Old 22-06-08, 22:28   #1

Euro 08

So who now? My 2 teams are out but on what I've seen I go for Germany v Russia in the Final. I'd like Russia to win but I think the Germans have shown a class for which they are not usually noted.
Old 22-06-08, 22:52   #2

Re: Euro 08

I think it's wide open now. I'd like Spain to win it but Russia and Germany are equally capable . Having said that Turkey will probably win it!!!!
Old 22-06-08, 23:20   #3

I hope Russia win it now..
Old 22-06-08, 23:21   #4

I hope Russia win it now..
I'm getting ion the blinis and smetana
Old 23-06-08, 11:36   #5
Russian Radge

Hibs Resident is on the way to a first team debut

Russia to win!!!

Hibs Resident is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 12:38   #6
Radge in mourning

green_goddess is on the way to a first team debut

I'm sticking with the Spanish. Y Viva Espana

The ONLY dedicated John Simm forum on the web
green_goddess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 13:23   #7

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

I hope Germany win it.
Old 23-06-08, 13:29   #8
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

So who now? My 2 teams are out but on what I've seen I go for Germany v Russia in the Final. I'd like Russia to win but I think the Germans have shown a class for which they are not usually noted.
Certainly against the Portugese, they plodded along a bit before that.

I'm thinking Germany v Russia final, the Russians have been underestimated too but they showed they can mix it up and knock it about against the Dutch.

Hibernian F.C. - We Own The Capital

ZemmamasBarnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 14:21   #9

am_moroccan is on the way to a first team debut

In spite of many injuries and suspended players, Turkay will surprise all.

am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 14:37   #10

Wouldnae mind Turkey or Russia winning it now tbh. Up till Saturday was really hoping for the Dutch to do it since their fitba had been sublime up till that point, but unfortunately not to be.

Russia funnily enough seem to be performing exactly as you would expect tournament winners to be. Bad first game, but then a bit better in their next one, performed really well in a must win game to get out of the group stages, then were tremendous in their first knockout game. Tell you what, the trajectory of their performances and Spains since the gubbing in the first game would suggest a Russian win to me.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 23-06-08, 16:02   #11

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Haven't a clue. Tipped Germany or Portugal to start with and still think the Germans must be favourites, due in the main to their history and winning mentality. It's possible that Turkey could do it but I don't think they can ride their luck for ever and expect the Germans to take care of them in a tight game. Russia were class against the Dutch and if they play like that again they could easily win it. But they can be inconsistent and unpredicatable. Have they maybe peaked? If I had to bet, I'd now go for a Germany v Spain final but this tournament has broken a lot of coupons so I could easily be wrong.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 16:15   #12
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

I hope Russia do it. What an year they have had on the European football map.
I hope Germany do not win, not because I have a dislike of them, but because the other guys play a more uninhibited style of football.

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 17:07   #13

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

I hope Russia do it. What an year they have had on the European football map.I hope Germany do not win, not because I have a dislike of them, but because the other guys play a more uninhibited style of football.
True. I quite fancied the Russians to do something at the start of the tournament because I think the UEFA Cup is a bigger indicator of emerging talent and a truer indicator of a country's footballing standard than the Champions League. Hopefully, Rangers reaching the final is also an indication that decent footballers are emerging in Scotland and that our national team will continue to progress as well. I'd suggest we are some way behind the Russians in terms of flair and technique however.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-08, 18:46   #14

alexi will become famous soon enough

Anyone but Russia or Germany.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-08, 09:40   #15

dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut

WOuld like to see Russia or Spain win it. Was at the Spain Italy match t'other night in the Spain end and the fans were amazing.

Stuck €10 on Russia to get to the final before the tourney at 15/1 though so it's a toughie....

What is that term? : Passion at everything - when you're making that tea, make sure it's the best cup of tea ever. Everything's got to be the nuts.
dangerousdavid is online now   Reply With Quote