Old 12-06-08, 10:04   #1

Child Poverty

I read an opinion recently that the reason that the number of children in poverty has increased under Labour is that the poor are having more kids because the benefits will support it. Doesn't stack up does it?
Old 12-06-08, 10:35   #2

hattrick baker is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Child Poverty

With opinions like that, no wonder britain is more fukd up than Pete Doc after a weekend on everything

I find it staggering, some of the guff that gets written about the poor in this country, while mp's spend the likes of £10,000 for a new kitchen, off OUR money, and £1mill to pay people in his private firm! Why dont these people get charged with fraud, like the poor certainly would, even for a couple of hundred quid to feed their bairns... Oh i get it, they are not supposed to have any.
Old 12-06-08, 10:55   #3

Originally Posted by hattrick baker View Post
With opinions like that, no wonder britain is more fukd up than Pete Doc after a weekend on everything

I find it staggering, some of the guff that gets written about the poor in this country, while mp's spend the likes of £10,000 for a new kitchen, off OUR money, and £1mill to pay people in his private firm! Why dont these people get charged with fraud, like the poor certainly would, even for a couple of hundred quid to feed their bairns... Oh i get it, they are not supposed to have any.
Are wealthier people having fewer kids and poorer people more kids? Dunno.
Old 12-06-08, 15:42   #4
Mclaren F1 Radge

Livi_hibee will become famous soon enough

dunno how thats happened, people on low incomes get money thrown at them
Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 17:20   #5

What's the definition of child poverty anyway? Is it absolute or relative poverty
Old 12-06-08, 17:34   #6

Originally Posted by Livi_hibee View Post
dunno how thats happened, people on low incomes get money thrown at them
Really, what do you class "low income" and what do they get thrown at them?

Do you honestly think some one goes out to have a kid, just to get more burroo money? Never heard so much nonsense, do you think what the gov't gives you, will give somewone a good life? you'r on a different planet.
If what you'r saying bears any fruit at all, how come they are poor?

And by the way im not on benefits or poor.
Old 12-06-08, 17:50   #7
Mclaren F1 Radge

Really, what do you class "low income" and what do they get thrown at them?

Do you honestly think some one goes out to have a kid, just to get more burroo money? Never heard so much nonsense, do you think what the gov't gives you, will give somewone a good life? you'r on a different planet.
If what you'r saying bears any fruit at all, how come they are poor?

And by the way im not on benefits or poor.
well i work closely with the benfits system and know exactly what people get.

while i wont go into specifics people with children (i consider a low income as under £20000) can claim child tax credits, working tax credits (with childcare allowances up to 80%), child benefit, housing beneift, council tax benefit, NHS exemption certificates, maternity allowance, maternity grants, childcare vouchers, child trust fund and thats just off the top of my head!

i wouls say thats a lot of money dont you?
Old 12-06-08, 18:21   #8

while i wont go into specifics people with children (i consider a low income as under £20000) can claim child tax credits, working tax credits (with childcare allowances up to 80%), child benefit, housing beneift, council tax benefit, NHS exemption certificates, maternity allowance, maternity grants, childcare vouchers, child trust fund and thats just off the top of my head!

The stuff in bold is sweeties.
Working tax credits? If a family has a COMBINED income of £15,000 they get nothing.
EVERYONE gets child benefit, only clause is, you must have kids.
EVERYONE gets child tax credits, how much you earn depends how much you get tho.
You won't go into specifics about people with children
Thays what this thread is about!
Old 12-06-08, 18:26   #9
Mclaren F1 Radge

The stuff in bold is sweeties.
Working tax credits? If a family has a COMBINED income of £15,000 they get nothing.
EVERYONE gets child benefit, only clause is, you must have kids.
EVERYONE gets child tax credits, how much you earn depends how much you get tho.
You won't go into specifics about people with children
Thays what this thread is about!
the stuff in bold is sweeties, child trust fund is worth up to £750. hardly sweeties now is it?

check your figures on working tax crdits again, cos you are well off target.

yes everyone gets child benefit, but thats part of the point i was making.

CTC can be worth an extra £3-5000 for a low family income

they can claim back 80% of childcare,

how much more help do you want the goverment to give, as bad as labour has been in recent years one thing they have done is improve the benefits system for people on low incomes

when i said sepcifics i meant i wasnt going to mention any cases iv dealt with
Old 12-06-08, 18:44   #10

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

I earn less than £20,000,have a child that doesn't live with me,i pay a well fair amount to her mum and have the same if not more living costs yet i'm entitled to feck all.
Guess what her mum is entitled to despite working and living with someone (I don't begrudge her for it,I want the best for my child.....)
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 12-06-08, 18:49   #11
Mclaren F1 Radge

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post
I earn less than £20,000,have a child that doesn't live with me,i pay a well fair amount to her mum and have the same if not more living costs yet i'm entitled to feck all.
Guess what her mum is entitled to despite working and living with someone................
i know what you mean, thats where there seems to be a flaw in the system, the benefits system doesnt see you as the main carer of the child therefore not entitled to the same benefits as the mother as the money is already being paid out for the child.

iv been over that with folk in the past, but unless someone from the top of the tree (the PM or chancellor) does something there is nothing folk can give you
Old 12-06-08, 18:54   #12

the stuff in bold is sweeties, child trust fund is worth up to £750. hardly sweeties now is it?

check your figures on working tax crdits again, cos you are well off target.

yes everyone gets child benefit, but thats part of the point i was making.

