Old 17-06-08, 12:31   #1

Running

Am back to the running again (ie, running for exercise as opposed to running away from people).

Since I've long held the theory that the world is designed specifically to annoy me - this particularly applying to work and the folk therein - IMHO there's nothing better for letting of steam than running, aside from a night on the lash.

I find drinking tons of water then some Lucozade power drink stuff helps with running alot, as does eating plenty of pasta, fish and rice.

Any other tips?

Old 17-06-08, 12:39   #2

SG7nil will become famous soon enough
Re: Running

Am back to the running again (ie, running for exercise as opposed to running away from people).

Since I've long held the theory that the world is designed specifically to annoy me - this particularly applying to work and the folk therein - IMHO there's nothing better for letting of steam than running, aside from a night on the lash.

I find drinking tons of water then some Lucozade power drink stuff helps with running alot, as does eating plenty of pasta, fish and rice.

Any other tips?
Having met me, (if your memory serves you - Tamsons a few times) you'll know that I am incapable of running anywhere (I break sweat running a bath!), however this site....

can possibly make your run more enjoyable.. It'll calculate how far you're running and stuff which can give you figures to compare to see if you are getting any better!

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 13:25   #3

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

I would seriously discourage anyone from using a treadmill over a prolonged period of time. I was doing about 40km a week at the gym in the build-up to the marathon last month and my left knee packed in 2 weeks prior to the race.
This could have been due to me overdoing it mind you. Still made it round the course but had to run through the pain barrier for the second half of the race.

Energy drinks are the muts nuts for distance running, as are energy bars, jelly babies, or anything sugary. That "MapMyRun" website is excellent by the way, just found out the run I do from Corstorphine to Haymarket and back is only just under 5 miles- I thought it was a lot further!
Old 17-06-08, 13:51   #4

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

I would seriously discourage anyone from using a treadmill over a prolonged period of time. I was doing about 40km a week at the gym in the build-up to the marathon last month and my left knee packed in 2 weeks prior to the race.
This could have been due to me overdoing it mind you. Still made it round the course but had to run through the pain barrier for the second half of the race.

Energy drinks are the muts nuts for distance running, as are energy bars, jelly babies, or anything sugary. That "MapMyRun" website is excellent by the way, just found out the run I do from Corstorphine to Haymarket and back is only just under 5 miles- I thought it was a lot further!
Sorry for bursting your bubble mate!!

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 13:55   #5
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

Any other tips?
I loved running along the canal bank towards Ratho from Sighthill in my prime, banana and water before, plenty of water and a mars bar after, now i just roll from a to b, then eat rolls wth blt. Running on pavements and hard surfaces, takes its toll over the years, look after dem bones and joints. Cod liver oil capsules. Fish.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 13:55   #6

It's surprising what decent music you thoroughly enjoy does. An instant lift.

Old 17-06-08, 14:01   #7
The Dancin Radge

Daddy'O'Hibee is on the way to a first team debut

That is spot on, watch the fecking traffic though. CHANSON DA MOUR --RAT A TAT THEN FLAT. Dalton lorry nearly got me.

Daddy'O'Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 14:26   #8

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

Totally, if you make up a decent playlist for your ipod/MP3 player it gives you a big lift when your starting to feel knackered.
Old 17-06-08, 15:42   #9

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough

In January I couldn't run for any more than 5 mins on a treadmill so I got my finger out and set myself the goal of running a marathon.

I done it but the training was boring as hell. You've got to fill your ipod up with dozen's of long podcasts, find somewhere scenic to run and find a mate to run with. Set a goal too, hard core exercise is pointless if your aimless. Should be plenty half or full marathons and 10k's round your way to enter.
Old 17-06-08, 15:59   #10

Any other tips?
Don't you drop a lot ?
Old 17-06-08, 17:17   #11
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Any other tips?
Aye! Get the bus.

Zitelli`s Heid! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 20:31   #12

KABULHIBBY is on the way to a first team debut

Any other tips?
Have at least 2, preferably 3, sets of running shoes and rotate their usage daily. If you plan to do a long slow run on a Sunday (might be a bit too keen unless you're planning distance running) then do at least 3-5 miles off road as it will ease the pressure on your knees/hips.

