Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Friends of Hibs

Friends of Hibs The meeting Place of the Hibees Family Worldwide

Old 10-06-03, 15:02   #1

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Shamrock Rovers

Our mates in Ireland have a great fitba team and (despite the strip) many of their supporters' fave Scottish team is the Hibees!
Their Ultras site is worth checking out:

WELCOME GUYS ;)

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-03, 15:34   #2
DvB

DvB is on the way to a first team debut

Ta for the welcome lads!! ( & Lassies of course!! )

Yeah despite the fact we wear green & white hoops not all us hoopers support sellquick, a few unoriginal uneducated misguided fools do i have to admit, but i know of a fair few Hibee hoops, a couple of lads even wear hibs shirts to the games!

So if any of ye are ever over in dublin & fancy seeing a game of ball feel free to pop along & see Rovers, im sure ye would be more than welcome!

Or indeed send me a pm & we can arrange a welcome for ye!!
We have link ups with a fair few other green & white teams including panathinaikos, Hammarby & Rapid Vienna!

We're off to Poland next week for the away leg of our Inter toto cup match v Odra so i'll let ye know how we get on!

Koh

DvB
DvB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-03, 10:01   #3
DvB

Well lads we won again on friday night, beating our landlords St. Pats Ath 1-0 with a late goal from Tony Grant, this pushes us up to second in the table after 11 games, one point behind the leaders Shelbourne, so alls looking ok so far on the pitch!!

Off to Poland on thursday for our match v Odra in the Inter toto cup on saturday so hopefully it should be sunny & full of cheap boozers!!Result!!

I'll fill ye in on how we get on when im back next week!

Koh

DvB
Old 19-06-03, 01:16   #4
Northside Radge

Hibernian_Dub hasnae upset anyone -yet

Dirty homeless filthy knackers - thats what Rovers are! I think there's alledgedly 2, maybe 3 who are Hibees, the rest are Celtic-loving hooped filth.

As for the 'come and see us when you're over' bit.. WHERE exactly? You don't have a ground, you have'nt a clue where you'll be playing... Belfield, Tolka, Santry, Carlisle Ground, RDS, Richmond, Dalymount or the Pheonix Park.

As for your trip to Poland in the mickey-mouse cup, let's hope you have as much success as you did on your last trip there in '94. ehhh 0-8, wasn't it?

Bartok, I don't know where you're getting your nonsense about many of them fave team is the Hibs. At our meeting last Novemeber with KL, SP and BW, we had nearly 100 people there. Of those who support and eircom League team the breakdown was roughly... 25 Bohs, 15 Shels, 5 Pats, 5 Drogheda Utd, 2/3 Cork... Hoops=0 (that's Nil)

One particular incident comes to mind after a game at the RDS, when myself and a friend from Leith came out, he was wearing the Hibs jersey, when a gang of their 'hard' men stopped us, gave loads of abuse about Hibs and generally tried to provoke a reaction out of my Hibs mate. Muppets.

Enjoy the dizzy heights of second place, you won't be there for long.

9 long years.

Hibernian_Dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-03, 12:20   #5
Northside Radge

OK, Big helping of humble pie for one, please!

Great win in Poland, well done and despite what I said before, brilliant result for the eL !

Old 25-06-03, 14:22   #6
DvB

Thanks for the welcome!!

At least your pathetic rant got one thing right, that being the great result on saturday!!!!!

If thats the level of conversation im to expect on the forum i shant be back! I'll just continue to support the hibs as before!
Didnt realise it was a closed shop,
a tad infantile to the extreme!!

Koh
Old 26-06-03, 12:47   #7

mick is on the way to a first team debut

Of those who support and eircom League team the breakdown was roughly... 25 Bohs, 15 Shels, 5 Pats, 5 Drogheda Utd, 2/3 Cork... Hoops=0 (that's Nil)
They're mostly from the east coast. Why don't the Dublin Hibs recruit more fans in the west and north west and other parts of Ireland.

Canon Hannon was a Co. Limerickman ( from Ballingarry) and Michael Whelahan was born in Kilglass Co. Roscommon. James Connolly's parents came from Co. Monaghan. Many of the Cowgate's Little Ireland came from Co Mongahan. It would be great if Hibs made inroads into what is Celtic supporting territory in the north and west of Ireland.

Did you know that a Donegalman once played for Hibs and Ireland. He was Mickey Gallagher from Arranmore Island and Donegal side Finn Harps have a Harp as emblem ( obviously) like the Hibees.

On the subject of Hoops didn't Hibrenian wear the green and white hoops first (their original colours before Celtic) ?

