Old 10-05-08, 10:11   #1

Casino cash: £8170
Brian the Tramp

Since we're talking about Edinburgh's homeless, does anyone remember Brian the tramp, aka Brian Catweasel. He wandered around the Old Town and EH8 for years. A totally harmless dude, probably not very well but a guy everyone knew of, sort of local neighbourhood tramp who never begged.

I just realised I haven't seen him for years, I wonder if he's passed on to the great sally army in the sky.

W.O.T.C.
Old 10-05-08, 16:03   #2

Casino cash: £7000
Rep Power: 7 hibeesbounceross is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Brian the Tramp

Was in black?

The auld man thinks he used to by him coffee at Elm Row and in Macbets!

Found seated under the Gantry.
hibeesbounceross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 16:14   #3
HGV Learner RADGE

Casino cash: £26421
vCash: 17272
Rep Power: 16 madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice
Originally Posted by hibeesbounceross View Post
Was in black?

The auld man thinks he used to by him coffee at Elm Row and in Macbets!
That was Arther

Posted via Mobile Device
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 16:25   #4

Casino cash: £30563
Rep Power: 0 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by hibadelic View Post
Since we're talking about Edinburgh's homeless, does anyone remember Brian the tramp, aka Brian Catweasel. He wandered around the Old Town and EH8 for years. A totally harmless dude, probably not very well but a guy everyone knew of, sort of local neighbourhood tramp who never begged.

I just realised I haven't seen him for years, I wonder if he's passed on to the great sally army in the sky.
Aye i mind him. Used to see him on Willowbrae Road.. Must be at least 15 years since i seen him..
Old 10-05-08, 17:34   #5

Casino cash: £145

Originally Posted by hibadelic View Post

ive told him to keep his manky erse outta town

im the king of the streets noo.
The Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 17:49   #6

Casino cash: £2182

Originally Posted by The Kaiser View Post

Homeless and got internet access? Lucky buggar.
Old 10-05-08, 19:05   #7

Casino cash: £4477
Rep Power: 10 Johnny Vegas is on the way to a first team debut

does anyone else remember cosmo?

an auld polish guy who would sleep on a bench in princes street or at st giles cathedral

he used to wash his socks in the fountain in the gardens

some piece of scum set him on fire and he died not long after
Johnny Vegas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 19:39   #8

Casino cash: £1054
Rep Power: 2 vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Originally Posted by Johnny Vegas View Post

an auld polish guy who would sleep on a bench in princes street or at st giles cathedral

Fairly short bloke who wore a beige raincoat, flat cap and carried rammed looking poly bags?
vasco de gama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 19:40   #9
HGV Learner RADGE

Originally Posted by Bob1875 View Post
Homeless and got internet access? Lucky buggar.
pay as you go smartphone mobile, thats why he is begging, the top ups it goes thru are mental
Old 10-05-08, 21:26   #10

Casino cash: £20
Talking Re: Brian the Tramp

Originally Posted by The Kaiser View Post

Whats wrong with your manky hearts top you tramp GTF
striker9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 21:30   #11

Casino cash: £3538

always had a smile on his face...nice old guy.

shockin what happened tho
k.manson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 21:33   #12
Radge Hibby Leither

Casino cash: £3812

BBC News | SCOTLAND | Capital mourns its 'gentleman tramp'
leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 21:33   #13

Casino cash: £1995

Aye! 1988 - 1992 I worked in the bag shop, Salisburys, he came in almost every morning and said hi to the women who worked on the shop floor. he seemed such a happy guy, sometimes he got a cuppa but most days he wanted nothing other than the friendly greeting.

He seemed to me to a sound guy.
Old 10-05-08, 21:36   #14

Originally Posted by leither#1 View Post
cheers for that link

for some reason i had it in my mind he was polish

Aye! 1988 - 1992 I worked in the bag shop, Salisburys, he came in almost every morning and said hi to the women who worked on the shop floor. he seemed such a happy guy, sometimes he got a cuppa but most days he wanted nothing other than the friendly greeting.

He seemed to me to a sound guy.
i worked in the john menzies in waverley station and he done the exact same there

i once seen him turn down a tenner from a taxi driver
Old 10-05-08, 21:39   #15

Casino cash: £3538

cheers for that link

for some reason i had it in my mind he was polish

i worked in the john menzies in waverley station and he done the exact same there

i once seen him turn down a tenner from a taxi driver
im sure he was actually minted at one point in his life..
k.manson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 21:53   #16
Radge Hibby Leither

Casino cash: £3812

Originally Posted by k.manson View Post
im sure he was actually minted at one point in his life..
aye heard the same story from my gran she said the same will need to ask her about that
leither#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 22:38   #17
HGV Learner RADGE

Arther, the coloured guy who used to sleep at the back off John Lewis, where the big fan is, and hang around elm row,

He decided to live on the streets after his family died in a house fire in glasgow (i forget where in glasgow it was) He lost a wife and 2 kids, he was a successful business man, and just sold the lot and decided to live on the streets, he didn't spend alot to make it last him,

I had sat with him on the bench at gayfield square and had a chat,

I told him i was curious as i had seen him for years, and he told me, and he seemed genuine

When i worked in the chippy on montgomery street, we offered him his supper for free, and he always refused,

Another Gentleman
Old 10-05-08, 22:42   #18

is arther the guy with the dreadlocks?
Old 10-05-08, 22:47   #19
HGV Learner RADGE

is arther the guy with the dreadlocks?
thats the guy, about 40 jackets
Old 10-05-08, 23:40   #20

Casino cash: £1915

Anyone ever come across the old guy - probably about 5ft 5ft, quite thin - who goes about the town with a shopping trolley, walking stick and cap?

He used to come into an internet cafe I worked in on Hanover Street back in the mid 90's and steal the newspapers at the end of the day. Very well spoken, but quite eccentric.

Couple of years back I was sitting at the traffic lights on Leith Walk and before I knew anything he'd jumped in the passenger seat! Got me to take him down to the self-storage facility on Salamander Street and then on to Inverleith, but was paranoid that I'd find out wherever he was going.

We know very little about him, he refused to tell anyone his name, although he appeared to have friends in high establishment places.

Anyone know anything about him?
Jamesie is offline   Reply With Quote