Take a running bottle filled with rehydrate of choice and get used to drinking whilst you run.

If you don't feel like running on a particular day force yourself to go out and try for at least a mile or so, if you still don't feel like it then stop, you'll be surprised how much your attitude can change once you're out on the road.

Most of all never think of it as exercise or a chore, look on it as personal time in which you can sort out some of the niggling problems that may be bothering you or just use it as a needed break from the drudgery of life or the office. Also try and get a running partner, makes it harder to put off that days run if somebody else is relying on you as well
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
KABULHIBBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 20:46   #13

LeGod4 is on the way to a first team debut

Some nice trainers perhaps.

LeGod4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 21:41   #14
We Are The Ultras! Ya Radge

Laughlan is on the way to a first team debut

79p body fuel powder at asda, its a lucozade thingy.

You get them in a wee packet thing abd stir it into water and down it, gives you helfy energy.

Laughlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-08, 23:54   #15
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Motivation is key.

Given your physical location, might I suggest grabbing a tire iron and running down the nearest politicrat you can find.
Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-08, 00:22   #16

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

Get a decent pair of Asics and a wind cheater for winter. Don't be tempted to spend money on the nonsense you see other runners using (daft girly legging things, special water bottles, batman gadget belts etc.), they are for amateurs/posers.

Don't run on a treadmill, it's not actual running.

Avoid the Meadows or similar flat places where people who can barely walk attempt to run in full tracksuits/hats/crap trainers/sunglasses.

Don't be put off going out when it's raining, it's actually nicer once you get going, especially if you're a sweaty bassa. Like me

Finally - find a way to avoid nipple chaffing on long runs and tell me what it is. Apparently plasters are good but they're a no-no if you've got a hairy chest.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
Old 18-06-08, 00:51   #17

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

I'd say avoid running a circuit, where you can see how far you've gone, and how far you've still to go. I find running round the Meadows to be really difficult, as it's a circuit like that. However, I don't have the right mentality to take on huge amounts of running anyway.

I'm trying to plan my own running for the summer (off-season for basketball), and looking for any runs around Musselburgh that anyone knows of?
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-08, 01:11   #18
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

can possibly make your run more enjoyable.. It'll calculate how far you're running and stuff which can give you figures to compare to see if you are getting any better!
looked at this, and found its sister site mapmyride.com, aimed at cyclists, so will be using it ( and when i decide to start running to i'll use that one)

Get a decent pair of Asics and a wind cheater for winter. Don't be tempted to spend money on the nonsense you see other runners using (daft girly legging things, special water bottles, batman gadget belts etc.), they are for amateurs/posers.

Don't run on a treadmill, it's not actual running.

Avoid the Meadows or similar flat places where people who can barely walk attempt to run in full tracksuits/hats/crap trainers/sunglasses.

Don't be put off going out when it's raining, it's actually nicer once you get going, especially if you're a sweaty bassa. Like me

Finally - find a way to avoid nipple chaffing on long runs and tell me what it is. Apparently plasters are good but they're a no-no if you've got a hairy chest.
lamisil(sp) has released a chuffing cream, advert came on as i was reading your post

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-08, 01:15   #19

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

People run for different reasons I suppose, in my case I wanted to keep Tonto's expanding waistband under control which didn't require dedication or even a lot of stamina. In Georgia the best time of the day for running is before it gets hot and if I can get up at 5am to run ANYBODY can, it's no a big deal. Hugely enjoyable to have a wee amble down by the river at that time of the morning, and sets you up for the day.
Bartok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-08, 08:03   #20

People run for different reasons I suppose, in my case I wanted to keep Tonto's expanding waistband under control which didn't require dedication or even a lot of stamina. In Georgia the best time of the day for running is before it gets hot and if I can get up at 5am to run ANYBODY can, it's no a big deal. Hugely enjoyable to have a wee amble down by the river at that time of the morning, and sets you up for the day.

I would have thought that to have the words "Bartok" and "running" in the same sentence, the word "police" would also have to be included.

I tried it once - in Houston - got about half a mile before the carbon monoxide got to me, so stopped off at Timothy's Bar where I found that Miller's in a chilled glass was much more invigorating.