Old 11-05-08, 23:19   #1

Thinking A Bacon roll with Brown sauce?

If it went against your principles in life would you have a sneaky one in a foreign country if you thought you wouldn't be caught?

Discuss
Old 11-05-08, 23:25   #2

Default Re: A Bacon roll with Brown sauce?

You're going to have to put that euphimism into more direct words, friendo.

Then I'll gladly discuss it.

Sounds like a good thread in the making, I ain't being a smart arse, I just ain't entirely sure what you mean

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not any simpler." Albert Einstein
camthebam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 09:18   #3

Rep Power: 34 Colr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Their not all their cracked up to be. Veggie bacon is better.
Old 12-05-08, 09:26   #4

Are we talking about bits of dead pig and putting them in a bread roll then putting sauce on it and scoffing it...

Tomato Ketchup for me please!!!! :woohoo2:
Old 12-05-08, 09:26   #5

vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 4 pennywellhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
Their not all their cracked up to be. Veggie bacon is better.
Not as good as veggie black pudding though
pennywellhibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 09:28   #6

Veggie bacon is better.
thats one of the most controversial statements I've ever seen on here
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 09:35   #7

Loads of butter in my bacon rolls nae tomato or broon sauce.
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 09:50   #8

Originally Posted by Tibs View Post
thats one of the most controversial statements I've ever seen on here
Well, I gave up meat about 22 years ago. I've had a few types of veggie bacon and some are good, some are terrible.

Recently, I've had bits of my wee sons bacon sarnies that I've made for him and they've been pretty disappointingly - not as good as I remembered and not as good as the veggie ones. Wasn't crap bacon either - all organic, outdoor bred stuff and the like.

Chicken is shit as well unless its free range.

MY wee boy seems to prefer the veggie stuff that he nicks from me but I think that may be because its easier to chew and he enjoys nicking things from me!!!
Old 12-05-08, 09:51   #9

Originally Posted by pennywellhibby View Post
Not as good as veggie black pudding though
Never had that. I didn't ever much like black pudding so I doubt I'd seek it out.

I'd love to be able to get hold of veggie white pudding.
Old 12-05-08, 10:35   #10

Rep Power: 26 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Well, I gave up meat about 22 years ago. I've had a few types of veggie bacon and some are good, some are terrible.

Recently, I've had bits of my wee sons bacon sarnies that I've made for him and they've been pretty disappointingly - not as good as I remembered and not as good as the veggie ones. Wasn't crap bacon either - all organic, outdoor bred stuff and the like.

MY wee boy seems to prefer the veggie stuff that he nicks from me but I think that may be because its easier to chew and he enjoys nicking things from me!!!
You think so? I honestly can't tell the difference.

Always think chicken is pretty much only of any use when it is soaking in other flavours. Without that it's pretty bland and tasteless.

Here's another heresy as well. Frozen stuff, as long as it's been frozen fresh, tastes absolutely no different to the fresh variety of anything.

Another food heresy. Quorn mince used instead of meat in a bolognese or lasagne is almost impossible to recognise as any different to actual mince.

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
wee 162 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 10:40   #11

Never had that. I didn't ever much like black pudding so I doubt I'd seek it out.

White pudding as in the stuff you get in a chippy? I thought it always was veggy? Made of oatmeal and onions etc? I've asked a couple of times in chip shops and was told that they were veggy (my partner is vegetarian).

Old 12-05-08, 10:42   #12
Tetris Playing Radge

Rep Power: 12 Rajazemmama2008 is just really niceRajazemmama2008 is just really nice

Eh dunno about in Englandshire but in the chippys round here a white pudding is vegetarian and its really good :YAYYY:
Old 12-05-08, 11:08   #13

Originally Posted by Rajazemmama2008 View Post
Eh dunno about in Englandshire but in the chippys round here a white pudding is vegetarian and its really good :YAYYY:
I looked it up and found that White Pudding is NOT a vegitarian dish! :spitlaugh:

"White pudding is made into tripe skins and ingredients for white pudding usually contain toasted oatmeal, onions, beef suet, spices and seasoning. Some butchers also use pork meat. Generally a white pudding is sausage shaped though the larger haggis shaped white puddings are also common in Scotland though generally called mealie pudding. Very old traditional Scottish recipes for white pudding also used to contain sheep brain matter which was used as a binding agent rather than for its flavour. Vegetarian white pudding is also available from some butchers and shops in Scotland." :fart2:

:eat:
Old 12-05-08, 11:13   #14
Tetris Playing Radge

Rep Power: 12 Rajazemmama2008 is just really niceRajazemmama2008 is just really nice

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
I looked it up and found that White Pudding is NOT a vegitarian dish! :spitlaugh:

"White pudding is made into tripe skins and ingredients for white pudding usually contain toasted oatmeal, onions, beef suet, spices and seasoning. Some butchers also use pork meat. Generally a white pudding is sausage shaped though the larger haggis shaped white puddings are also common in Scotland though generally called mealie pudding. Very old traditional Scottish recipes for white pudding also used to contain sheep brain matter which was used as a binding agent rather than for its flavour. Vegetarian white pudding is also available from some butchers and shops in Scotland." :fart2:

I stand corrected
Old 12-05-08, 11:14   #15

Rep Power: 10 southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

In general chicken is shit whether free range or not, deffo the lowest ranking 'meat' imo.

Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post

Always think chicken is pretty much only of any use when it is soaking in other flavours. Without that it's pretty bland and tasteless.

Here's another heresy as well. Frozen stuff, as long as it's been frozen fresh, tastes absolutely no different to the fresh variety of anything.

Another food heresy. Quorn mince used instead of meat in a bolognese or lasagne is almost impossible to recognise as any different to actual mince.
I reckon you can tell the difference, less water content being the main one.

the frozen food thing is deffo true, peas being the case in point...from what i understand, most top fancy eateries use frozen peas.

not so sure about the quorn one though mate, I'd say I'd give it a try, but that would involve purchasing and eating quorn, which aint gonna happen.
Old 12-05-08, 12:09   #16

So we can either believe wikipedia, or the various owners and workers in chip shops who have told us that the white puddings they have are vegetarian. Maybe it's just an Edinburgh thing, but I think there's only been one chip shop I've ever been in who said that it was not veggy, the rest have consistently said they are.

Old 12-05-08, 12:10   #17

They're called Mealie Jimmies.

Ask Morrice the butchers brither.
Old 12-05-08, 13:33   #18

Frozen peas are better than fresh - frozen fish is sometimes better too.
Old 12-05-08, 13:34   #19

White pudding as in the stuff you get in a chippy? I thought it always was veggy? Made of oatmeal and onions etc? I've asked a couple of times in chip shops and was told that they were veggy (my partner is vegetarian).
its supposed to be but McSween's white pudding isn't.
Old 12-05-08, 14:03   #20

Bacon rolls have, in my experience, been (combined with a hangover) the main source for defection in veggies back to a carnivorous diet. That, and in one case a late night kebab...

I've never had one so it has no pull to me. They smell good though.

I was also under the impression that White Pud'in was/is veggie unless fried in the same oil as the meat/fish. Even then it's tenuous.
Old 12-05-08, 14:11   #21

Not a massive fan of bacon rolls thesedays. Bacon couldnt lace Slice Sausage's boots! Brown Sauce.
Old 12-05-08, 14:13   #22