Old 22-02-08, 14:31   #1

Best Children's Books

1 The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, C S Lewis

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C S Lewis

2 The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Eric Carle

3 Famous Five series, Enid Blyton

4 Winnie the Pooh, AA Milne

5 The BFG, Roald Dahl

6 Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, J K Rowling

7 The Faraway Tree, Enid Blyton

8 The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame

9 Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll

10 The Gruffalo, Julia Donaldson

11 The Tales of Peter Rabbit, Beatrix Potter

12 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Roald Dahl

13 Matilda, Roald Dahl

14 The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett

15 The Cat in the Hat, Dr Suess

16 The Twits, Roald Dahl

17 Mr Men, Roger Hargreaves

18 A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens

19 The Malory Towers Series, Enid Blyton

20 Peter Pan, J M Barrie

Top 50 here:-

Some good ones in there. I liked LW & W but the rest of the books in the series were dull.

Agree with No.2 My wee boy loves this book. Writing a good kids book must be a route to the loot as if the word gets round everyone has a copy. Buggered if I can work out the formula. gruffallo is also a universal favourite amongst the younger ones.

Article:- [Only Registered Users Can See Links. Click Here To Register]
Old 22-02-08, 14:41   #2

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Blot In Hell Champion! Harry the Hamster Champion! Holding Champion! Hovercraft Racing Champion! Jewels Of Hell Champion! Mastermind Champion! Meta Ploy Champion! Tic Tac Toe Champion! Zodiac Slots Champion!

Tournaments Won: 2

Re: Best Children's Books

Not surprised that there's a Harry Potter one in the list... just surprised at which one it is.... not the best in the series by a long way IMO.

Yes I've read them all...

As for the list... I've read most of the books on there (mostly when younger) and was not so impressed with LW&W as some of the others, but the list will have been compiled since the fairly recently released film of the book so it was probably fresher in the conciousness of the respondants than some of the others.

The follow up movie is coming out this year (Prince Caspian) in a couple of years if they redo the list it'll be interesting to see if this (previously un-rated) book features?

A book I read recently cos the kids had read it at school was "Holes" by Louis Sachar... made into a decent movie too... it's a good book and IMO deserves to be on the list.

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 14:47   #3

Hibee Kev will become famous soon enough

I used to love the Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl books, but...

Where are The Hardy Boys on this list!!

Surely I can't be the only guy who loved those books? The 3 Investigators by Alfred Hitchcock was also a decent series of kids mystery books. It was always smugglers though, never anything more serious or sinister!
Old 22-02-08, 14:48   #4

Surely I can't be the only guy who loved those books? The 3 Investigators by Alfred Hitchcock was also a decent series of kids mystery books. It was always smugglers though, never anything more serious or sinister!
I was a big fan of the 3 Investigators. Where are they now?
Old 22-02-08, 14:50   #5

Naked Chef has a spectacular aura about

Cupids Crush Champion!

Charlotte's Web was the best book I read as a youngster.

What defines us is how well we rise after falling

Naked Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 14:53   #6

Blot In Hell Champion! Harry the Hamster Champion! Holding Champion! Hovercraft Racing Champion! Jewels Of Hell Champion! Mastermind Champion! Meta Ploy Champion! Tic Tac Toe Champion! Zodiac Slots Champion!

I was a big fan of the 3 Investigators. Where are they now?
Don't know about Jupiter Jones, but did Ben Crenshaw not take up golf? (and what was the third yin called??)

Old 22-02-08, 14:59   #7

Don't know about Jupiter Jones, but did Ben Crenshaw not take up golf? (and what was the third yin called??)
That would be Bob Andrews!

Turns out the books weren't written by Hitchcock at all- another childhood illusion shattered!

Old 22-02-08, 15:03   #8
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

With it being the telegraph, I would have thought that "The poisonous mushroom" by Julius Streicher would have been part of the list.

Or is that the Daily Mail?

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 15:04   #9

As an avid hoarder I'm sure that I've still got the first 15 or 16 of those (in paperback) in the hoose somewhere. And it was Pete Crenshaw (not Ben) so he probably never took up golf!

Another myth shattered!

Old 22-02-08, 15:12   #10

What was the first book people can mind reading themselves?

Mines was called "Cowboy Small" and I still have it I think. It's about a cowboy.
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 22-02-08, 15:19   #11
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Mines was called "Cowboy Small" and I still have it I think. It's about a cowboy.
I can remember doing a thing called the "SRA" in primary school.

It was really bad because everyone could see what level of reading and writing everybody else was at, as it was colour coded.

That's my earliest memories of reading. After that it was "commando comics" (Achtung Fritz!)

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 15:27   #12

A book called "flat stanley"! Self-explanatory- about a bloke who was incredibly thin!
Old 22-02-08, 15:28   #13

A book called "flat stanley"! Self-explanatory- about a bloke who was incredibly thin!
And posted himself somewhere if I mind right!
quality='high' bgcolor='#006699' width='300' height='184' name='indecision_2008_action_item' align='middle' allowScriptAccess='always' allownetworking='external' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' pluginspage='
Old 22-02-08, 15:29   #14

And posted himself somewhere if I mind right!
Aye that's the one!
Old 22-02-08, 15:31   #15

In at Nr. 45.

I see the dubious book about the African lad doesn't feature!!! It was shocking looking back.
Old 22-02-08, 15:36   #16

Just noticed on the list, nae Jungle Book! Suppose it could be classified as not a childrens book but I loved that when I was wee.

Actually, what is the criteria for this list? Cannae be ease of reading as the last Harry Potter book was a tome. And how come there's no Tom Sawyer or Huckleberry Finn?
Old 22-02-08, 15:41   #17

Just noticed on the list, nae Jungle Book! Suppose it could be classified as not a childrens book but I loved that when I was wee.

Actually, what is the criteria for this list? Cannae be ease of reading as the last Harry Potter book was a tome. And how come there's no Tom Sawyer or Huckleberry Finn?
Yeh, I read it when I was in P5 after seeing the film - its a very different creature, though (forgive the pun). Quite serious and dark. Riki Tiki Tavi (?) was a favourite.
Old 22-02-08, 15:43   #18

alexi will become famous soon enough

Surley Danny Champion Of the World should be on that list-it was my favourite Roald Dahl book. Better than the Twits by far.

My favourite book as a kid was a book about planes from WW2-it was huge and had illustrations of all the planes used. I was a strange kid in many ways.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 17:30   #19

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is offline   Reply With Quote