Old 11-05-08, 20:12   #1

Default does anyone on here regularly attend Church?

or chapel, synagogue or Mosque.

went this morning myself to keep the missus happy

what a pile of pish,

minister teling us that even if we are good christians and live a good life we still might not get into heaven.

we have to recognize our sins and plead forgiveness for them.

Its patronising rubbish aimed at social control and complience,

I wont be going back.
buckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 20:20   #2

Default Re: does anyone on here regularly attend Church?

As you know we muslims pray 5 times a day.

So I go to the mosque 2 , 3 , 4 or 5 times a day. I go everytime i could, it s rarely when I dont go the whole day.

lol
am_moroccan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 20:37   #3
Everybody is a Radge

Originally Posted by buckie View Post
Wot?! No Easter Road?

minister teling us that even if we are good christians and live a good life we still might not get into heaven.
It's his job to tell you that, keeps you thinking bad thoughts and coughing up the collection money.
Old 11-05-08, 20:38   #4

went this morning myself to keep the missus happy

what a pile of pish,

we have to recognize our sins and plead forgiveness for them.

Its patronising rubbish aimed at social control and complience,

I wont be going back.
still fire and brimstone in NI eh?

whatever happened to luthers doctrine that prods could carry on as they pleased and be guaranteed a place in the hereafter?
egb_hibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 20:39   #5

Originally Posted by snoots View Post
It's his job to tell you that, keeps you thinking bad thoughts and coughing up the collection money.
gordon brown's job, surely?
Old 11-05-08, 20:43   #6

Na,Pile o pish if ye ask me....
Old 11-05-08, 20:44   #7

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
still fire and brimstone in NI eh?

whatever happened to luthers doctrine that prods could carry on as they pleased and be guaranteed a place in the hereafter?

its presbyterian not free presbyterian

but his wrath even surprised me

have met him many times outside church, seems like a nice good humoured easy going guy.
Old 11-05-08, 21:28   #8

have met him many times outside church, seems like a nice good humoured easy going guy.
Tell him te fuck off. Works wonders. He won't ask you to come back.
Old 11-05-08, 21:32   #9

No. I kind of would like to though in a way...

I suppose to quote Faithless "This is my Church..".
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 21:33   #10

i won t be back anyway, im too old to be indoctrinated
Old 11-05-08, 21:35   #11

i won t be back anyway, im too old to be indoctrinated
Are you not already?
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 21:35   #12

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Personally i'm more Insomnia

Old 11-05-08, 21:37   #13
Haggis n Cheese On Toast Radge

Rep Power: 38 Forzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really niceForzahibs is just really nice

Originally Posted by egb_hibs View Post
gordon brown's job, surely?
Or Rod Petries
Old 11-05-08, 21:40   #14

oh dear. bit old for that no
Old 11-05-08, 21:42   #15

Originally Posted by Forzahibs View Post
Or Rod Petries
I reckon Smurf can tell us Rods religious persuasion?detective:
Old 11-05-08, 21:43   #16

Nae point its all shite. Wars starting over books that librarians made up and drunken conversation fuck that.
Old 11-05-08, 21:44   #17

Are you not already?

apart from funerals and weddings ive been twice in 38 years

would like to think it will take more that that to get me speaking in tongues
Old 11-05-08, 21:47   #18

Rep Power: 34 Colr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Originally Posted by am_moroccan View Post
As you know we muslims pray 5 times a day.

So I go to the mosque 2 , 3 , 4 or 5 times a day. I go everytime i could, it s rarely when I dont go the whole day.

lol
Do you have to go the the mosque to pray and is it any old mosque or your own one?
Old 11-05-08, 22:55   #19

Rep Power: 24 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

So what does god look like then buckie

Funny Facts
Old 11-05-08, 22:55   #20

Yes...
Old 11-05-08, 22:57   #21

Rep Power: 34 Colr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Not any more.

Go private first!!!
Old 11-05-08, 23:19   #22

Nope.

And neither does a single person I know.

It's role is diminishing rapidy, and soon to be virtually extinct IMO, in the UK and most of western Europe.

Which should be a good thing, but, and I can hardly believe I'm saying this, morales seem to drop simultaneously. I'm not supporting religion, I think it's a delusional farce, but something needs to take it's place in terms of morality as celebrity culture and the rule of the gun/knife/physco are becoming frighteningly prevalent. Or maybe it's always been prevalent. Actually, it's the latter. Pah.

We need a hippy/capitalist combo. A new Jesus, God?

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not any simpler." Albert Einstein
camthebam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-08, 23:55   #23
Stu

Yes. Nottingham St Barnabas Roman Catholic Cathedral for Mass every Sunday evening. Not ashamed to say that I still keep my faith.