Old 29-05-08, 23:40   #1

Casino cash: £5918
Neil Diamond - Home After Dark

Rick Rubin's latest collaboration with one of the "oldster" classics and mighty fine it is.

Never, ever listened to ND before even though I like a lot of old stuff. Was recommended this though and am most indebted to the chap that suggested it. Usually takes me a few listens to know if I like an album. If I know straight off, like this one, then I know it's the ace in the pack.

Might sound run of the mill pop country to the untrained ear but : nah.

If you like what Rubin did with his collaborations with Cash then you'll like this. Must be something to do with Rubin's production but the accoustic guitars seem to have the same crispness and the vocal seems to have that same dark threatening baritone. Sh't, my words fail me when it comes to music, but this is a diamond in the coal face. Trust me.

Midnight music for those in the know.
Old 30-05-08, 10:08   #2

Casino cash: £18384
Re: Neil Diamond - Home After Dark

neil diamond is class; always been.
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 10:15   #3

Casino cash: £5165
Rep Power: 14 Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
neil diamond is class; always been.
Totally agree. Just a pity we need a Rick Rubin to make people like Diamond and Cash 'fashionable' again. That's not a criticism of Rubin by the way, it's a criticism of the pigeon-holing of music and the narrow parameters of what the music industry tells people is 'cool'.

Nobody gave a f*ck about Johnny Cash in the 80's, now Hurt's everyone's favourite video. By the end of the year I'm sure I'll be able to sing 'Cracklin' Rosie' without getting slagged!
Hampden_Hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 10:23   #4

Casino cash: £18384

Originally Posted by Hampden_Hibby View Post
Totally agree. Just a pity we need a Rick Rubin to make people like Diamond and Cash 'fashionable' again. That's not a criticism of Rubin by the way, it's a criticism of the pigeon-holing of music and the narrow parameters of what the music industry tells people is 'cool'.

Nobody gave a f*ck about Johnny Cash in the 80's, now Hurt's everyone's favourite video. By the end of the year I'm sure I'll be able to sing 'Cracklin' Rosie' without getting slagged!
when my mate got the first car out of my circle of friends back in the late 80s, we used to do that cruising around thing that all teenage lads do. but instead of banging techno, we used to play some right old obscure stuff. early neil diamond stuff was one of the faves. great days. well, until he got banned
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-08, 10:33   #5

Casino cash: £5518

By the end of the year I'm sure I'll be able to sing 'Cracklin' Rosie' without getting slagged!
No slagging required, it's been a karaoke favourite of mine for a long time!
Old 30-05-08, 15:54   #6

Casino cash: £4990
Rep Power: 18 cavalier is a jewel in the roughcavalier is a jewel in the rough

Off to see him at Hampden on Thursday night!
Old 30-05-08, 15:56   #7

Casino cash: £7310

Haven't heard this one but you should also hear his last album "12 Songs". Diamond geezer!
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-08, 10:45   #8

Casino cash: £4892

Tremendous singer and songwriter..

Did anyone see him doing "Love on the Rocks" on the Jonathan Ross show last Friday night ? Tremendous. I like to belt out a few of his songs at karaoke on occasion..
Old 31-05-08, 10:50   #9

Casino cash: £3471
Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Was brought up listening to Diamond, my mums all time favourite.

Cracklin Rosie is one of my favourite songs of all time, enough to make me name my daughter Rosie.I used to sing it to her all the time, but she gets a bit pissed off with me now.

As for Cash, there was some cracking stuff on BBC4 last night.
Old 05-06-08, 23:59   #10

Just back from Hampden, where it pished doon aw night, and Mr. Diamond knows how to perform!

Highlight was 'I am, i said' simply awesome.
Old 06-06-08, 00:07   #11
Radge From The West Side

Casino cash: £1031
Rep Power: 8 Joe T Fan Club is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by cavalier View Post
Just back from Hampden, where it pished doon aw night, and Mr. Diamond knows how to perform!

Highlight was 'I am, i said' simply awesome.
Would've loved to have been there, I imagine it'd been superb.

Aye, after the good weather, shame it was pishin down here tonight.

One of the all time best albums, the first few chords of "America" are hard to beat...

Joe T Fan Club is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-08, 00:14   #12

Originally Posted by Joe T Fan Club View Post
Would've loved to have been there, I imagine it'd been superb.

Aye, after the good weather, shame it was pishin down here tonight.

One of the all time best albums, the first few chords of "America" are hard to beat...

He didnae play that yin, nor Red red wine which GG was gutted about!
Old 06-06-08, 00:30   #13

I really can't bring to mind one single song from his past? His name gives me connotations of severe cheese but I've nothing to back that up. It's an irrational prejudice. His new album is one of the best I've heard in months. Got it playing loud right now.

"we had the power of two..."
Old 06-06-08, 00:32   #14
Radge From The West Side

Originally Posted by camthebam View Post
I really can't bring to mind one single song from his past?
Surely some mistake ?
Old 06-06-08, 00:33   #15

Casino cash: £4597

I really can't bring to mind one single song from his past? His name gives me connotations of severe cheese but I've nothing to back that up. It's an irrational prejudice. His new album is one of the best I've heard in months. Got it playing loud right now.

You must be jokin'!

Sweet caroline, forever in blue jeans, cracklin' rosie, the list goes on!!!!
Old 06-06-08, 00:34   #16

You've honestly never heard Sweet Caroline or Cracklin Rosie??

BTW i can exclusively reveal that Chick Young was behind us(in the cheap seats)
Old 06-06-08, 00:37   #17

Surely some mistake ?
A'right Bri, how are you Mate?
Old 06-06-08, 00:41   #18
Radge From The West Side

Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post
A'right Bri, how are you Mate?
Dinky doo, Davy boy, how's you chief ?

YouTubing Neil Diamond here, havin a rerr old time, getting quite emotional though......
Old 06-06-08, 00:45   #19
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £9935
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

I'm assuming you were in the dearer seats 'rattling your jewelry' and that tightwad was behind you in the crappy seats.It's no coincidence that his ex-wife had a hit with "Chirpy Chirpy Cheap Cheap" because that was inspired by him, the miserable wee shit. Actually, how did you recognise him, surely he had Gordon Strachan sitting bare ass naked on his tongue?

Anyway, was it a good night? Did anyone leave drink lying about?

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 06-06-08, 00:48   #20

Dinky doo, Davy boy, how's you chief ?

YouTubing Neil Diamond here, havin a rerr old time, getting quite emotional though......
I'm on top of the world!

got me listenin' to Neil Diamond Greatest Hits 1966-1992 from my extensive collection!

had a bit of a scare with my Wife on Tuesday but it's all cool so I'm chuffed!

Fancy comin' to Sweden with us?
Old 06-06-08, 01:04   #21

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post

Anyway, was it a good night? Did anyone leave drink lying about?

T'was and no.
Old 06-06-08, 01:04   #22

Surely some mistake ?
Originally Posted by Decal Joe View Post
You must be jokin'!

Sweet caroline, forever in blue jeans, cracklin' rosie, the list goes on!!!!

Honestly, no. Maybe if I heard them, but not from the titles? Dunno, I know more about music than most I know but can't think of either