Old 03-10-08, 16:38   #1

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut
Fined for being "unchivalrous"

A POLISH postman who took a photograph of an ill woman outside an Edinburgh bar has been fined £100 after being branded "unchivalrous" by a sheriff.
The woman had been drinking with friends in a bar in the city's Omni Centre when she began to feel unwell and went outside for air.

As she sat with her head between her legs, Sebastian Przygodzki took a
photograph with his

An "ill woman" hey ?

But in any event, who knew there was such a crime as being "unchivalrous" ?
Old 03-10-08, 17:11   #2

GforGallo will become famous soon enough
Re: Fined for being "unchivalrous"

An "ill woman" hey ?

was she fined for being unladylike?
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 17:22   #3
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

And if she was out on a public street, what could her expectation of privacy be?
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 17:33   #4

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

The charge was breach of the peace, which is used as a catch-all charge all too frequently to arrest people who have done little or nothing wrong.

On another point, how bad are the standards of grammar and spelling in our local press?

"Addressing Przygodzki, Albion Road, Edinburgh, Sheriff Hogg said: "The lady in question was in extremes, possibly due to her own fault, but you should have walked passed and ignored the situation."

Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 17:48   #5

alnewhaven is on the way to a first team debut

I'm sure that this publication has published pictures of "ill women " when running stories about stag and hen parties. Or did they get the consent of the subjects first?
alnewhaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 17:57   #6

BurbankHibee is on the way to a first team debut

The charge was breach of the peace, which is used as a catch-all charge all too frequently to arrest people who have done little or nothing wrong.
True, I have been a bit naughty with the title but this incident just doesn't sit well with me at all. As you point out the actual charge was "breach of the peace" but I don't see where the peace was being breached myself and I find it worrying that PC Plod has the time to confiscate the guys
and charge him. Yeah, that's what Edinburgh needs right enough.

On another point, how bad are the standards of grammar and spelling in our local press?

"Addressing Przygodzki, Albion Road, Edinburgh, Sheriff Hogg said: "The lady in question was in extremes, possibly due to her own fault, but you should have walked passed and ignored the situation."
It's the Hootsmon.
Old 03-10-08, 18:07   #7
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

An "ill woman" hey ?

I remember taking a picture of a girls bald patch when out in Club Death in Livingston one night years ago.....that was most unchivalrous

Hibernian F.C. - We Own The Capital

ZemmamasBarnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 18:13   #8
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

I remember taking a picture of a girls bald patch when out in Club Death in Livingston one night years ago.....that was most unchivalrous
The bald patch or you taking the photo?
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-08, 18:16   #9

The bald patch or you taking the photo?
The bald patch was unfortunate for her...I was a bit of a cad

Old 03-10-08, 18:19   #10

Does anyone else think she was a bit Oliver Twist and took the hump a bit more than she normally would had she been sober?

I'm speculating of course

Old 03-10-08, 19:25   #11

was she fined for being unladylike?
Outside a bar - what was making her feel unwell?
Old 04-10-08, 01:38   #12

Jamesie will become famous soon enough

If the guy had been papparazzi taking a photo of a blootered celebrity would the outcome have been the same?

Logically, the answer should be yes. Not too hot on criminal procedure but you've got to think about an appeal here.
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 02:49   #13
Bus driving Radge

Marinehibby is on the way to a first team debut

I cant beleive that this incident took place. I mean what the f*** does it all mean? See this politically correct pish, where we have to evaluate all our actions (taking a picture of some drunken stranger) & consider the consequences. I mean, What the f***!. The world has gone mad IMO.

Marinehibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 03:43   #14
A Very Happy Radge Tim

Highhoops is on the way to a first team debut

An "ill woman" hey ?

name="allowFullScreen" value="true">To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344">

Highhoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 03:46   #15
A Very Happy Radge Tim

Highhoops is on the way to a first team debut

I cant beleive that this incident took place. I mean what the f*** does it all mean? See this politically correct pish, where we have to evaluate all our actions (taking a picture of some drunken stranger) & consider the consequences. I mean, What the f***!. The world has gone mad IMO.

That green bus ran me over and I am a scumbo can I have loads of money purleese......
Highhoops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 08:06   #16
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

what a complete waste of police & court time no to mention the public money spent on pursuing this 'criminal matter', fae what the article says it seems there was no indication of the boy tryin tae take a photo of her in a sexually exploitive manner

why did the polis no just give this guy a warning, surely that would huv been an appropriate response tae the complaint? i fail tae see what crime has been committed here unless there has been an update on peoples image rights which make it a criminal offence tae no get permission, as rightly pointed oot in other posts on this why does this no effect the press when they photograph party goers or pished celebs?

was it because the guy was Polish that made the bizzies want tae charge him
or were they more in need of providin arrest quotas tae maintain monthly figures, though it seems tae me that the good auld fashioned strict scottish law enforcement community (if ye dinnae dae what i say yer gettin done wi a breach!!) is still thrivin

SAOR ALBA
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-08, 10:10   #17

That green bus ran me over and I am a scumbo can I have loads of money purleese......
I didnt realise you got plastic scumbos. Oh well, live and learn.

Old 04-10-08, 10:36   #18

An "ill woman" hey ?

whatever the specifics of what this man did, i think the judge should be fined for framing it in such an unacceptable way.

chivalry is simply sexism; and specifically a device to keep women in their place. i know this from reading the guardian.

that means a man being unchivalrous is being unsexist; this is a good thing.

this dangerous bewigged reactionary needs fined or preferrably thrown off the bench.
Old 04-10-08, 12:01   #19

whatever the specifics of what this man did, i think the judge should be fined for framing it in such an unacceptable way.

chivalry is simply sexism; and specifically a device to keep women in their place. i know this from reading the guardian.

that means a man being unchivalrous is being unsexist; this is a good thing.

this dangerous bewigged reactionary needs fined or preferrably thrown off the bench.
He maybe needs a good slap EGB but fined and/or thrown off the bench
is that perhaps using a hammer to crack a walnut dude. The old duffer will undoubtedly be behind the times but throwing him out is a tad harsh doncha think.

[alternatively, did I just pick up a live grenade].