1-9 1-9 For a Copy
In the early 80s CBs were all the rage.Looking back they were a load o mince but had a good laugh on them. Did ya have one?What was it? and what was yer 'handle'?
I had a Mustang radio with a DV 27 ariel and my handle was Mr Spoon from Button Moon. Eyeball,anklebiters,rig checks,etc Any other 'Truckers'(well bedroom drivers)?
Re: 1-9 1-9 For a Copy
You forgot to mention seat covers. My little bruv was on it constantly as was my dad, they were Crazy Horse and Diesel Drinker.
HGV Learner RADGE
![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2005
We had a murphy homebase, with a silver whip and ma step dad had a wee kenwood with a whip mounted on a fire extinguiser in his back garden in hillside street, I have a CB in my bottom cupboard (not set up) as for a while my friends and i were driving in the motors using them,(used to play hide and seek using the peek meter ) and was surprised how many are still using (no where near what there was)
![]() What was seat covers?
That disnae sound right
Blast from the past that.
You still get radio hams?
HGV Learner RADGE
I now use Madkink when i go on, and my mum said it was not nice to change my name cos that's how everyone knew me, and my mum gave me the name and didn't want to upset her.
When i get a car on the road think i might put the CB in, i also have an external speaker so it can be used to shout abuse while driving down the street
I used to block out the emergency channel (1-4or 2-7 i think)by playing my records on it with my stereo mike at the top setting.
Good buddys used to go radge ![]() Childish i know but i was young
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
Let`s not even go there........
I can categorically say........ I DID NOT own a Eurosonic PT-40. I DID NOT have A K-40 twig with kicker........ I HAVE NO IDEA what a SWR METER was. I DID NOT play The `Pistols on 19........for-fucking-ever! I DID NOT SELLOTAPE THE MIKE ON 19.........then go to bed. I DID NOT pick fights, arrange a meet, then go to bed. I DID NOT listen to KENNY G on the radio "BREAKER BREAKER MUSIC-MAKER" I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT! Nope, it was someone else. Not me! So fucking there!
A seat cover was whatever bird you had in your skateboard at the time
HGV Learner RADGE
GONE 'TILL NOVEMBER FINISHING TWO BOOKS RADGE.
I never owned an Amstrad 901 with a bleep.
I never had a hi-gain silver rod on a scaffolding pole clamped to my clothes pole. I never used to put an elastic band around the mike and play rave/rebel songs down 19 while i went out. I never had a colt148gtl dx that I only used to bleed people on USB .(upper side bands) I never used to impersonate other folk on it whose voices were easy to imitate ![]() I never used to key over people ![]() Never used to give out fake '10-13's' (road reports) about the M8 being closed at certain junctions to irate truckers. Never had to dive out into the garden at 3am to dismantle said massive aerial when two of said truckers almost found me using RF gain. Citizen's band is due to be abolished VERY soon, if it hasn't been already.
HGV Learner RADGE
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: May 2006
I don`t believe you. I think you may have issues. I think you want folk to think you are joking. Oh, how 80`s. of you.
lookaround:
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Haven't a clue about the technical side of it, makes and types of aerials and so on but I'm sure my dad could reel it all off. We used to have about three of the things. We used to try and get eyeballed as we drove around the Big I (Inverness) and the Windy City (Nairn)
. Wonder who made that shit up? What were the daft CB names for Edinburgh and other places?My handle was Smasher (after that character from the Beano). I seem to remember often going 10/4 for a copy. Was that just being a bit indie or was there some reason for the change to 10/4? Can't believe these things are still around and that people under 30 have experience with them. I thought they were all in the bin by the mid-80's.
HGV Learner RADGE