Old 30-05-08, 22:03   #1

O'Driscoll is on the way to a first team debut
Glasvegas single Geraldine

I've been listening to it on XFM and it is not out yet but its the best single I've heard in years. What do other bouncers think?
Old 31-05-08, 08:08   #2

The__Proclaimer will become famous soon enough
Re: Glasvegas single Geraldine

It's a wee bit 'same again' for me. Mind you 'Daddy's Gone' was one of the most heartfelt, tear jerking, beautiful but haunting singles of the decade so it's not a bad tune to say the same as. I fucking love it. If you've not heard it big man...

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

As a sidenote, I saw them support the Dirty Pretty Things a couple of year ago. Then they sounded like surf era Beach Boys on Prozak - plenty brass, harmonies and fruity gear on. Dunno what happened but they were top notch, maybe more to offer than the singles suggest.
Old 31-05-08, 08:19   #3

O'Driscoll is on the way to a first team debut

This is the first time I've heard them but they remind me of many great Glasgow bands with their full on pop sound.
Old 31-05-08, 10:43   #4

i think they're alright but think a few folk are going over the top about them,alan mcgee in particular

i seen them supporting dirty pretty things a while back and they were dressed like something out of guys and dolls or grease
Old 31-05-08, 11:18   #5
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.

HailHail will become famous soon enough

Daddy's gone is great, amazing lyrics. They were very tight on jools holland singing it a few weeks ago. I like them. Ice cream van's awrite too.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-08, 11:30   #6

buckie hasnae upset anyone -yet

daddy's gone is a belter, best way i can describe it is The Proclaimers mixed with Jesus and Mary Chain and thats no bad thing.
buckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-08, 21:14   #7

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by buckie View Post
daddy's gone is a belter, best way i can describe it is The Proclaimers mixed with Jesus and Mary Chain and thats no bad thing.
Yep, reminds me of JAMC as well.
Old 01-06-08, 18:13   #8

dangerousdavid is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by The__Proclaimer View Post
It's a wee bit 'same again' for me. Mind you 'Daddy's Gone' was one of the most heartfelt, tear jerking, beautiful but haunting singles of the decade so it's not a bad tune to say the same as. I fucking love it. If you've not heard it big man...

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

As a sidenote, I saw them support the Dirty Pretty Things a couple of year ago. Then they sounded like surf era Beach Boys on Prozak - plenty brass, harmonies and fruity gear on. Dunno what happened but they were top notch, maybe more to offer than the singles suggest.
Didn't happen to be at Liquid Rooms? Seen them there myself and was pretty impressed with them.

What is that term? : Passion at everything - when you're making that tea, make sure it's the best cup of tea ever. Everything's got to be the nuts.
dangerousdavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 09:01   #9
Not Really All That Radge

Looby-Lou is on the way to a first team debut

I Love them!! Daddy's Gone and It's My Own Cheating Heart That Makes Me Cry are brilliant! And their version of Be My Baby! Cannae get enough of them!!

Looby-Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 09:50   #10

TattooedHibee has a spectacular aura about

I think Glasvegas are the dourest bastards I've ever seen? What's with the fucking image?

Old 02-06-08, 18:10   #11

Originally Posted by Looby-Lou View Post
And their version of Be My Baby! Cannae get enough of them!!
would quite like to hear that-any links?

spector is the first thought that pops into your mind when you first hear them(i presume spector first produced it)

having listened to xfm for the first time in yonks today and hearing this on the wireless at work made it sound so much more uplifting
Old 02-06-08, 18:13   #12

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post

spector is the first thought that pops into your mind when you first hear them(i presume spector first produced it)

having listened to xfm for the first time in yonks today and hearing this on the wireless at work made it sound so much more uplifting
PM Your email addy and I'll send you it in mp3 format in the morning if you want?
Old 02-06-08, 18:38   #13

The Hibby Pirate is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post

It's available on i-Tunes (although it'll cost you £0.79).
Old 03-06-08, 10:57   #14

I'll send you it for nowt
Old 03-06-08, 17:27   #15

TommyPreston will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Looby-Lou View Post
I'll send you it for nowt
Copyright laws

Fantastic Expectations Amazing Revelations
TommyPreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-08, 18:14   #16

hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut

Daddys Gone is class, not heard many others that many times. Supposed to be the next best thing?

Playing at T in the Park in the Future tent.

Found seated under the Gantry.
hibeesbounceross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-08, 23:31   #17

Old Grantonian is on the way to a first team debut

I dont get this load of Tom Kite, saw them supporting DPT at the corn exchange and they were horrendous, Im sure the female drummer wasnt using sticks and was using pom poms. sound improved greatly after relocating out at the bar
Old Grantonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-08, 07:28   #18

Greytom is on the way to a first team debut

aye I discovered them on lastfm. pretty impressed tbh.
Greytom is offline   Reply With Quote