Old 12-03-08, 00:36   #1

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Is there a sport you just don't get?

With all the Sport Relief stuff this week, the boxing, football and Dwayne-gate...I was thinking about the wide range of sports that I like to take more than a passing interest in - and those that leave me cold.

I really enjoy the tactical side of competitive sports, the competitiveness itself, the joy of watching the underdog win or simply allegiance to your own team or (in some cases I guess for some people) idol.

Football is unsurpassed for me and has been part of my daily existence since I was about 4 years old when I first started going to ER. I will pretty much watch any football with a fair degree of interest but Hibs, Scotland, Liverpool and my own boys take precedence. I was captain of my school basketball team in a dim and distant past life and I have enjoyed watching both my boys take up the sport themselves (though watching it as a tv sport I can take or leave).

Athletics, tennis (esp Murray matches), boxing (particularly Calzaghe), golf (esp the Majors), the Olympics (most sports), rugby union (mainly 6 nations) I can happily take in and enjoy. However, there are a couple of sports I really cannae be bothered with - and I dont know why to be honest.

Horse racing just bores me daft with the exception that I will, like most people, take an interest in the National. Cricket is just dull with the exception of watching the Aussies stuff England. However, these two aside, for me it has to be F1 racing that I just "dont get".

If there was a Room 101 for sport for me, Lewis Hamilton and Co would be first geared into it...

Anyone else have any inexplicable lack of empathy with any sport in particular?

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 00:39   #2

CraigHFC is just really niceCraigHFC is just really nice

Re: Is there a sport you just don't get?

Cricket is bollocks IMO. I just don't understand it, not that I've ever tried to though.
Old 12-03-08, 00:43   #3

too_many_djs will become famous soon enough

Golf, find it so boring, same with stuff like formula one. Dont ever watch cricket, would prob be pretty boring too, but on sky sports news they show all the important stuff, thats ok!
too_many_djs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 00:45   #4

Tibs will become famous soon enough

all the American ones. Tried watching baseball and american football, even after learning the rules I find both dull as fuck.

Horse racing is alright if you've got money on it

never been a huge fan but can happily watch an F1 Grand Prix, just like watching fast cars I suppose
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 00:46   #5

wee_hissy is on the way to a first team debut

Would have to be ice hockey for me merely as a spectator sport, the whole thing moves too fast for me and the puck is so small that you dont know where the thing is half the time
,but canny help watching it for the paggers
Old 12-03-08, 01:00   #6

*chops is on the way to a first team debut

I'll watch most sports if it's something big, like the Super Bowl, Ryder Cup, Ashes, The Open, Wimbledon etc, or if someone/team I like is playing in it. For example I'm not really a fan of tennis itself, but will watch any match Andy Murray is playing in. Or Sharapova, but for different reasons.

I even watched the cricket world cup when Scotland were playing!

Baseball, I think, is the only sport that comes to mind that I can never see myself being interested in.

That being said, if someone offers to take me to Yankee stadium any time soon, I'm not going to say no!
*chops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 01:34   #7
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

Most of them are at least diverting if you take the trouble to find out about them. Personally I can never get that excited about rugby or golf but I understand why people do.

Rowing strikes me as the most dull sport in the world.
Old 12-03-08, 01:34   #8
THE RADGE THAT DOESN'T SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY

chez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nicechez is just really nice

Sonic Champion!

Boxing, cricket and rugby I've personally no time for - never had any interest in them whatsoever

Like watching snooker, darts, bowls, golf and tennis, and love football, basketball, ten-pin and hockey - both watching and playing them.

THE BEST HIBS STRIKER EVER!!!

chez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 01:38   #9

alexi will become famous soon enough

Apart from Fitba ill watch Cricket, Darts,Ice Hockey & Ski Jumping. Ill watch the odd Yank Football game but every other sport does not interest me at all.

I particularly hate Giant Peanut hugging & Motor "sport" ,they are just fecking pointless.
alexi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 02:16   #10

I've never got Rugby..I just cannot see the appeal or attraction of it. Likewise Golf, bores the pants off me and a lot of the inherant male chauvanism that goes with both Rugby and Golf turns me off as well. Motor sport seems pointless to me as well although I used to love Speedway when it was at Powderhall in the late seventies.

Tennis is a sport I used to like watching years ago but I have gone off it a bit. I like Cricket more than I used to, and having attended only my second baseball match of my life in Toronto last September, I have a better appreciation of it than I did before.
Old 12-03-08, 03:42   #11

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

I don't get any sport except fitbaw, and sometimes I don't get that either.

Bartok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 04:52   #12

shandongreen is just really niceshandongreen is just really nice

Spiderman Champion!

