Casino cash: £9491 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Boy faces boot from Cubs after refusing Queen's oath on religious grounds
Exclusive: Boy faces boot from Cubs after refusing Queen's oath on religious grounds - The Daily Record
Always did seem a strange rule that you can't be a certain religion to become part of the Monarchy,Just aswell they have zero power in this country though if being part of the Monarchy is a job then surely it's religious descrimination ![]()
Reggae Reggae Sauce Radge
Casino cash: £15177 vCash: 10000
Re: Boy faces boot from Cubs after refusing Queen's oath on religious grounds
He did wonder who kept spitting on the union jack every week though ![]() Yer right about the act of settlement. Legislation that was a matter of national security for England in the late 17th/early 18th century, but an absolute joke now. typical lazy journalism too. the 1701 act doesn't insist on a protestant monarch, only that they aren't catholic. being a buddhist would be ok, for example. His Akela must be an OB. |
The Dancin Radge
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Casino cash: £100 vCash: 10000
I think the rules changed on that one, my Grandson took his pledge to God, multiculturism nowadays, muslims to Allah, atheists and so on, bairns like tents and feckin about in the countryside, i suppose thats the main attraction. They can forsake the queen.
Scouts granted right to dob-dob for Allah - Times Online
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge
Casino cash: £9965 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Blimey. Kids are pretty mature these days are they not?
I'm sure I had lots of things on my mind when I was eight years old, but certainly that wouldn't have been one of them. Sounds to me like the kid is just doing what he has been told to do by his mum or dad. I doubt if he gives a toss. Probably just wants to play football with his mates. Now he is a pawn of publicity hungry parents who should really get a life. Either that or maybe I'm misjudging him and I was just a wee laddie when I was eight.
![]() For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Casino cash: £3501 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
Seems a bit of a shame that an 8 year old has an opinion on the oath itself.When I was that age I would not give a monkeys about such things, I'd be more concerned about essing about with my mates.
In saying that, it does look like it needs updated.
The Dancin Radge
Casino cash: £3501 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 4
dunno about that, but he was a nazi iirc.
Hitler youth movements in the early days of the 3rd reich do seem to have been remarkably similar to cubs/scouts.
![]() ![]() no jews no catholics ![]() joke btw. |
Casino cash: £4607 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 6
I also refused to swear allegiance to the queen of England when I was a Cub and then a Scout.
iirc it didn't cause any problems whatsoever a few decades ago so why should it now, it's obvious that this particular Leader is a Hun, simple as that! |
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Casino cash: £7320 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
I also find it a bit odd that the boy was reported to have objected on religious grounds when it was the "Queen bit" rather than the "God bit" he had a problem with. I'm not naive enough to be unaware of the Queen's role in terms of Protestant loyalty but in the largely moderate Protestant society I grew up in (North East Scotland) there were plenty who wanted nothing to do with the monarchy. Just got the OB thing. Thought it meant O'Brien for a minute. |
from some guardian article
We have an Obscene Publications Act, to be sure, but what we mean by obscenity is another grey area, and subject to fashion. Baden-Powell, the founder of the scout movement, liked to look at photos of nude schoolboys with his friend, a schoolmaster and keen amateur snapper of his pupils. This seemed perfectly natural to them, part of the healthy outdoor life. Now they would get into serious trouble. ![]() |
Finished that Fangando yit, Skaramoosh?
Casino cash: £9594 vCash: 10000
Me as well. We went to the camp at a place called the BARRWOOD , and our leader tried to make us light a fire without any paper. He went away into the woods for a pish and came back to a roaring fire! However, the Fiesta that one of our guys had sneaked into his hold-all was sorely missed that weekend.
think it was either before being sworn in or before we could go to camp. canny mind. |
Casino cash: £32248 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
I wouldn't either on political grounds but the law won't back him up. Either join something else if you don't agree with the ethos or lie.
Much of the rest of it was pretty crap as I recall. |
![]() worth it for the 2 annual fitba tourneys though. And for turning the ref's face beetroot red by blessing myself in a penalty shoot-out before saving 3 ![]() |