Old 17-07-08, 09:45   #41
Ukios Bankios Supersaver Radge

HibeeSocialClub is on the way to a first team debut
Re: New Oasis Tune From 'Dig Out Your Soul'

Originally Posted by alexi View Post
Was big beat evena genre?? It was just a lot of lazy useage of old breaks.Like old Steinski records from the 80's but not as good.

Same goes for Dj Shadow,Cut Chemist,Dj Yoda.Safe white boy hip hop hand made for the student crowd.

Good call,that makes up for you liking that Cicero track.
First time I heard Dj Shadow was in a tiny second hand record store in York,I was not a student and I didn't like Hip Hop (still dont)and I certainly wouldn't read the NME. The track that was playing was Building Steam With a Grain Of Salt, and what I heard was this lovely electronica piano led mixture of Funk,Rock,Jazz,Ambient and soul coming from the speakers. Music is always better if u hear it without prejudice,I never had a fuckin clue who it was nobody had recomended him to me,never new if he was white,black,American or from Mars! What I did know is that it sounded lush to these ears and the use of the samples was very clever.
I think he is closer in musical style to Eno,Vangelis etc than to the likes of NWA,Wu Tang and Public Enemy.
Safe white boy Hip-Hop = Vannila Ice not someone like Shadow

Oh not heard the new Oasis tune,gave up after Morning Glory will check it out seen as Ive hijacked the thread with a Shadow love in.

Brendan-Kian-Stu-Biff-Erin
HibeeSocialClub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 10:08   #42

alexi is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by HibeeSocialClub View Post
First time I heard Dj Shadow was in a tiny second hand record store in York,I was not a student and I didn't like Hip Hop (still dont)and I certainly wouldn't read the NME. The track that was playing was Building Steam With a Grain Of Salt, and what I heard was this lovely electronica piano led mixture of Funk,Rock,Jazz,Ambient and soul coming from the speakers. Music is always better if u hear it without prejudice,I never had a fuckin clue who it was nobody had recomended him to me,never new if he was white,black,American or from Mars! What I did know is that it sounded lush to these ears and the use of the samples was very clever.
I think he is closer in musical style to Eno,Vangelis etc than to the likes of NWA,Wu Tang and Public Enemy.
Safe white boy Hip-Hop = Vannila Ice not someone like Shadow

Oh not heard the new Oasis tune,gave up after Morning Glory will check it out seen as Ive hijacked the thread with a Shadow love in.
What i meant was that he is safe white credible boy hip hop for NME readers. For them DJ Shadow is the acceptable face of Hip Hop. And Ice Ice Baby was a great tune.
Old 17-07-08, 10:26   #43

Originally Posted by Shearer View Post
Faithless are cack
Reverence is IMO a classic mid 90's album.
Old 17-07-08, 10:31   #44

What i meant was that he is safe white credible boy hip .
Maybe it's the "safe white credible" bit I find slightly grating,I think people tend to latch on to this NME thing a bit to much.Since when did music have to be dangerous anyway.
I work on a PICU, my job is dangerous,I once dropped my guitar on my foot whilst playing some Crowded House, which i suppose was dangerous as I was playing without a strap, I once put The Carpenters on in a working mans rugby club-again dangerous! I think what im trying to say is "what makes music unsafe or dangerous"

Old 17-07-08, 10:53   #45

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
all the decent bands in there (and thats not all of them) were well past it by 1996! (with possible exception of the charlatans). primal scream came back to life a few years later, but their tide was out at that point
Dunno about the other bands you mention but you should not include Rage Against The Machine there. They had barely released their second album 'Evil Empire' which debuted at number 1 in several countries and sold millions. They toured extensively after this headlining several major festivals around the world.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 11:01   #46
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

The Carpenters on in a working mans rugby club-again dangerous!
That's pushing the envelope man, well done.

Richard Carpenter was a great producer, those singles are pure honey.
snoots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 11:05   #47

Maybe it's the "safe white credible" bit I find slightly grating,I think people tend to latch on to this NME thing a bit to much.Since when did music have to be dangerous anyway.
I work on a PICU, my job is dangerous,I once dropped my guitar on my foot whilst playing some Crowded House, which i suppose was dangerous as I was playing without a strap, I once put The Carpenters on in a working mans rugby club-again dangerous! I think what im trying to say is "what makes music unsafe or dangerous"
It was mentioned on here a while ago that when Jay Z was on the cover of NME the sales went down. This doesnt happen when josh gets his boat race on the cover.He is the acceptable/cool side of hip hop to the nme mob. Once soemthing is accepted as being cool to them, it becomes safe to like it without fear of being seen as uncool. It also helps that they happen to be white like...Beastie Boys,Eminem,Scratch Perverts. The Prodigy became cool for them when they moved away from their rave sound to a more hardcore sound(the fact the music included guitars probably helpped alot)
Old 17-07-08, 11:12   #48

