Welcome to the HibeesBounce! |Threads: 42,397 | Posts: 598,606 | Members: 11,632 | Latest Member : hankat

Old 26-02-06, 18:13   #41
Radge Hibee Trollop

MoggaForKing is on the way to a first team debut

Re: fingers x'd for yams in the semi?

Originally Posted by Greenmachine
I would rather we didn't have to play Hearts at all TBH, but if we do have play them I would much rather play them in the semi than the Final. The semi is just a one-off nondescript game, and no cups are presented at the end. So if we lose to them, it's hell but we would not have to suffer the ultimate nightmare of watching Pressley & Co going up to get the Cup. I break ouin a cold sweat just thinking about that. No, if we were to beat Hearts in the semi, I reckon it would be a Hibs v Gretna Final, and surely that is the ideal scenario to end our long overdue wait for Scottish Cup glory ?

I really don't want an all Edinburgh Final, although I know many Hibbies who do.
well said!!

кαуℓєє тнє нιвєє

кєνιи м¢∂σиαℓ∂
MoggaForKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-06, 18:57   #42
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

mike t is on the way to a first team debut

Reasons for having the semi or final against our chums from gorgie at Murrayfield.
A) more fans get to the game
B)The fat cats at the SFA wont lose a penny as the 11000 extra punters will more than cover the costs of hire
C) Edinburgh will prove that it can host a major football event
D)50000 punters travelling to weegieville= a recipe for f'n chaos
E)Hampden is a shithole
F) The establishment in football (including the old firm forces of darkness and evil) would shit itself at the prospect of the balance of power shifting to the east (the real reason they wont tolerate the idea)
mike t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-06, 19:19   #43

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by mike t
Reasons for having the semi or final against our chums from gorgie at Murrayfield.
A) more fans get to the game
B)The fat cats at the SFA wont lose a penny as the 11000 extra punters will more than cover the costs of hire
C) Edinburgh will prove that it can host a major football event
D)50000 punters travelling to weegieville= a recipe for f'n chaos
E)Hampden is a shithole
F) The establishment in football (including the old firm forces of darkness and evil) would shit itself at the prospect of the balance of power shifting to the east (the real reason they wont tolerate the idea)
Can see where your coming from mate, but the yams have played games there already, and no matter what anyone says about Hampden being shite & getting through on the day, playing at egg-ball land would deffo give the yams an immediate advantage...something I doubt Mowbray would agree too.

Fwiw, I'd play them at either stage...it's not Tynie, so bring the fcukers on.

Mon the football team.
southfieldhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-06, 19:45   #44

Gunnerhibby is just really niceGunnerhibby is just really nice

If we're going to win the Cup this year then we have to win 2 games, its that simple, whether they're against Them, Dundee/Hamilton or Gretna is immaterial, we have to win.

Just winning it takes a big monkey off our backs, who knows, we might even go on and win it a couple of more times in the next few years, anythings possible with this team and manager.

Whether we have to beat the Gonads or not, and dont get me wrong it will be soooooo sweet doing it, the bigger prize is the cup itself, and all the partying and celebrations that go with it.

Old 26-02-06, 19:47   #45
Paul Hartley is Gay Radge

Young_hibee is on the way to a first team debut

ad rather just get to the final and not be afraid of who we get.
Young_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-06, 19:59   #46

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

BRING THEM ON !!!

Cannae wait.
Old 26-02-06, 20:38   #47

TUCKER is on the way to a first team debut

id rather get them in the final as its european football win or lose

beating them would be great ivan would tear them up at hampden
TUCKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 11:33   #48

Seven Tattoos is on the way to a first team debut

Unfortunately one of my biggest concerns about playing them in the semi (or the final) is that of crowd violence (both the premeditated 'casual' variety and the more spontaneous 'p!sshead' type).

The logistics of getting 50,000 football supporters from Edinburgh to Glasgow on the same morning are quite frightening. I'm sure the powers-that-be at Lothian & Borders Police, Central Scotland Police and Strathclyde Police are already communicating about the potential for trouble, and how they can avert it.

Losing to them in the Semi would be an absolute nightmare; it really doesn't bear thinking about. But to lose to them in the game that decides the destiny of the famous old trophy would probably have me contemplating suicide.

The rivalry we have with Hearts is not always a healthy one, there's always trouble before and after the game, even if the media tends to 'under-report' it. This fixture in such a high profile game like a semi or final, unfortunately, has the potential for serious disorder and for causing a lot of bitterness in the city.

