![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2004
Casino cash: £5429 vCash: 46000 Thanks: 91
She devil or supermum?
There was a bit on BBC breakfast news today about a mum who let her 9 year old son take a 20 minute walk home from school every day.
The lad was obvioulsy happy with the arrangement and started to pester his mum to take him to a place he didn't know a bit further away and let him find his own way home. After several times of asking the mum did what the boy wanted and left him in an unfamiliar place with 20 dollars and left him to find his own way home. Stopping to ask directions twice he got the subway for 3 stops then a bus home. When the mum wrote about it she was vilified. People started saying she was a terrible mum and "what if...................". It was news headlines for a bit with most people against the mum. Personally I think she has done her son a great service. He will have a confidence that few kids his age will and the experience will do him good. Any thoughts? Sorry, can't find a link. |
Casino cash: £32103 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: She devil or supermum?
I used to walk to and from school without my mum from primary 1.
Me too from day two.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £145 vCash: 10000
Me three..
I think that most bouncers over a certain age will all attest to the same story... It was bloody unusual to see anyone dropped off at primary school when I was there. I walked up and back, about 15 mins each way (and used to run home at lunchtime and back again until about primary 3 - when my ma got a job and I started school dinners). Once she was working I had a set of keys on a string round my neck so I could get in when I got home. In the summer holidays we had to make our own lunches too, usually something like tinned hamburgers in gravy (do these things still exist?)..... Was the world really such a different place back then? P.S. Im 47 btw (today in fact!)
Happy Birthday to the resident pedant ![]() Have a good one ![]() |
#6 | ||
HGV Learner RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
Casino cash: £25621 vCash: 17272
This kid will be independent and probably have the right kind off street smarts compaired to kids who only know where the local off licence and chippies are AND
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi Skaramoosh, ya radge, kin yae dae the fandango?
Casino cash: £9539 vCash: 10000
I walked from P2 onwards I think, over two main roads as well! GASP!! TV reporting on the ikes of the cases of Robert Black and Peter Tobin make Mum's completely paranoid. oh.. ![]()
Casino cash: £9426 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
I always walked to school myself too,I honestly think that if wasn't for the media today that most folk would be happy letting their kids have much more freedom.
Crimes against kids are no higher now than they ever were,they're just reported on more........ Oh aye Hibby birthday ![]()
HGV Learner RADGE
I was sent to martial arts when i was a kid, and i was taught what to do in certain situations, nowadays you don't hear off it so much
Casino cash: £3471 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
My daughter who's just turned 9 walks to school with her 2 cousins everyday on their todd...and have done for a couple of years.They walk about a mile and not once have they had any bother.
Tetris Playing Radge
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Casino cash: £15716 vCash: 10000
if you tried to abduct a 10yr old in bits of edinburgh or say london, they would pull a knife on you and steal your watch, wallet and van |
Casino cash: £4930 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 17
Another here that was walking it alone to Primary after the first day. Times were different then though so I'm not sure it's a useful comparison.
I do think the mother is in the right. Kids need to learn to stand on their own two feet and be self-relient and independent wherever is possible. |
Casino cash: £17520 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
I dont think she is a bad mother at all. Before I moved to Broomhouse I stayed in Temple Park Crescent and went to Craiglockhart Primary School. Me and my mate Billy Thomson [it was his dad that introduced me to Hibs because my dad - a yam - couldnt be arsed taking me to any games, thank fukk] we neveer got into any bother, maybe fell in the canal a few times, ripped holes in knees climbing trees instead of going straight home or stuff like that, but never anyone approaching us or anything like that. Billy must have been an ugly child.
As Piltonstany says, I think most of the increaase in crimes against kids is because they are now reported more and not because there actually are more. I have bugger all to back that statement up btw. So again, no, I dont think she is a bad mother at all. Taking a wee chance the same as all our mums did when we were little but thats all.
HGV Learner RADGE
And you are more than likely right on the bold part ![]()
Semolina Pilchards radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
Casino cash: £670 vCash: 10000
#17 | |||
Casino cash: £186 vCash: 10000
![]() Happy Birthday SG ![]() So you feckers think you had it rough. Eh? eh,eh,eh,eh,eh. Well let me tell you something. I had to get up 5 hours before I went to bed to cross 44 main roads a motorway and swim through a canal which was infested by man eating pike and baggy minnows. I had to do a paper round , a milk round and a window cleaning round. When I eventually got to school I got battered round the heed with a 4x2 with a nail sticking oot the end. It got worse when I left nursery ![]() ![]() ![]() By the way SG (Resident Pedant) I believe the tasty meat dish you are referring to may well be Goblin Beefburgers in gravy ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() I thank you ![]()
More reason if needed, to drink more beer. So I said to the wee blonde beer drinking babe, sorry small blonde beer drinking babe.I'm off home soon and there is far too much beer to be drunk. Poor lassie was devastated ![]()
|||
Casino cash: £2986 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 15
My daughter, who is 10, has been getting herself to school and back since she was 9. To be honest, don't know how confident I'd feel in New York, but I'm a bit puzzled by the demonisation of the woman
![]() (I would say, though, that the traffic thing stresses me out a bit. I was trying to teach her about safe places to cross the road when she started travelling by herself, and we fairly quickly established that there were none - either where we live, or at school. And drivers' - PARENTS!!!! - parking and driving behaviour outside schools verges on the pathological. Like many of you, I walked to school from day 1, but traffic was thin on the ground, and certainly not double parked outside school gates.) P.S. Happy Birthday |
![]() ![]() ![]() |