Also does anybody kow what part of Ireland that Bohemians and Hibernian player Paddy Farrell came from? He played for both Ireland sides in the 1930's.
Old 26-06-03, 16:19   #8
DvB

Off the top of my head I think he came from Cabra in Dublin!!
I'll check it out though & get back to ye!

Koh

DvB
Old 26-06-03, 20:57   #9
Northside Radge

Originally posted by "DvB"

Thanks for the welcome!!

At least your pathetic rant got one thing right, that being the great result on saturday!!!!!

If thats the level of conversation im to expect on the forum i shant be back! I'll just continue to support the hibs as before!
Didnt realise it was a closed shop,
a tad infantile to the extreme!!

Koh
Ok, my rant was probably a bit over the top, so for that, I apologise. Lets just say I've no love for ANY team wearing green and white hoops and thats putting it very mildly, we'll leave it at that.

Like I said, a great win (saw the goals on tv3) but I've a sneaky feeling that Odra Lewinsky will turn you over on Sunday.

Bloody hell, KevR, where did you pluck that word ' amelioate ' from? I looked up the dictionary and I now presume you meant 'amelioRate'

Regarding Paddy Farrell, I also think he came from my home area of Cabra, not sure though!

Believe me, Mick, it's hard enough recruiting ANYBODY to the Dublin Hibs SC. We've tried hard in the past, but unfortunately this country is awash with green and white hooped jersies (and I don't mean Rovers
) and it's very hard to 'persuade' someone to follow a team that's basically sh1te and one which has distanced itself away from it's Irish roots. Harsh, but true!

Old 27-06-03, 11:14   #10

mick is on the way to a first team debut

it's very hard to 'persuade' someone to follow a team that's basically sh1te and one which has distanced itself away from it's Irish roots. Harsh, but true!
At least Hibs have Irish roots. The first team ever to wear the green and as far as I know the first club to be founded and run by Irish people ever. Ireland didn't even start to wear green until 1924, before that they wore St Patrick's Blue.
Compare to some of the English teams with supposedly strong Irish connections like Liverpool and Arsenal whose Irish links and support basically date only back to the 1970's yet they attract fanatical support. Liverpool were even founded by an Orangeman John Houlding but are the second biggest supported English club in the Republic of Ireland after Manchester United. Liverpool despite their origins don't seem to have any problems with Irish tricolours unlike some Hibees.

If Hibs actually won something regularly they'd have no problem attracting Irish support or even just played friendlies in Ireland ever now and then. There's an Anti-Celtic backlash in Ireland now and it would be great if the Hibees promoted themselves as a non-sectarian version of Celtic (who have the arrogance to think they're the Pride of Ireland)

Regarding Paddy Farrell again, he hardly came from Longford. Every second person in Longford seems to have the Farrell surname (like MacDonald in the Highlands). I know that the Longford Town colours of red and black stripes are based on Bohemians' colours. Must be some reason for that.
Old 27-06-03, 12:26   #11
DvB

Fair play Hibernian_dub, sorry if my response was a tad OTT, just having gotten back from Poland after a superb trip all round to see so many negative responses to it had my blood boiling, your wee rant was the straw & camels back stage so apologies for that!!

Your from Cabra so you say, ha ha, only up the road from me & my family come from cabra, Faussagh Road & Bannow Road to be precise!

Your right about the fookin sellquick thing though, it seems every muppet over here supports them, i would say though the majority are not for footballing reasons though, the usual shite moreso!!

I've actually meant to join the Dublin Hibs SC for a while but never seem to get round to it, must make a concious effort to do so for the new season!
May even meet you in time!!

Koh

DvB

Ps : I think we'll struggle through on sunday though 1-1, then off to Prague next weekend!!
Old 27-06-03, 12:28   #12
DvB

Odra Lewinsky

Koh

DvB
Old 30-06-03, 09:33   #13
DvB

Well lads we won the return game 1-0 yesterday to win 3-1 on aggregate so are through to play Slovan Liberec from the Czech Republic in the second round, the away leg is next sunday so some quick travelling arrangements will be required today ( & a visit to the bank manager, who hopefully will be sympathetic!! ) Still it beats losing!!

A good game yesterday with rovers winning quite comfortably, Glen Fitzpatrick scored in the 72nd minute & they hit the bar from a free kick soon after which was their only real chance of note, good crowd of approx 5000 & a super display organised by the Ultras went off perfectly!

All in all a good weekend to be a hoop ( of the rovers variety!! )

Btw counted 4 hibees shirts at the game!!

