![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
The 'it evens itself up over the course of a season' Thread
The usual cliche' given by the latest incumbent of the Sectarian Firm's hotseat is always 'aye it was a soft penalty but these even out during the course of a season'. I say bollocks to that. Week 2 in the SPL and already Celtic have recieved a travesty of a penalty and both of the bigots have had stone wallers denied against them. Let's see how these penalty decisions really do even out over 38 weeks. Current score.
Old Firm 3 - 0 The Rest. Feel free to add to the tally throughout the campaign.
Aged Radge
Re: The 'it evens itself up over the course of a season' Thread
I think you misunderstand what the pundits/press/ mean when they say 'it evens out'. It actually DOES even out. Both the OF teams get the benefit of being gifted dodgy penalties, yet also the benefit of the doubt if it is against them. The fact (and your point) that the even-handedness doesn'textend to any other team is entirely missed by them because they simply don't care. Scottish football in their eyes starts and ends in the Weege and with two teams in particular. Pisses me off too. And probably another couple of million football fans.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
Sticky request?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Hibernian F.C. - We Own The Capital To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
I would 'sticky this' but I would also do the following:
Split this table this way: Celtic 1/2 Rangers 3/4, where the 1 and 3 shows dodgy penalties awarded and the 2 and 4 shows blatant penalties not awarded. This could be added to with red cards etc...if we are really feeling paranoid To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. fj np : DAF 'Gold Und Liebe'
"They have become the equivalent of a tolley that didn't flush the first time. They are floating, only just, stinking up the place, but the cistern is being refilled and they will be flushed down the pan, the smell will dissipate and we will never have to think of them again." The Vinster |
it's completely untenable for any OF fan to dispute they are favoured in penalty decisions and the like. none of the halfway bright ones i know do dispute it. they bicker about who gets the most breaks between them, but they concede - because there's no credible alternative - that both get plenty more breaks than the rest.
anyone who seriously denies this is potty.
I think this is worthy of a sticky?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Can we at least split this up into "stonewall" and "probably" decisions? I'm also assuming we are doing this with Hibs as well for comparisons sake?
Hibs = should have had a penalty at Kilmarnock imo. So we're -1 goal, and -1 point. Put them under the "probably" column though.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
I dont think Falkirks one last week was a penalty but he missed it anyway.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage=' To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary |
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2003
I think Falkirks penalty against Rangers was a penalty. The one Celtic got last week was a disgrace. The striker grabs the defender and falls down and gets a penalty. Although, they should have had a penalty not long before that.
Then this week, IMO Hearts should have had a penalty at Ibrox and Dundee Utd had one defo and maybe even another one turned down.
PEG SELLING RADGE
I thought Celtic's PK against St Midden was a stonewaller, i'd have been howling had it been our player and we hadn't got it.
As was said, Hearts should've had one v hun, Dundee Utd should've had two V ciltec. that said, the huns PK v yams was a stonewaller.
McManus goal yesterday sounded like a handball.Havent seen it myself.Anyone?
In the interests of balance (as nobody has rushed to post it
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. ) The Huns were upset by a decision right at the end of yesterday's game where a good goal was chalked off for offside - injury time strike that would have won the cloven hooved ones the game.
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. If you were Walter Smith then you would lose the "good goal" argument based on what he said in some of todays press. He states: "Kris Boyd is not offside as he is walking back and not interfering. We've had this rule for years so the linesman should be able to handle it. From what I saw on Zittelli, Boyd was moving forward not backward, in an offside position, clearly trying to get to the baw that was sailing over his heid(he had no chance as it was too high). It landed sweetly for Beastly, who wasn't in an offside position. So the Linesman was spot on, Boyd was involved in the play. The goal is disallowed! No goal! No goal! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. (in a Nazi-German Commentator from Escape To Victory-stylee) To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
![]() Join Date: Aug 2008
clear goal denied for the gers this week. 1 point more for the Dons than deserved.
In general, disallowed goals/pks not given v the OF are more contentious, because the result tends to hinge on that decision. The OF get plenty decisions against them, but since they're generally winning by 2 goals at the time, no one bats an eyelid, or rather, its forgetten in the mornin's buckie hangover The refs can sometimes be guilty of protecting teams like St Mirren from conceeding that 5th goal in the last 5 minutes... |
Offensively Perceived Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2008
Aye I watched the highlights and it looked like a handball to me. Barstewards!!
Fart of Midlothian To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. Admins Gonnae get Ya, Admins Gonnae Get Ya!! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
What's the latest score then?