CTC can be worth an extra £3-5000 for a low family income

they can claim back 80% of childcare,

how much more help do you want the goverment to give, as bad as labour has been in recent years one thing they have done is improve the benefits system for people on low incomes

when i said sepcifics i meant i wasnt going to mention any cases iv dealt with
Oh ive checked, what i find is that the people you deal with in the tax office are clueless imbeciles, the daft gits are still trying to get money back off me from nearly 5years ago, i sent myself and missus's necessary paperwork about our income to tax office, they sent it back saying what we were entitled to, 10 months later it suddenly stopped. Reason- we were earning to much to qualify for w/t/c and they wanted it back
When we pointed out that it was them who done it all for us, thier hilarious reply was... we should have knew. So if it was too complicated for them, how is your layman supposed to know?
My solicitor and i are looking forward to the day in court, but alas i don't think they could stand the embaressmernt.Each person you speak to on the phone tells you something totally different, the words thick as mince springs to mind. And people wonder why our country is fecked.

And the child trust fund is for everyone as well, which is a one off payment of £250 per child and goes into an acc till their 18. Minted eh?
I'm no politician and know nothing of the countries economics, but to say you don't know why there can be poor people, when they get money thrown at them is, well laughable.
Phew, rant over
Old 12-06-08, 19:01   #13
Mclaren F1 Radge

Oh ive checked, what i find is that the people you deal with in the tax office are clueless imbeciles, the daft gits are still trying to get money back off me from nearly 5years ago, i sent myself and missus's necessary paperwork about our income to tax office, they sent it back saying what we were entitled to, 10 months later it suddenly stopped. Reason- we were earning to much to qualify for w/t/c and they wanted it back
When we pointed out that it was them who done it all for us, thier hilarious reply was... we should have knew. So if it was too complicated for them, how is your layman supposed to know?
My solicitor and i are looking forward to the day in court, but alas i don't think they could stand the embaressmernt.Each person you speak to on the phone tells you something totally different, the words thick as mince springs to mind. And people wonder why our country is fecked.

And the child trust fund is for everyone as well, which is a one off payment of £250 per child and goes into an acc till their 18. Minted eh?
I'm no politician and know nothing of the countries economics, but to say you don't know why there can be poor people, when they get money thrown at them is, well laughable.
Phew, rant over

get your facts right, depending on your circumstances you can get 3 £250 payments into the account.

the benefits i mentioned above go into 1000's of punds a year for people and its a hell of a lot more than people in other countries get,

What more do you want the goverment to do??

rise the benefits rates? already done that.

add more benefits to the system? already done that.

reduce council tax rates on people with low income? already done that.

help with rent? already done that.

for me its other people turn to take more responsibillity on whether they can actually afford a child. and if they can there is more than enough help there if things go pear shaped
Old 12-06-08, 19:10   #14

Guess what her mum is entitled to despite working and living with someone (I don't begrudge her for it,I want the best for my child.....)
Folk should make sure theyre staying together before having kids , i've got a car to run never mind paying for other folks bairns
Old 12-06-08, 19:17   #15

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
I read an opinion recently that the reason that the number of children in poverty has increased under Labour is that the poor are having more kids because the benefits will support it. Doesn't stack up does it?
i think poverty has got worse but i doubt that's the cause. it's more likely to be because labour are rubbish.

P Toynbee, Guardian, Dec 06
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 19:24   #16

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

i know what you mean, thats where there seems to be a flaw in the system, the benefits system doesnt see you as the main carer of the child therefore not entitled to the same benefits as the mother as the money is already being paid out for the child.

iv been over that with folk in the past, but unless someone from the top of the tree (the PM or chancellor) does something there is nothing folk can give you
A pretty major flaw if you ask me
No rights as a Dad,No financial help for being a Dad yet expected to financially support my child (Which i've no probs doing,It's the principle that stinks)

Nae wonder folk demonstrate wi costumes on

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Folk should make sure theyre staying together before having kids,i've got a car to run never mind paying for other folks bairns
I said that to her at the time mate but she still pissed off
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 12-06-08, 19:28   #17
Mclaren F1 Radge

A pretty major flaw if you ask me
No rights as a Dad,No financial help for being a Dad yet expected to financially support my child (Which i've no probs doing,It's the principle that stinks)

Nae wonder folk demonstrate wi costumes on
are we to expect you to be on top of the scottish parliment in a superman costume on any time soon
Old 12-06-08, 19:31   #18

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
btw i think i know where you read this, why not just fess up!

P Toynbee, Guardian, Dec 06
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 19:45   #19

get your facts right, depending on your circumstances you can get 3 £250 payments into the account.

the benefits i mentioned above go into 1000's of punds a year for people and its a hell of a lot more than people in other countries get,

What more do you want the goverment to do??

rise the benefits rates? already done that.

add more benefits to the system? already done that.

reduce council tax rates on people with low income? already done that.

help with rent? already done that.

for me its other people turn to take more responsibillity on whether they ca