi, though not quite as much as I was before it emerged that both Riordan and (likely) O'Connor will be missing.
I agree with your opinion on how TM will set his stall out with Killen as the lone striker and I think it could work well - he's a big strong lad and with Fletcher's and Sproule's sharpness he could create a lot of chances for them. However I doubt very much whether Hibs would pull the plug on such a deal with Lokomotiv as the attraction of immediate and substantial cash will appeal more than anything.

Old 28-02-06, 07:58   #17

CadgeMac is on the way to a first team debut

killen and sproule, then bring on fletcher later, lets hope scotty brown is back and have they not got bednar and brellier out
Old 28-02-06, 10:12   #18

We Hate The Hearts is on the way to a first team debut

I would play the midfield of Glass, Stewart, Thomson, Fletcher and then up from Brown and Sproule!
name="movie" value="
name="wmode" value="transparent" /> ERROR: If you can see this, then
is down or you don't have Flash installed.
We Hate The Hearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 12:51   #19
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Possibly you misread what i said (1)"Gary O is on his way out of ER unless he has a huge change of mind".I never stated he is being forced out the door,Gary mackay is his agent & he more or less stated on 107 fm tonight that it's a done deal provided L/moscow back up verbal statement's salary/conditions etc,etc when all parties sit round the table(as i have stated i can only see it failing to go through if the player changes his mind). He also stated RP been more than the perfect gentleman in all the discussions that have went on behind the scenes in the last couple of weeks between Gary,his agent,Hibs & the russians.(2)? if it's a better league he maybe going to,or at least L/moscow not doing to well performance wise this season.(3)Money well am sure that's the biggest/only reason if he goes & i don't blame him for that.(4)I take he's not interested in winning the scottish cup with Hibs.

I have concerns with RP & his statement's in the past "we want to keep all our young players & killen/dalglish etc,etc are additions to the squad not replacement's.Aye right Rod,i really pray things go our way in the cup because if we do not reach/win the cup final or make Europe next season.Am sure there will be a lot more to be said.

for that.
I think you're doing a disservice to RP & the board here. An offer came in that met the valuation of one of our players, the player was informed of that ( as in the Deeks case) the player has then sought to further that interest and appears to be discussing personal terms that will progress his career and set him up for life.:What is the board supposed to do
To reject the offer & stand in the players way is not the honourable course of action, but I suppose some people need to play the blame game
The only difference between Derek & Gary is that one appears to have said yes & the other said no. Agree the timing could have been better but do you really want to deny O'Conner this opportunity. Bonus is we, as a club score some real dosh and can make a difference next season
Old 28-02-06, 13:46   #20

The Goose is on the way to a first team debut

For the semi Fletcher & Sproule

Maybe also move Caldwell to right back as the refugee ripped Whittaker up for ar*e paper at the last derby & bring either Konde or Hogg in at centre-half