Old 28-05-08, 15:19   #1

hattrick baker will become famous soon enough
Been to Bulgaria?

I'm going to Sunny Beach in Bulgaria in August.

Any one been? Just wondering what it's like, things to do and see etc.
Appreciations in advance

hattrick baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-08, 15:32   #2

bennyk is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Been to Bulgaria?

Was there 6 years ago just asthe area was being heavily developed.
Was really cheap but was all a bit downmarket. Some of the hotels were a relic from when it was a Soviet satellite state.
Village of Nessebur which was walking distance from Sunny Beach was nice
Went on a 2 day trip to Istanbul which was highlight for me as the drive was through rural Bulgaria which was an eyeopener and Istanbul was a place never to be forgotten
Beaches were good in Sunny Beach as well.
There were though an awful lot of people who seemed to be there for the cheap booze though.
bennyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-08, 15:41   #3
The whole world has gone radge

Went on a skiing holiday there a few years back it was cheap as chips in restaurants and shops. Lots of development going on.

SoulBamRab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-08, 15:42   #4

Was there 6 years ago just asthe area was being heavily developed.
Was really cheap but was all a bit downmarket. Some of the hotels were a relic from when it was a Soviet satellite state.
Village of Nessebur which was walking distance from Sunny Beach was nice
Went on a 2 day trip to Istanbul which was highlight for me as the drive was through rural Bulgaria which was an eyeopener and Istanbul was a place never to be forgotten
Beaches were good in Sunny Beach as well.
There were though an awful lot of people who seemed to be there for the cheap booze though.
Cheers mate.

Going with the family, nice beaches is cool, Will go to Nessebur, i like a bit of history.
Just looking to chill out and hopefully keep kids entertained.

I believe there is a big aqua park where we are staying.

The few people i know who've been say its nice, and cheap

First hols abroad with kids, 9 and 16months.

Old 28-05-08, 15:49   #5

Went on a skiing holiday there a few years back it was cheap as chips in restaurants and shops. Lots of development going on.
Yeah, by all accounts, looking in brochures and on net, lots of new hotels.

Looks good and the feedback from people who've been leads me to think it will be a good holiday.

hoping for any tips for places to see and good restaurants etc, some hidden wee gems perhaps.

Old 28-05-08, 17:51   #6

wester hailes is on the way to a first team debut

First hols abroad with kids, 9 and 16months.
you`ll need another hol when ye get back
the wee yin will run you ragged

oor mate nick was there and said it was really good, even managed to recruit a couple of new hibbies while he was there

wester hailes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-08, 18:29   #7

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

iv been 3 times. its excellent. what hotel are you staying at/ which end of town do you know?

agree with the nessebar tip, but you can get a bus there as well.

the place is cheap as chips
the weather tends to be absolutely toastie - *take a jacket as well though as everytime iv been there has been 1 or 2 thunderstorms resulting in huge amounts of rain!

If you can manage it with the wee ones try and visit khans tent, they put on a great feast and a good show, including plate spinning, and "bendy wendy" free bottle of wine per couple as well.
*if you happen to get stuck with a couple who dont drink then kerching!

there is also a nice restaraunt on the front strip along the beach thats quite hard to spot but its well worth going into as it has a show as well, -theres usually a bilboard outside with pictures on- good food good show.

as well as this there are numerous excellent minigolf courses and a nice but not brilliant water park.

1 note of caution watch out for people with snakes around their shoulders who want to take photos with you. Also last time i was there they had a dancing bear
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-08, 21:34   #8

iv been 3 times. its excellent. what hotel are you staying at/ which end of town do you know?

agree with the nessebar tip, but you can get a bus there as well.

the place is cheap as chips
the weather tends to be absolutely toastie - *take a jacket as well though as everytime iv been there has been 1 or 2 thunderstorms resulting in huge amounts of rain!

If you can manage it with the wee ones try and visit khans tent, they put on a great feast and a good show, including plate spinning, and "bendy wendy" free bottle of wine per couple as well.
*if you happen to get stuck with a couple who dont drink then kerching!

there is also a nice restaraunt on the front strip along the beach thats quite hard to spot but its well worth going into as it has a show as well, -theres usually a bilboard outside with pictures on- good food good show.

as well as this there are numerous excellent minigolf courses and a nice but not brilliant water park.

