Old 09-06-08, 19:44   #1

Casino cash: £10876
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
UEFA challenges free Euro football

Tell them tae ram it........

Broadcasting - News - UEFA challenges free Euro football - Digital Spy
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 09-06-08, 19:47   #2

Casino cash: £4567
vCash: 220739400
Re: UEFA challenges free Euro football

Originally Posted by PILTONSTANY View Post
Is it fair that one company is allowed to bid, but another isn't? Whether we like it or not Sky and Setanta have as much right to bid, and show football as the BBC or one of ITVs companies.
Old 09-06-08, 19:49   #3
bring back Landells Radge

Casino cash: £16984
vCash: 19000

personally i would love to see sky get a chance at the euro's or world cup.

i would bet my years wages they would do a much better job than the huddies presenting this years tournie
Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-08, 19:58   #4

Casino cash: £10876
Rep Power: 18 PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
Is it fair that one company is allowed to bid, but another isn't? Whether we like it or not Sky and Setanta have as much right to bid, and show football as the BBC or one of ITVs companies.
It's some government rule that some major sporting events have to be shown on free telly......

Originally Posted by Livi_hibee View Post
personally i would love to see sky get a chance at the euro's or world cup.

i would bet my years wages they would do a much better job than the huddies presenting this years tournie
Better job or no,It would take away folks chance of watching the games.....

There's folk,kids etc that can't afford Sky that should get the chance to watch too.
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
Old 09-06-08, 20:01   #5
bring back Landells Radge

Casino cash: £16984
vCash: 19000

It's some government rule that some major sporting events have to be shown on free telly......

Better job or no,It would take away folks chance of watching the games.....

There's folk,kids etc that can't afford Sky that should get the chance to watch too.

i understand that but its supposed to be a free market, when its not.

i agree that the home nations should be free, but if ky or setanta want to bid for the other games, they should be allowed to do so
Livi_hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-08, 21:07   #6
Off the fags and feeling Radge

Casino cash: £5066
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Thats a joke.Basically UEFA saying fcuk all fans who cannot afford Satellite TV, we'd make a few more shillings out of SKY and thats all we care about.

Football the people game?Aye,right.
Old 10-06-08, 00:45   #7
HGV Learner RADGE

Casino cash: £26481
vCash: 17272
Rep Power: 16 madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

The whole point to FTA only broadcasts was to give everyone access to the games, especially when it comes to home nations being in the comp,

and it is the whole comp that is important not just those games the home nations are involved in,

And as the rights are decided before the qualifiers are finished you can't say only FTA when home nations are involved, and anyone when not,

It is the same with the six nations, the grand national
Old 10-06-08, 16:47   #8
Look aboot ye! radge

Casino cash: £11094

Simple this. The World cup and the European championships are the pinnicle sporting events for the game that the nations of these islands gave to the world. Football is by far and away our most popular sport

Hence, they should always been under the "crown jewels" rule. Especially the world cup.

The only rule I would bring is that the commentators and half time pundits cant mention England if they have not qualified.
Old 10-06-08, 22:43   #9
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £6280

Originally Posted by Stirlinghibee View Post
Simple this. The World cup and the European championships are the pinnicle sporting events for the game that the nations of these islands gave to the world. Football is by far and away our most popular sport

Hence, they should always been under the "crown jewels" rule. Especially the world cup.

The only rule I would bring is that the commentators and half time pundits cant mention England if they have not qualified.
According to Harry Redknapp, after the Sweden game, it is unbelievable that England aren't there and if they had been then they would have been up there with Spain, Germany, Holland and Portugal as the stars of the show.

Still they wonder why we cheer when they get fucked