Glasvegas. Again.
Forget the hype.
Forget the NME. Forget the Weegieness. They're f#ckin very good?
Re: Glasvegas. Again.
Nope.
after all the blither on here, i bought their album yesterday. i've only listened to it once, in the car, and distracted by the bairns and the missus gibbering away, so this comes with that caveat, but:
i enjoyed it. they're not promising on paper in terms of me liking them; fashionable and weegie, but enjoy it i did. they are indeed like the proclaimers covering the mary chain and produced by phil spector. which is not a bad combination at all. i also like their lyrical themes, which though a bit simple sometimes, are much better than the whole self-absorbed wank of the radioheads and bloc parties of the world. i think there's quite a bit of filler on the album, and nothing that reaches the heights of the J&MC (though that would be asking a lot). but yes - i can see why the young folks like them. thumbs up from me.
![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2007
^^^^ well played sir, excellent critique.
(Posted fae ma mobile fone) |
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. I'd copyright that one and try and sell it to their press officer if I were you. I'd maybe swap The Proclaimers for Arab Strap though. Whole post pretty much sums how I feel about them. Just more articulary. If that's a word. Agree about the fillers too. The two slow ones are rubbish, however much I love the moonlight sonatta.
I think Mr Petridis might contest any copyright attempt. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
indeed HH. i've heard the comparison before - in fact i thought someone used it on hear last time. hence the 'they are indeed...' prefix.
at time of last posting i hadn't listened to the last track on the album; ice cream van. i now have; i think it's probably the best thing i've heard from people born after 1980. can't think of anything better at this moment anyway.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. HH). You charlatan EGB. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Usually love slow tracks but really thought the slow ones brought down the brilliance of this album To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. And my download has it as about the middle track. Whole album seems to be arse about tit. Aye, you get nowt for nowt these days. Rip-off Mininova c#nts. It's the last they get from me To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
however, this is a strength of the album; it has different qualities that are all strong. frankly, i just think it shites on these skinny jeaned mopes that seem to represent that generation generally. well played weegie fellas. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Musical fashion of the moment.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Students! Feck Che Guevara, Hail King Sauzee! |
![]() Join Date: Apr 2008
i think the Twighlight Sad album is better,
Any tune recommendations? What I've listened to on yachoob so far has bored me shitless.
Thanks though, I will check ice cream van out and report back...
Listening now and have to say I agree with you. It's a great track. Is any of the rest of the album like this? ONe thing you'll hate is the first key not switch that happens reminds me of that Coldplay track, it's got a lyric like 'nobody said it was easy' or some such pish. Hope I haven't spoiled the track for you.
I agree with the endy bit too. Will reiterate my question; is it worth getting the album from a non-pop angle?
Big Baldy Radge
Really trying to like them but it's just not happening. They do have some good songs but nothing I would consider groundbreaking or living up to the hype.
Would like to see them live though as that tends to be the basis I judge bands. One thing that has annoyed me is the way so many reviews of the album have said James Allan has returned to his time as a professional footballer on the track Flowers and Football tops. No he's not! The song is about the death of a son and refers to the seemingly now obligatory tribute (particularly in Glasgow) that is left at the site of any death. This song is based loosly on the death of Kriss Donald, how anyone can make any connection to playing for Falkirk I dont know. |