Old 27-02-06, 12:55   #1

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Bouncski

Here's a thread in Lokomotiv's forum entitled "Whether We Should Buy The Class Forward". 61% say yes and 7% say yes only in the summer.

Here's a site that'll translate Russian into English.

Гэрри О'Коннор is big Garry by the way.

Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:07   #2

Re: Bouncski

порт сетон я бас
Old 27-02-06, 16:15   #3

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

ворование мафии управляло ублюдками

pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:17   #4
The Last Radge

andinho is on the way to a first team debut

seems a few of them are worried that o'connor isn't up to standard and are asking why celtic or rangers, or even a premiership/championship team, haven't come in for him.
andinho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:23   #5
Big Bad Mental Radge

Archie1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Тони моубрэйс зелено-белая армия
Archie1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:25   #6
Saintee's Radge

part/time supporter is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by andinho
seems a few of them are worried that o'connor isn't up to standard and are asking why celtic or rangers, or even a premiership/championship team, haven't come in for him.
That's what I would be asking if I supported them. With salary room of £15,000+ per week, you would have thought they could afford an established international player from a better league than the SPL.

If they go ahead with this, they're taking a far greater risk than Hibs are. If he doesn't make it over there, they would have to eat a lot of his salary if they tried to unload him back onto a 'British' club, and accept a much lower fee. If he does make it, they would have value for money, but not much more than that. Seems a bit of a lopsided gamble to me...

part/time supporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:39   #7

I'm not so sure about the risk thing , i think if they sell and we lose out on the cup Hibs risk losing out on S/T sales in the summer .
Are we really so unambitious ??
Old 27-02-06, 17:05   #8
Saintee's Radge

Originally Posted by Forzahibs
I'm not so sure about the risk thing , i think if they sell and we lose out on the cup Hibs risk losing out on S/T sales in the summer.
5,000 full price ST sales?

5,000 * £350 = £1.75m.

IMO, it's too much money to turn down for an organisation of Hibs' size. It would be the equivalent of the OF turning down £10m+ for a player.

They could still win the cup anyway...
Old 27-02-06, 17:21   #9

Originally Posted by part/time supporter
5,000 full price ST sales?

5,000 * £350 = £1.75m.

IMO, it's too much money to turn down for an organisation of Hibs' size. It would be the equivalent of the OF turning down £10m+ for a player.

They could still win the cup anyway...
Could yes but more likely ????
In my opinion its just another slap in the face for supporters , they can only trot out the debt reducing thing for so long
Old 27-02-06, 17:39   #10
Saintee's Radge

Could yes but more likely ????
No, but if the probability of winning the cup governed every action, Hibs would have kept Sam Morrow and passed on the cup tied Paul Dalglish.

In my opinion its just another slap in the face for supporters , they can only trot out the debt reducing thing for so long
That is true, but this really is too much money. It will make a material difference to the debt and the annual payments made on that. I think most fans will understand that if they see a substantial benefit (ie a bigger squad next season, or investment in training facilities).

I don't go along with the this is a "great piece of business" line as the timing stinks, but if Lokomotiv won't wait until the summer (and I don't see why they would), then Hibs are left with a terrible dilemma.
Old 27-02-06, 17:44   #11

Originally Posted by part/time supporter
No, but if the probability of winning the cup governed every action, Hibs would have kept Sam Morrow and passed on the cup tied Paul Dalglish.

Neither are up to Hibs standard in my opinion

That is true, but this really is too much money. It will make a material difference to the debt and the annual payments made on that. I think most fans will understand that if they see a substantial benefit (ie a bigger squad next season, or investment in training facilities).

On the day of the draw for a competition we haven't won in over 100 years ???

I don't go along with the this is a "great piece of business" line as the timing stinks, but if Lokomotiv won't wait until the summer (and I don't see why they would), then Hibs are left with a terrible dilemma.
Not a dilemma in my opinion , we should be keeping our best players
Old 27-02-06, 17:49   #12

GIBBY NEWTON is on the way to a first team debut

Not a dilemma in my opinion , we should be keeping our best players
Bang on Forza,we should be keeping all our best players.

GIBBY NEWTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 19:29   #13

Bob1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by GIBBY NEWTON

And lose every single one of them for nothing when their contract expires.

C'mon mate, look at the bigger picture.................................

and what chance has O'connor got trying to start a life in a country that uses squares and triangles in there language.

Bob1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 19:35   #14

i know big gaz is probably away
the money is good but as you say what about the language barrier and he'll have no mates out there and what about his wee bairn
Old 27-02-06, 23:39   #15

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by CadgeMac
what about his wee bairn
You mean the wee bairn that will get a first class education at an international school and probably end up bilingual in English and Russian, and writing in both the latin and cyrillic alphabets?

Aye, what about his wee bairn...
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 16:48   #16

fishybeaver is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by GIBBY NEWTON

Aye even if they are totally pissed off at being refused the chance to earn £18k per week, great deal for all parties, timing could be better but then you can have it all can you.
Old 28-02-06, 16:59   #17

If Hibs stop players going for a fair (though certainly not excessive) transfer fee, and £15k + a week, how many promising young players do you think are going to be that keen to play for us? The only way to compete is by getting our wages higher but it is going to be a seriously long time before we are remotely in a position to be paying anyone 15 grand...
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
wee 162 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 17:04   #18
Totall Effing Bonkers Radge

Reservoir Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by DaddyK

You think that's what Big Gary O is thinking then Jamesie, "it'll improve my bairns chances in life, multi-lingual, rub shoulders with others at the INTERNATIONALE school,
I'll go for the half the wages"

Or

Loadsa money, gees some o that now, ya bass!
Preston Lodge rule ko ya bass
Hup the Pans

hoi i went to pl ya bam

and..........my brother was school wi big garry o' and they got flung out of class for throwing sand out the sand pit

Reservoir Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-06, 18:41   #19

So we just become a stepping stone

If halfway through next season i decide i don't want to go anymore will they refund my s/t money for games i won't be attending ??
It's a good move for Garry O and good luck to him but all this "we don't need to sell " stuff is just a pile of patronising shite