![]() Join Date: Jun 2008
Andy Murray - Yay or Nay?
I'm surprised there hasn't been any mention of him on here, what with him playing at Wimbledon. I guess there is mixed opinion/disinterest amongst of him here.
Negatives: Playing an imperialist game for the priviledged Playing at Wimbledon - capital of the above game Most probably from an overpriviledged background Positives: Said he was supporting England's opponents in a world cup qualifier Isn't (therefore) that popular amongst the scarey post menapausal Henman crew Is a Hibs fan Is it a yay or nay? It's a not that bothered from me BTW To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Re: Andy Murray - Yay or Nay?
He can be an annoying character but I would like to see him doing well at Wimbledon
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge
Would love to see him get to the final.
Like the lad
![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002
Britains only hope of winning Wimbledon and the lad comes from a country that couldnt give a toss about the sport.
Id like to see him do it. He isnt too popular with middle england so its be one right up them all to see him pull it off. doubt we'll ever see him on a Robinsons advert ,ever. |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. is probably one of the reasons why a British player hasn't won it for so long. Here in Spain it's seen as a sport for all and Rafa Nadal has been on fire this year. Don't really like Nadal but he's a great player and absolutely crushed Federer in the French Open final recently. Grass is another story but he has also won at Queens. Can't see beyond Federer or Nadal but Murray might have an outside chance of the semis. Would like to see him do well. Admittedly, I'm not surprised that "Henman Hill", etc. puts people off but I like tennis. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
They're gone, not here, forgotten The maroon brigade now cry The city is now Hibernian The team that would not die. [copyright: Daddy O'Hibee] To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
Yeah - that's what makes him interesting, I'm not convinced that middle England will take to him.
Good piece about the lad in the SoS from the weekend....'
[Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register] |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 21
He's Scottish, he's a Hibby and he is winner. More talent and prospects at his age than Henman ever had.
I'm not a fan of tennis but I love the irony of a Scot being the best player on these shores for many a year. Similar to a Scot captaining the English cricket team. He seems a wee bit cocky but luck to the lad, you need that in top class sports, especially these days.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
Its a yay from me.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
If we'd ever been interested in that game we'd have murdered the English at it! To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Going back to Denness and Bellshill. I had family there and used to visit 'Wild West Town' way back in the seventies. I remember the local Huns broke into the local cricket club at the time and sprayed the pitch blue. I'll bet Denness appreciated that when he got down to the 'Garden of England' - Kent in England. To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A big 'Yay' from me.
Hibby. Scottish. That's enough To view links or images in this forum your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
He's a boring bassa. Couldnae really care less.
Nearly spat my pint out when the caption on tv today said "vying to become the first Englishman to win Wimbledon since Fred Perry in 1936" though. |
vCash: 500 Thanks: 214
It's a Yay from me.
vCash: 500 Thanks: 20
I've never played, but it seems to me like a good schools' sport (if not full court games all the way through, then tennis ball-skills) or leisure option. While people continue to view it as a posh sport though, we'll struggle to produce players. |
I'm just back from seeing his first match yesterday - a mix of infuriating and inspired. A mixed response from the Wimbledon crowd - he isn't really their 'sort' and has said some daft things about the English and how he prefers the US Open to Wimbledon.
Having said that, he got a rousing reception at the end. Perhaps not so surprising as the next ranked British player has a Wimbledon record of played 7 lost 7! |