I recall back in 1993 when I was in my final year at Sheffield the Blades and the Owls were drawn in the semi (it was played the same day that we lost 1-0 to Aberdeen in the cup at Swinie) and, inevitably there was a major pagger after the game and a Sheffield Wednesday fan died. We don't want to see anything like that happening due to the Edinburgh Derby.
Seven Tattoos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 11:43   #49
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

I'd prefer them in the semi-final. Just thinking about losing to them in the final has put me in a cold sweat.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 11:48   #50

tricky will become famous soon enough

if we get the gunts in the semi it could well be a 1215 kick off on the sunday for TV like their semi v celtic last season?
Old 27-02-06, 11:51   #51

Originally Posted by tricky
if we get the gunts in the semi it could well be a 1215 kick off on the sunday for TV like their semi v celtic last season?

And that just turns it intae a pish day for everyone concerned

Nae pre-match swally in the Pollock

Early sunday morning departure, aprox 10-10.30

fuckin' live telly

Old 27-02-06, 11:55   #52

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

Dream scenario - We beat Gretna and Hamilton beat Hearts.

But being honest we will have to play them at some stage to win it, So i would rather get it out the way and play them in the semi.
Old 27-02-06, 11:58   #53

Originally Posted by Gunnerhibby
And that just turns it intae a pish day for everyone concerned

Nae pre-match swally in the Pollock

Early sunday morning departure, aprox 10-10.30

fuckin' live telly

just had a wee flashback tae something I read in a paper yesteday ...

SKY are taking the Dundee-Hamilton replay cos they have one more live game to use up.

So if BBC take it does it have to an early KO

Although no doubt it will clash with the all-important live SatanTV Infirm game

Old 27-02-06, 12:18   #54

Whether we have to beat the Gonads or not, and dont get me wrong it will be soooooo sweet doing it, the bigger prize is the cup itself, and all the partying and celebrations that go with it.
I can't agree Gunner. A final against the gunts is much bigger than the cup itself. It's about a lifetime of triumphalism or suffering. No game should have that much at stake.

Whoever won such a game there'd be bedlam I reckon.
Old 27-02-06, 12:27   #55

just had a wee flashback tae something I read in a paper yesteday ...

SKY are taking the Dundee-Hamilton replay cos they have one more live game to use up.

So if BBC take it does it have to an early KO

Although no doubt it will clash with the all-important live SatanTV Infirm game
I think SKY have priority over the Semi Final fixture..
Old 27-02-06, 13:17   #56

SlovSam is a jewel in the roughSlovSam is a jewel in the rough

To win this years cup then Hibs are going to have to beat Hearts somewhere along the line and on the evidence of the three games so far between the teams and league position then Hibs have to be the slight underdogs which in a cup final or semi is no bad thing at all.

I don't occupy Smurfs wee world of Hearts are just crap away from home so nae worries as it will be all right on the night

It will be a brutal,tight,hard game with the strong Hearts defence up against Hibs natural attackers and if Brown, Caldwell, Smith, Murphy and Whittaker can maintain their excellent cup form instead of their more average league form then Hibs have a real chance.

Hibs do however have to be able to put their best team on the pitch which means Riordan and Brown hopefully being able to play.

With O'Connor also probably in Russia
then I'd much prefer to play Hearts in the final at Hampden though I'd ask the question as to why any Hibs fans wants to play the game at Murrayfield where no Hibs player as ever played at, in the wrong side of the town and in an enviroment which gives Hearts and their supporters an immediate physocological advantage.

Ariggo Sachi.

Last edited by SlovSam; 27-02-06 at 13:55.
SlovSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 16:39   #57

pilrig70 is on the way to a first team debut

I'm praying for an all-Edinburgh final. Wanting the Yams in the semis is feartiness.

The whole city would be buzzing for weeks before hand, the weegees would be watching on as also rans, and its the ONLY way to end the 104 year holy grail.

And also it would be sweet revenge for the shocking refereeing decisions in 1896.

May 13th 2006: Death or Glory (to the Hibees!)
pilrig70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 17:05   #58

Originally Posted by pilrig70
I'm praying for an all-Edinburgh final. Wanting the Yams in the semis is feartiness.

The whole city would be buzzing for weeks before hand, the weegees would be watching on as also rans, and its the ONLY way to end the 104 year holy grail.

And also it would be sweet revenge for the shocking refereeing decisions in 1896.

May 13th 2006: Death or Glory (to the Hibees!)
I actually do like the sound of that!
Old 27-02-06, 18:25   #59

Originally Posted by Smurf
I actually do like the sound of that!
if we won, it would redeem a lifetime of fitba related suffering.

if we lost....well, in this case the cliche truly applies...it doesn't bear thinking about.

I don't even know if I could trust myself to go to such a game.

Whatever the outcome I feel the potential for 'ill-judged' behaviour is at an all time high
Old 27-02-06, 18:27   #60

DarrenSQH is on the way to a first team debut

Cricket Challenge Champion! Funky Pong Champion! Sumo Soccer Wedgy Champion!

I dont care as long as we avoid gretna.
DarrenSQH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-06, 18:32   #61

Fly On Drug Champion! Makai Hockey Champion!

If We Get Hearts Bring It On

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote