Go Back   HibeesBounce.com - Hibernian FC Forums > Geographical Hibs > Friends of Hibs

Friends of Hibs The meeting Place of the Hibees Family Worldwide

Old 12-10-06, 08:49   #81
Turbonegro Radge

Casino cash: £275
Re: Groningen Bounce Tours

What about sir Steven of Perth. Are you coming?
Old 12-10-06, 10:00   #82
Turbonegro Radge

Originally Posted by frizzie View Post
Great to meet some guys again. Looking forward to it to see u in our city.

Riccus did you arrange some tickets already?
Yep, 25 tickets are secured
Old 13-10-06, 14:21   #83

Oke dan!
So u guys have tickets allready. That is a good thing because it is allmost sold out every game.
And the city, well lets say, don't go out and drink beer wearing your scottisch kilt because they will refuse u at the door at some places. ;)
But Groningen has some great pubs, coffeshops, red light districts and other funny places. So who needs Amsterdam??? We can show u around hehe.

Last edited by frizzie; 13-10-06 at 14:45.
frizzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-06, 17:44   #84

Casino cash: £11971
Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Guys as way of an update on the hotels, there are a few deals going and I want your thoughts and input....?

Groningen

Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza RD - EUR 41.00 (£ 30 a night) per person per night in a twin room, two sharing. This is inclusive local tax of 2,00 euros and Amercan breakfast buffet is included. Breakfast is in the weekend untill 1200 noon and it has a pool and sauna. Downfall is it is not in the town centre and is a few miles away on the outskirts. No big deposit required.

Hotel de Doelen - based in the main square, its slap bang in the middle of town. The price of the room including tourist tax and breakfast is € 58 (£ 42) per person per night. Just a wee 3 star hotel it has six twin rooms and plenty double rooms, so so of us would have to get on really well with our room mate! No big deposit required.

NH Hotel - Classy 4 star hotel in the centre of town. The price of the room excluding tourist tax and breakfast is € 44.50 (£ 32) per person per night, with tourist tax and brekky its 60.50 euros (£ 44). The problem is that if we want the rooms we have to pay a 100% deposit! That means you will all have to pay for the rooms now.

I wrote to the posh looking Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys, but they wanted £ 55 a night.

I have written to the basic but decent Martini Hotel, where we stayed last time, I await a reply. Its only downfall are the rooms are pretty basic, although modern and clean and on a Sunday the church bells are right outside the window and do eff all for a burstin' hangover! I think it will be around 45 euros a night including tax and breakfast, although I i await their reply a I say.

Amsterdam

I wrote to Rookies as Al suggested, and they answered as follows

We are sorry to tell you, but we are a small family Hotel with 12 rooms. 20 people, isn''t possible.
I also wrote to the NH Hotel in Amsterdam, sister hotel of the one in Groningen. NH Amsterdam City Centre Well positioned 3 star hotel in the centre of town. The price of the room excluding tourist tax and breakfast is € 61.50 (£ 44 ) per person per night, including tourist tax and brekky, same price as Groningen. The problem again is that if we want the rooms we have to pay a 100% deposit! That means you will all have to pay for the rooms now.

I could do with some more suggestions of a hotel in the 'dam that will accomodate us all.

T Shirts

Are you up for tour t shirts? I know an excellent tee shirt website with a significant Hibs bias ;)
Old 15-10-06, 08:57   #85

Rep Power: 35 1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice1875 is just really nice

Amsterdam Update

Managed to get an Ibis in Amsterdam for 39.50 euro per person (£ 29) including tax but not brekky as we are on a fast one to the airport? I have reserved 12 twin rooms there, but can cancel them if anyone doesnt fancy it? Its called the Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera, its in the City Centre.

It gets good write ups and look pretty smart? You can see it here Click Candid traveler photos for decent pictures of the place.

Can everyone tell me if its ok, and if anyone disnae fancy it please say so?
Old 16-10-06, 08:43   #86

Casino cash: £10086
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by 1875 View Post
Hotel de Doelen - based in the main square, its slap bang in the middle of town. The price of the room including tourist tax and breakfast is € 58 (£ 42) per person per night. Just a wee 3 star hotel it has six twin rooms and plenty double rooms, so so of us would have to get on really well with our room mate! No big deposit required.

Amsterdam Update

Managed to get an Ibis in Amsterdam for 39.50 euro per person (£ 29) including tax but not brekky as we are on a fast one to the airport? I have reserved 12 twin rooms there, but can cancel them if anyone doesnt fancy it? Its called the Ibis Amsterdam City Stopera, its in the City Centre.

It gets good write ups and look pretty smart? You can see it here Click Candid traveler photos for decent pictures of the place.

Both of these look fine to me mate,The hotel with the pool on the outskirts looks good too but the idea of trying to get us all taxis each day to travel about puts me off.
Old 16-10-06, 11:06   #87

Casino cash: £6949
vCash: 10100614

I would love to jump on this bandwaggon and see you all for a bevvie!!!

any tickets left/hotel rooms in Groningen?

Dont need any fligths or accom in the Dam, as i will just jump on a train fae the fatherland and meet you in Groningen?

Mark

Bannox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-06, 13:58   #88

You are welcome Mark, just yourself?
Old 17-10-06, 14:00   #89

Aye just me mate

Old 17-10-06, 16:24   #90

Suitably added!
Old 17-10-06, 17:19   #91

Casino cash: £8206
Rep Power: 24 Gunnerhibby is a jewel in the roughGunnerhibby is a jewel in the rough

Amsterdam Update

do for me, mate

I take it its a pay-on-the-day

Old 17-10-06, 19:21   #92

It is indeed, its the Groningen one i am having difficulty with, the good yin wants us to pay in advance, the wee yin only has 6 twins so every one else has to share a double bed wi there room mate.

The place we stayed before have not answered my emails?
Old 18-10-06, 11:14   #93

Suitably added!
Nice one Mark,

What is the cut off date if someone else wants to join in? got a mate who might fancy it but cant forecast work comitements just now?

Old 18-10-06, 12:45   #94

The minute we have 25 people mate, that is all the tickets we are getting for the match. Any thoughts on the hotel?
Old 19-10-06, 09:27   #95
Turbonegro Radge

What about the Hampshire hotel, Mark. Did you try that one?

http://www.hotels.nl/groningen/nieuweacademie/

or one of these? simple 2 and 1 star hotels

http://www.pensioncafetivoli.nl/engels/index_eng.html

http://www.hotelfriesland.nl/nederlands/index.html (only in dutch)
Old 19-10-06, 09:33   #96
Turbonegro Radge

or a bit more expensive

http://www.corpsdegarde.nl/index_en.htm
Old 19-10-06, 10:08   #97

Originally Posted by Riccus View Post
What about the Hampshire hotel, Mark. Did you try that one?

http://www.hotels.nl/groningen/nieuweacademie/
I have written to the two Hampshire hotels in Groningen, they have not replied yet? How are they for location?

I have written to the Friesland also, although I did not contact the Tivoli as I never trust a hotel who's website does not show a photo of their rooms!
Old 19-10-06, 10:18   #98
Turbonegro Radge

There are two? I only know one. And that one is close to the city center (about 2-300 metres). Very odd that they haven't replied yet. I can give them a call if you want.

As for the Tivoli: I've never been inside but i looks very shabby from the outside. It also is in the middle of the redlight district. Some of yous may consider that a plus
Old 19-10-06, 14:42   #99
Turbonegro Radge

When I'm in need of accommodation in Holland I always go to http://www.weekendjeweg.nl/ And when I do I usually don't have to pay up front.

I just found out that there also is an UK based equivalent of this site.

http://www.weekendsaway.co.uk/?BRCHERKOMST=WWW-UK

I've tried to check the Groningen hotels for availability for february 27 and 28 but couldn't as they only have information until january 31. But you can contact them by e-mail. Maybe they could help out.
Old 19-10-06, 15:45   #100

There are two? I only know one. And that one is close to the city center (about 2-300 metres). Very odd that they haven't replied yet. I can give them a call if you want.

As for the Tivoli: I've never been inside but i looks very shabby from the outside. It also is in the middle of the redlight district. Some of yous may consider that a plus
Could you call them mate, 12 twin rooms, best rate for 2 nights (17 & 18 of February) including Tourist Tax and Breakfast?

These are the two Hampshires in Groningen, prices look quite reasonable?:

The City Centre One

The Hoornse Meer one
Old 19-10-06, 16:19   #101
Turbonegro Radge

I just did. They still have 12 twin room available for 17/18 february. I took the option for those dates. They're gonna send me their offer by e-mail. As soon as I got it, I let you know Mark. It's for the city center one. The Hoornse meer is too far from the center.
Old 19-10-06, 18:42   #102
Zoog Radge

Casino cash: £2028

I just did. They still have 12 twin room available for 17/18 february. I took the option for those dates. They're gonna send me their offer by e-mail. As soon as I got it, I let you know Mark. It's for the city center one. The Hoornse meer is too far from the center.
Riccus - just so you can compare rates - the city centre hotel is available for 118 euro per person for the 2 nights. See website below