Koh

DvB
Old 03-07-03, 00:58   #14
Northside Radge

Good win alright. I'll let you have your moment of glory (you have'nt had many recently ;) ) so I won't even dispute the crowd size or the alledged 4 hibees shirts.

I will admit that it did look (on tv) a good display by your ultra's, better than your Santry displays anyway ;)

I assume you'll be flying into Prague. If you've never been there before, it's a beautiful city with amazing bridges, churches, castles and oh yeah, one or two half-decent pubs serving fabulous Czech beer. I better stop here, or else someone would think I was jealous of a hoop. God forbid!

Anyway, enjoy the trip (but not too much).

Old 14-07-03, 16:46   #15
DvB

Well after a thoroughly enjoyable trip to the Czech Republic despite the result ( could have been alot worse) a late brace in the return leg yesterday ended our wee intertoto cup run, although it sounds quite a spanking the 4-0 on aggregate flattered tham a wee bit with the 2 goals yesterday coming late in the game against the run of play as we chased the game!!

Still we got 2 excellent away trips out of it & a thirst for more!!
The football & really cheap beer!! ( 50c a pint in Liberec, approx 40p stg! )

Back to the league now with a backlog of fixtures starting with a home game against Longford Town on friday! As it stands we are 8 points behind the leaders Shelbourme with 3 games in hand!! So as long as we dont collapse we should still be up challenging!

Koh

DvB
Old 31-07-03, 22:21   #16
DvB

Things seem to have gone a bit pear shaped since bowing out of europe!

A shocking 3-2 defeat at home to Longford was thoroughly deserved as we were muck, but the cup loss to pats last week was daylight robbery, we dominated for 80 minutes & really should have had the game wrapped up by half time, 3 mistakes 3 goals, two deflected & the first a clear foul on the keeper! Still despite the obvious gutted feeling the game was a cracker & both sets of fans created an amazing atmosphere!

We play waterford united at home on friday coming & really need a win to get some confidence back in the team and to put us back up the table, we then play away to UCD on monday in a rearranged game which will be as dull as f**k, always is against them!!

Koh

DvB
Old 01-08-03, 11:27   #17

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

The trip to the Czech Republic sounds like it was fun, I wonder how many pre-seasons abroad Hibs will be doing in future, with money so tight? Last year we were rumoured to be organising an Irish pre-season tour, if that ever comes off there will be thousands of us over there!
:

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-03, 11:48   #18
DvB

Originally Posted by Bartok
The trip to the Czech Republic sounds like it was fun, I wonder how many pre-seasons abroad Hibs will be doing in future, with money so tight? Last year we were rumoured to be organising an Irish pre-season tour, if that ever comes off there will be thousands of us over there!
:
Yeah, have to say both trips were pretty cool!
Would be great if Hibs ever do a tour over here, dont get over to Edinburgh too often these days with most of my holidays taken up with trapsing all over ireland supporting rovers, so the opportunity of seeing a few games would certainly be welcomed with open arms!!

Be nice to meet up with a few thirsty hibees as well, an interesting session would be had no doubt!!

Oh and just looking at my last post, quick update, things are going from bad to worse for us, lost 1-0 at home on friday to waterford who were atrocious but had one shot with 5 minutes to go, we had a goal disallowed & a clear penaly waved away (getting quite used to poor refereeing decisions though), the predicted 0-0 with UCD ended 2-2 with two goals in injury time, one for each team, our equaliser literally being the last kick of the game!!

Off up to Derry today for our next league fixture versus Derry City, should be a laugh, weather is fantastic & plenty of beer in the bag for the trip up!!

Koh

DvB
Old 19-08-03, 17:11   #19
DvB

Hmmm, getting that sinking feeling!!

The Derry game finished 1-1, we went a goal up with about 10 minutes left & promptly gave away a peno with seconds to go to give Derry a point!! The 5 hour bus trip home was not a pretty picture!!

Followed that on with a trip to Cork on friday last, despite seeing Cork reduced to 10 men after 35 minutes rovers again bottled it completely, apart from failing to get a single shot on target in the second half we gave away a goal of schoolboy on acid proportions to lose AGAIN 1-0, we are now down to 7th but still only 8 points off the top with the leaders (shels) being our next game at home!!

Getting a tad frustrating to be honest, but sure i can take a break this weeknd as im off to scouserland for a stags, so plenty of beer n ahem
'other delights' shall be had no doubt!!

have to say it was f**king brilliant to get the final score on sunday, was being slagged by some sellquick fans on hearing the score was 0-0 & just over, to hear that GOC had gotten an injury time winner
Twas class!!! Long may it continue!!!

Koh

DvB

HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Friends of Hibs