Old 30-05-08, 00:31   #1

Haruki is on the way to a first team debut
Fav soul song?

My soul brothers, my soul sisters, I know how hard this one is to answer due to the legions of classic soul songs out there but try.

I love this genre. If I'm in a bar with any soul music on the juke box then any woman in it is mine due to my head weaving, face licking soul moves. Hell yeah.

I contemplated posting my top hundred but have whittle it down to two;

2) Marvin : Too busy thinking 'bout my baby

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TJQXmdRsNg[/youtube]

1) The Temptations : Get Ready. "Got Ready" to this one 672 times in a row when I was younger, my brothers and sisters. Best song I've ever heard.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQdSJXPDtjs[/youtube]
Old 30-05-08, 02:24   #2

Tibs will become famous soon enough
Re: Fav soul song?

Good thead. Great genre of music. Really hard to choose favourties, so many to choose from

1. Tripping Out by Curtis Mayfield. Though pretty much everything he did was brilliant

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCR6ecWb064[/youtube]

2. Playing Your Game - Barry White

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykh78ivd5lI[/youtube]

3. Not sure if this counts as soul, but love this instrumental by Isaac Hayes - Ike's Mood (also completes the Mellow Mellow theme, got given that compilation when I was about 15, heavily influenced my music taste ever since)

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Hpc0qYGktw[/youtube]
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 09:26   #3
Not Really All That Radge

Looby-Lou is on the way to a first team debut

I love soul and motown

Al Green - Let's Stay Together is an AMAZING song!! Got a few Otis Redding albums which are fantastic! In fact gonna look them out tonight!
Looby-Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 09:52   #4
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Harvest for the world - The Isley brothers.
Old 30-05-08, 10:01   #5

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iaYPRzIeVK0&feature=related[/youtube]

doesn't so much give me goosebumps as feckin molehills.

edit: in case smurf is looking in, here's an astonishing take on this by billie ray martin

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdTKYDHNjAI&feature=related[/youtube]
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 10:27   #6
Listing Radge

Brian is on the way to a first team debut

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fN4DHY_9gOs[/youtube]
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 10:57   #7
Stu

Stu will become famous soon enough

A couple of Northern Soul beauties. Get the talc down.

The Contours - Just a Little Misunderstanding

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4JYF_nNjco&feature=related[/youtube]

Some say the great Northern classic of them all. I wouldn't argue.

Frank Wilson - Do I Love You? (Indeed I do)

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVRCMW8EJ9g&feature=related[/youtube]

Maybe the great popular music song of them all for me:

Smokey Robinson and The Miracles - The Tracks of My Tears

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLWGzGyXpBc[/youtube]
Old 30-05-08, 11:13   #8

beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Gotta love Etta James

I'd Rather Go Blind

Seven Day Fool (think Stu will like this)
Old 30-05-08, 11:28   #9
Stu

Originally Posted by beefy View Post

Seven Day Fool (think Stu will like this)

Love it, Beefy. I fact I love every song on this thread. Good one Cam the Bam.
Old 30-05-08, 11:33   #10

wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Stu View Post
Maybe the great popular music song of them all for me:

Smokey Robinson and The Miracles - The Tracks of My Tears
Dooroododoo dooroodODOO dooroododoo dorooroodo

Fecking magic

(at work and can't see Youtube, so having to play this on the soundtrack in my head!).

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 30-05-08, 11:43   #11

beefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nicebeefy is just really nice

Marvin Gaye-What's Going On/What's Happening Brother

Gil Scott Heron-The Bottle
Old 01-06-08, 00:12   #12

Zimmy is on the way to a first team debut

Al Green, Tired Of Being Alone
Marvin Gaye, Too Busy Thinking About My Baby
The Tams, Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy
Tyrone Davis, Turn Back The Hands Of Time
The Spinners, Could It Be I'm Falling In Love
Zimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 11:54   #13
Specky Radge

Location: am out there jerry an am lovin every minute of it!!!!
jockney green is on the way to a first team debut

its the "too-many-too-realistically-reply" type thread again
but to start with......

autumn of tomorrow - crow
we go together - august & deneen
soul coaxing - raymond lefevre orchestra
dr love - bobby sheen
come on train - don thomas

ok ok stop stop now

SAOR ALBA
jockney green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 12:00   #14

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

i like son of a preacher man.

is this soul? i dont know?
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 14:39   #15

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

cam you ever heard the delroy wilson of 'get ready'? (which coincidently is my most played song on itunes)
Old 02-06-08, 16:40   #16

Decal Joe will become famous soon enough

Al Wilson - The Snake

Decal Joe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 18:13   #17
Survivor Radge

Burbank Lilywhite is just really niceBurbank Lilywhite is just really nice

Who's That Lady by the Isley Brothers. Ernie Isley with perhaps the best guiter solo ever. Summertime doesn't begin until this tune heats up the airways.

The Four Tops, 'One Chain Don't Make No Prison

The Spinners, 'Could It Be I'm Falling In Love?'

The O'Jays, 'Back Stabbers'

The Brothers Johnson, 'Strawberry Letter 23'

Is it cool or is it cool?

The late, great and deeply missed in Burbank Al Wilson, 'Show and Tell'

The Dramatics 'What You See Is What You Get'

Burbank Lilywhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-08, 18:23   #18

It's one these impossible threads but one of my favs is Marv Johnsons I'll pick a rose for my rose . Couldn't find a vid unfortunately
Old 02-06-08, 19:48   #19

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Johnny Jones & The King Casuals - Purple Haze

YouTube - Johnny Jones & The King Casuals - Purple Haze
Old 02-06-08, 19:57   #20

Haruki is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Stu View Post
Love it, Beefy. I fact I love every song on this thread. Good one Cam the Bam.
My pleasure.

Originally Posted by psychocandy View Post
cam you ever heard the delroy wilson of 'get ready'? (which coincidently is my most played song on itunes)
Have now
Old 02-06-08, 20:32   #21

just my kinda shit man

To start with ...

Sir Alphonse Green

Take yer pick

Old 02-06-08, 20:41   #22
Stu

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
It's one these impossible threads but one of my favs is Marv Johnsons I'll pick a rose for my rose . Couldn't find a vid unfortunately
That is a GREAT song, Darren! Love it.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lq712Pw-Rlo[/youtube]
Old 02-06-08, 20:58   #23
Shit Stirrin Radge

Sean has a spectacular aura about

Its an impossible ask, and some of my faves are already posted Gil Scott Heron - man that gets me every time. The Temps - possibly the greatest "boy" band ever.

This one though, was IIRC the first orhern record I ever bought, from Jeffrey's on Lothian Road - yeah, the habberdashers! (now superdrug) It's a bit of a story hoe Jeffreys got to selling Northern Soul and it was a bit surreal, soul boys q-ing up with a bunch of old ladies for the shop to open on a saturday AM!

Anyway - Judy Street performing WHAT!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5C1w8r-QQjU

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5C1w8r-QQjU[/youtube]