It was mentioned on here a while ago that when Jay Z was on the cover of NME the sales went down. This doesnt happen when josh gets his boat race on the cover.He is the acceptable/cool side of hip hop to the nme mob. Once soemthing is accepted as being cool to them, it becomes safe to like it without fear of being seen as uncool. It also helps that they happen to be white like...Beastie Boys,Eminem,Scratch Perverts. The Prodigy became cool for them when they moved away from their rave sound to a more hardcore sound(the fact the music included guitars probably helpped alot)
Fair enough I just need to get Rush on the front cover of NME then I'll be completely accepted.....no it's never going to happen is It

Old 17-07-08, 11:21   #49

Fair enough I just need to get Rush on the front cover of NME then I'll be completely accepted.....no it's never going to happen is It
If you or a record company paid enough you could get on the cover easily.
Old 17-07-08, 11:25   #50
Everybody is a Radge

If you or a record company paid enough you could get on the cover easily.
Exactly - the only valid music journalism is either on the net or it's in magazines which are re-evaluating old stuff.

Paying for advertising = editorial coverage, that stinks to me, the NME before 1985 was actually good, then their publisher noticed all the goings on there, had a clear out and it's been a vanity rag ever since. Can't think of one major music mag that isn't the same, accross genres.
Old 17-07-08, 11:31   #51

Originally Posted by snoots View Post
Exactly - the only valid music journalism is either on the net or it's in magazines which are re-evaluating old stuff.

Paying for advertising = editorial coverage, that stinks to me, the NME before 1985 was actually good, then their publisher noticed all the goings on there, had a clear out and it's been a vanity rag ever since. Can't think of one major music mag that isn't the same, accross genres.
I used to buy HHC ( a hip hop mag) but after hearing that certain rappers paid to get their mugs on the cover is stopped buying it. A scottish rapper even paid to get favourable press in it and he was truly gash.

Music journos are like fitba ones. Not enough talent to do the thing they write about.
Old 17-07-08, 12:07   #52

Record Mirror was great.
Old 17-07-08, 12:18   #53

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

Wait, I'm not having this.

The Chemicals, Faithless, Prodigy, DJ Shadow etc seem to only be getting slated here because of the people that like them and not anything to do with their records*. That reeks of music snobbery.

DJ XXX could have the coolest fans on the planet but at the end of the day his music is only listened to people ectoed out at their nut at 5am and those who are more worried about their cool credentials than what they think sounds good. To me that's a scene for safe white boys.

*Except snoots who criticised their DJ'ing.
Old 17-07-08, 12:29   #54

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
Wait, I'm not having this.

The Chemicals, Faithless, Prodigy, DJ Shadow etc seem to only be getting slated here because of the people that like them and not anything to do with their records*. That reeks of music snobbery.

DJ XXX could have the coolest fans on the planet but at the end of the day his music is only listened to people ectoed out at their nut at 5am and those who are more worried about their cool credentials than what they think sounds good. To me that's a scene for safe white boys.

*Except snoots who criticised their DJ'ing.
no,their music is shite too.Especially Fatihless.
Old 17-07-08, 12:34   #55

Great record - is that the remaster where they are giving "Bambu" away free? I had Bambu on an old casette ages ago, good but not as good as POB. River Song is immense.
yeah

pacific ocena blue is amazing,though bambu has a few we gems on it as well

since were kinda talking about them i deffo think the charlatans were listening to this around the time of "telling stories" some total rip offs to be honest
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-08, 12:35   #56
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
Prodigy, DJ Shadow
I like The Prodigy a bit - not hugely, but they are a real band doing what they do and they have grown in an organic way from a proper scene, seems to be nothing fake or pre-planned in what they do. Plus they are fucking nutjobs which always helps. Dunno that much about DJ Shadow's stuff other than he was in Gang Starr ( I looked him up) and they did some good music back in the day .
Old 17-07-08, 12:37   #57

I like The Prodigy a bit - not hugely, but they are a real band doing what they do and they have grown in an organic way from a proper scene, seems to be nothing fake or pre-planned in what they do. Plus they are fucking nutjobs which always helps. Dunno that much about DJ Shadow's stuff other than he was in Gang Starr ( I looked him up) and they did some good music back in the day .
Shadow was never in Gang Starr. DJ Premier was in Gang Starr.
Old 17-07-08, 12:40   #58
Everybody is a Radge

Shadow was never in Gang Starr. DJ Premier was in Gang Starr.
Cheers!!

Shows how much attention I'm paying and how much I know about Hip-Hop (never really buy much but have loads of comp tapes etc) .

I'll check out Shadow's stuff.

Still Premier was getting ripped on here and Gang Starr were ok by me back then.
Old 17-07-08, 12:45   #59

Cheers!!

Shows how much attention I'm paying and how much I know about Hip-Hop (never really buy much but have loads of comp tapes etc) .

I'll check out Shadow's stuff.

Still Premier was getting ripped on here and Gang Starr were ok by me back then.
Aye t'was me who was ripping on him

He is a good producer when he really tries but sometimes he gets lazy and falls into his formulatic beat patterns.

As for Shadow-check out his Brainfreeze stuff or Product Placemant.
Old 17-07-08, 13:11   #60

no,their music is shite too.Especially Fatihless.
In your opinion. Millions disagree..