Football,cricket and rugby league are my top watchers, any other sport can easily be watched also,so maybe kibaddi is the only one that falls into this category.

SCOTTISH BY BIRTH,HIBERNIAN BY THE GRACE OF GOD.
shandongreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 04:59   #13
Big Baldy Radge

Moodz will become famous soon enough

Formula 1 I just have no time for.
Baseball I just dont get.
Basketball I used to love playing...can't get into watching.

Just spent £48 on my ticket for Scotland v Englandshire at cricket! Seems a lot to spend on watchin your team getting humped but it will be a top day of beer n banter!

My first love sport wise is water polo,playing (in my youth) and watching. Looking forward to the 30sec slot it will get in the olympic coverage.
Moodz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 08:19   #14

Steve20 is on the way to a first team debut

No time for Cricket or tennis, but the one sport which I think is the biggest waste of time is Rugby.
Old 12-03-08, 08:33   #15
Erin Go Bragh

Rep of Ireland Hibee will become famous soon enough

Absolutely LOVE football, tennis and rugby union. Enjoy ice hockey too. Really liked F1 when Team Jordan were involved. Enjoy watching the Olympics too, but other than Olympics I wouldn't normally watch most of the sports.

No time whatsoever for cricket, baseball and Yank football

Rep of Ireland Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 08:37   #16

Cricket and American Football.
Tried watching the Superbowl or whatever it's called with an American colleague offshore last trip - he was waffling on about yardage, offence etc, but I didn't get it at all and told him as much.

blue toon hibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 08:51   #17
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

There's quite a few I don't enjoy - many more than I do. There's also many that I might have watched in the past but would no longer.

The one's I find particularly dull are motor racing, horse racing and baseball. I'd make a distinction in rugby as I don't mind the union stuff too much but find the constant stop-start of the league game a real turn-off.

Ice hockey is my first game followed by football. After that I wouldn't really pick up a remote control to watch anything much apart from a bit of top-level athletics maybe.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 09:20   #18
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

American football. By a country mile. Four attempts to move a rugby ba' ten yards forward by steroid-induced, shoulder-padded blokes who wear black make-up under their eyes most certainly isnae my idea of sporting nirvana.
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 09:34   #19

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

I pretty much enjoy most sports except F1 - don't see the point in every other driver except McLaren and Ferrari competing and the best cars always win.

I played football and hockey and love both games.
I'll stick up for rugby as well as I enjoy watching it and have a lot of respect for the guys who play it especially at the top level. What I do like is the respect for the referee and the lack of feigning injury and cheating you get with it. Football often sickens me when you watch the antics of the likes of Mikoloony and foul mouthed knucklescrapers like Wayne Rooney.

In my travels I've gone to watch American Football (NY Giants and College games), baseball (Toronto Bluejays), basketball (LA Lakers) , Aussie Rules (Sydney Swans) and enjoyed the specatcle although sometimes I've not quite understood what was going on. The fans have generally been very nice (its good when a real fan talks you through it) and its been a refreshing change from the dull witted moronish behaviour that I've often seen watching Scottish football for 25 years (yes that's the Old Firm I'm talking about!).

Hibs are my first love though - first, last and always.
Pretty much every other team (Valencia, & Barcelona aside) I wouldn't watch even if they were playing in my back garden.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 09:52   #20
Stu

Stu has a spectacular aura about

Hibs are my first love though - first, last and always.
Pretty much every other team (Valencia, & Barcelona aside) I wouldn't watch even if they were playing in my back garden.
This is pretty much how I feel about football these days, Andy. the game as a whole I've lost a lot of interest in. Couldn't care less about the EPL for instance. I'm sick of hearing about huge pay checks, foreign take overs etc. It's only really Hibs that I'm interested in watching.

Out of love with the game but still in love with Hibs?

Probably that's the best way to describe it.

Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 10:05   #21

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

This is pretty much how I feel about football these days, Andy. the game as a whole I've lost a lot of interest in. Couldn't care less about the EPL for instance. I'm sick of hearing about huge pay checks, foreign take overs etc. It's only really Hibs that I'm interested in watching.

Out of love with the game but still in love with Hibs?

Probably that's the best way to describe it.
Yep, spot on Stu.
The EPL is the most over-rated league in the world and hyped beyond belief. Give me Hibs every time over that dull mass marketed crap. I find myself putting up little fight when my wife changes channel when Match of the Day is on, on a Saturday night.

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-08, 10:15   #22

American football. By a country mile. Four attempts to move a rugby ba' ten yards forward by steroid-induced, shoulder-padded blokes who wear black make-up under their eyes most certainly isnae my idea of sporting nirvana.
Says it all for me..
Old 12-03-08, 10:34