1 note of caution watch out for people with snakes around their shoulders who want to take photos with you. Also last time i was there they had a dancing bear
Cheers mate

Not sure what actual part, but staying at the "Yavor palace" hotel.

Men with Snakes? I'll be sure to stay clear of them then.

Thanks again mate, good times to be had.

Old 28-05-08, 21:44   #9

you`ll need another hol when ye get back
the wee yin will run you ragged

oor mate nick was there and said it was really good, even managed to recruit a couple of new hibbies while he was there
Hey you know the score WH, i'll just tie missus and bairns to thier sunbeds and nip back to feed and water them, oh and a bit of sunscreen, christ what else could they possibly want in life

Might take the bairns off her hands for a day, just so i can maybe beat someone at mini/crazy golf!

Then again, i'll need someone to guide me home after a few refreshments, the beer and a smoke and my navigation skills are severely tested

Old 29-05-08, 12:46   #10
Workshy Cooncil Radge

PortoHibee is on the way to a first team debut

The last time I was their the centre was crawling with folks with snakes, bears and also a wee croc.
Food and bevvy - cheap as chips
Loads of fake designer clothes stalls
Nessibar well worth the trip
Weather was great, ideal for the beach, especially when their's a lady's beach volleyball game going on (mind the mirrored sunglasses though, my mrs wasnae too happy!)
3 or 4 'adult' clubs if thats what you like

A good idea to hire a golf buggy on the first day, just to get your bearings

The only drawback was the beggars floating about, need to watch out for them, they'll try and dip your pockets
PortoHibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-08, 12:48   #11

hibernia_inn is on the way to a first team debut

This will be our 10th time to old nessebar,try this website for some good tips on sunny beach.. [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
hibernia_inn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-08, 12:50   #12

hibernia_inn is on the way to a first team debut

Ooooops forgot to add click on discussion board
hibernia_inn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-08, 12:52   #13
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

Was there last year and wasn't too keen. Place was still being built around us. People were very friendly though.

Rep of Ireland Hibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-08, 22:31   #14

Cheers for that guys.

Adult clubs

Might have to get the missus drunk

All being, it sounds good. Need to get some new hibs gear to wear

Old 30-05-08, 16:33   #15

harris07 is on the way to a first team debut

was there last year. loved it! beach beautiful. it runs for miles. even has a nudist beach AT THE NESSEBAR END. sea really warm. best resturaunt we found was the castle. went there several times. its right on the beach and you can sit upstairs which is outside. amazing grub. if you find it on your first night you wont want to eat anywhere else. aqua park was brilliant. has 4 of the biggest, steepest flumes ive came across. was volunteered by the wife and kid to go on all of them and i have to admit that i was shitting myself when at the top. some buzz though. keep your wits about you. the majority of the bulgarians are good people but there are ones who want to fleece you. also, when you are in resturaunts and bars and you go to the toilet, you will often get a fat woman who tries to charge you on the way out. she will probably be quite aggressive. tell her to fuck off. the toilets are free in the castle and the staff are nice. enjoy!
name="movie" value="
name="wmode" value="transparent" /> ERROR: If you can see this, then
is down or you don't have Flash installed.
harris07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-08, 00:06   #16

was there last year. loved it! beach beautiful. it runs for miles. even has a nudist beach AT THE NESSEBAR END. sea really warm. best resturaunt we found was the castle. went there several times. its right on the beach and you can sit upstairs which is outside. amazing grub. if you find it on your first night you wont want to eat anywhere else. aqua park was brilliant. has 4 of the biggest, steepest flumes ive came across. was volunteered by the wife and kid to go on all of them and i have to admit that i was shitting myself when at the top. some buzz though. keep your wits about you. the majority of the bulgarians are good people but there are ones who want to fleece you. also, when you are in resturaunts and bars and you go to the toilet, you will often get a fat woman who tries to charge you on the way out. she will probably be quite aggressive. tell her to fuck off. the toilets are free in the castle and the staff are nice. enjoy!
Nudist beach!!! It gets better by the day

Looks like i'll be heading for the castle then.

Aqua park sounds great, i'll have some fun there, might even take the bairns

Cheers for that mate.

Old 31-05-08, 00:12   #17

GforGallo will become famous soon enough

i didnt really like the castle to be honest, but its definitely somewhere you need to eat.

if you want to go to a club theres a few strippers and a brilliant club called club lazur, has a swimming pool
GforGallo is offline   Reply With Quote