Old 30-12-05, 19:16   #1

Murray6 is on the way to a first team debut

Riordan

If Riordan doesn't leave during the January window, or the summer window, would Hibs be able to offer him a contract till January? If he stayed at Hibs till the end of his contract he wouldnt be able to play any football from when his Hibs contract expires till the January window.
Murray6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-05, 20:04   #2

Re: Riordan

Originally Posted by calumhibee1
If Riordan doesn't leave during the January window, or the summer window, would Hibs be able to offer him a contract till January? If he stayed at Hibs till the end of his contract he wouldnt be able to play any football from when his Hibs contract expires till the January window.
I cannae believe we've not got him signed up..

Surely Petrie must see the potential of Riordan under long term contract after seeing 500K Boyd go to the Huns with only 6 months left in his contract and no Scotland caps..
Old 30-12-05, 21:02   #3

Kill Stick Figures Champion!

Originally Posted by Smurf
I cannae believe we've not got him signed up..

Surely Petrie must see the potential of Riordan under long term contract after seeing 500K Boyd go to the Huns with only 6 months left in his contract and no Scotland caps..

Even if they signed him on a bigger wage and punted him straight after petrie would gain
Keeping him would be a lot nicer mind you

GloryGlory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-05, 21:32   #4
Casual Radge

MartinPayne is on the way to a first team debut

I would be surprised if a bid does not come in sometime in January for him, and if it is over £350k then i expect that RP would accpet it.

Dereks goals would be worth more than that imho, and we should just let his contract run down and then its up to him what he wants to do.. Well unless some crazy money bid comes in.

MartinPayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-05, 21:50   #5
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut

Riordan believes that his skills are worth better than what our wage structure can allow, which is fair enough but until the club has reduced its debt vastly I feel that we can't break it for anyone.

It is up to Petrie what he wants. £350k to help reduce the debts or keep a player who could be the difference between playing in the Uefa cup(or champions league
) or no Europe.

Riordan or no Riordan the team will go on and with Fletch we have somebody who could become the next 20 odd goals a season striker.
Proclaimers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-05, 22:00   #6

Americas Army Champion! Get A Grip Champion! Hit the fan Champion! Speed Master Champion!

to be honest, i cannot wait until the saga is over. If deek goes, step forward MrFletcher and more intae the Limelight MrSproule.
If deek stays then SPL be warned, Hibs are a force to be reckoned with and are commited to keeping their best players.

I know Hibernian can continue without Derek but can Derek continue without Hibs? is the very question.

Old 31-12-05, 13:59   #7

flamin'hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Unhappy Re: Riordan

Originally Posted by Proclaimers
Riordan believes that his skills are worth better than what our wage structure can allow, which is fair enough but until the club has reduced its debt vastly I feel that we can't break it for anyone.

It is up to Petrie what he wants. £350k to help reduce the debts or keep a player who could be the difference between playing in the Uefa cup(or champions league:nodding ) or no Europe.
The time has come for Petrie, Farmer etc. to decide what they really want Hibs to be:-

a) A club that's willing to push the boat out to hold onto the amazing young talent they have cultivated (Deeks, Scotty, Thommo, Gary O, Whittaker...), a team which could potentially change the face of Scottish Football by mounting a creditable and consistent challenge for the title, or

b) A club which is happy to let it's best young players feck off to the ugly twins (or the lower reaches of the Championship), a team which scrap it out for 3rd place year in year out...with a bottom six placing likely about 30-40% of the time. But hey, doesn't our bank balance look just that wee bit healthier

Which ever way, they better make their mind up soon, cos I can't cope with many more transfer windows like this one!
Old 31-12-05, 14:10   #8

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Baccarat Champion! Flash Poker Champion!

Originally Posted by flamin'hibee
The time has come for Petrie, Farmer etc. to decide what they really want Hibs to be:-

a) A club that's willing to push the boat out to hold onto the amazing young talent they have cultivated (Deeks, Scotty, Thommo, Gary O, Whittaker...), a team which could potentially change the face of Scottish Football by mounting a creditable and consistent challenge for the title, or

b) A club which is happy to let it's best young players feck off to the ugly twins (or the lower reaches of the Championship), a team which scrap it out for 3rd place year in year out...with a bottom six placing likely about 30-40% of the time. But hey, doesn't our bank balance look just that wee bit healthier

Which ever way, they better make their mind up soon, cos I can't cope with many more transfer windows like this one!
Option c.

A Club that is in control of it's debt with good repayment structures and working at a moderate profit sum year on year and is ready to sell to any would be incestors
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-05, 14:20   #9

flamin'hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by KABULHIBBY
Option c.

A Club that is in control of it's debt with good repayment structures and working at a moderate profit sum year on year and is ready to sell to any would be incestors
hmmmm, sell out to an Eastern European gangster with a Satan complex...now there's an idea
- wonder no one's through of it before.
Old 31-12-05, 14:35   #10

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

sell to any would be incestors

Going on the evidence in the Albert Kidd photos on a different thread, there's been plenty of incestment at Tynecastle over the years. Cue Dualling Banjos...

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 31-12-05, 14:40   #11

Exactly, no-one is bigger than the club, he's offski, there's no doubt about it, Hibs won't offer him anymore than whats already on the table, and it's obviously no enough.

Riordan
Old 31-12-05, 18:00   #12

Originally Posted by Grant1875
Exactly, no-one is bigger than the club, he's offski, there's no doubt about it, Hibs won't offer him anymore than whats already on the table, and it's obviously no enough.

Riordan
Could be though that Hibs can increase the offer on the table by a little bit especially if TM has a little room to move ref new players, we might not get a new player but could use the extra funding to extend a few current contracts,
Old 31-12-05, 18:55   #13

Bossie will become famous soon enough

Option c.

Option D:

A self-sustaining club that is working to reduce its huge debt in a carefully managed fashion with its key players tied up on long contracts, but is prepared to sell a player when he outgrows the club or when some radge comes in with a lunatic offer.
Old 31-12-05, 19:08   #14

Originally Posted by Bossie
Option D:

A self-sustaining club that is working to reduce its huge debt in a carefully managed fashion with its key players tied up on long contracts, but is prepared to sell a player when he outgrows the club or when some radge comes in with a lunatic offer.
Agree with that option as well John, was just trying to point out to FH that there is more sometimes than unwillingness to splash the cash behind some of the decisions. Considering it has taken us 15 years or so to get back onto some kind of even keel after the merger threat I think that the club is at last making some small progressive steps. This is despite allowing the GJP to spend biggish on players. There may well be though someone out there who fancies putting some money into a club that isn't going to go bankrupt anytime soon and whether or not STF sells or allows investment at least is another debate entirely. Then again there maybe nobody out there and we are stuck with the status quo
Old 31-12-05, 19:16   #15

It is up to Petrie what he wants. £350k to help reduce the debts or keep a player who could be the difference between playing in the Uefa cup(or champions league
) or no Europe.

How much did we earn from our game in Europe? Was it as much as £350,000?
Old 01-01-06, 15:22   #16

Vini1875 is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Colr

I think this has to be the question when weighing up any offer for DR. Does the amount on offer equal or exceed the amount we could expect for a euro qualification. Now I don't think europe and league placing is purely about money, we also have the prestige and the feel good factor to add. Deek gets us a lot of goals and I believe we will need his goals to qualify for europe so I would sell him if he won't sign in the summer and not right now. Same goes for G Caldwell, although I think he'll go for free in the summer.
Vini1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-06, 15:40   #17

hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut

Probaly not but think about if he bangs in another 15+ goals an takes out team to Europe and we do get further. In the long run it could very well pay off but its a risk to take. A wish it wuold just get over with now IMO either sign the deal - or get outta hear

Found seated under the Gantry.
hibeesbounceross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-06, 16:59   #18
Big Jessie Radge

Proclaimers is on the way to a first team debut

Dunno mate, I was just saying that £350k is probably the offer we would get for him in January if an offer came in.
Proclaimers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-06, 17:01   #19

Dunno mate, I was just saying that £350k is probably the offer we would get for him in January if an offer came in.
If it was less, money in the bank would be better option than a punt on a sigle game in Europe. We have other goal scorers.