Old 20-02-08, 13:35   #1

superbam is on the way to a first team debut
Booze Blues

Anybody else experience this ?

Increasingly over the past few years, its not so much that my hangovers have got worse, its this almost crippling feeling of guilt, shame and crisis in self-confidence that seems to affect me the monday (and sometimes the tuesday too) after a serious weekend on the drink. It never use to happen to me, when similar amounts of bevvy where involved - my hangovers use to be purely physical. Sore heed, dicky tummy and mibbe the odd spew. Now its more like a sort of comedown.

It comes over me even when I know, really, that I have not made too much of a tit of myself, or done anything when pished that I might have regretted, and have had this confirmed by other folk I was with. But it eats in to the start of my week more than a simple hangover, and more than the fuzzy general bad-form of any chemical comedown I have had.

Anyone else experience this shect?
Old 20-02-08, 14:33   #2

Re: Booze Blues

Yup. But I waited until I hit 40 first!!

Actually, Vodka does that to me so I don't touch it now.
Old 20-02-08, 14:35   #3
Im Just Radge and used to be BionicRab

SoulBamRab is on the way to a first team debut

Funnily enough i get that from vodka too or if i've been mixing my drinks too much...
Old 20-02-08, 15:17   #4

Boogy is on the way to a first team debut

Widely recognised as 'the fear' mate! And yes - been there done that. It's like a mild panic attack you're having. Combo of hangover & tiredeness.

Your drinking too much, plain and simple. Not saying go tee-total but cut down a bit as that sh*t ain't healthy!
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 15:19   #5

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

Never used to happen to me until a few years ago (so possibly when I hit 40 too). Get it worst after mixing drinks so tend to stick to lager these days.

Had a stinker after a burns supper a couple of years ago.. Whisky, White wine, Lager and then hoovering up all the unfinished bottles of red (didn't want to waste any)... problem is, I'd probably do the same thing again in similar circumstances cos once I've had a few I tend to forget how bad I felt the last time.
Old 20-02-08, 15:24   #6

Johnny Kash is on the way to a first team debut

Worst case of 'the fear' I had was when I used to have the old Red Bull + Vodka sessions. Both the resultant high from this concoction and the resulting hangover were more akin to comedowns IMO. Crossing the road the next day became especially hazardous and to be avoided.

I found the best remedy to be a bottle of white whine slowly scooped the following afternoon/early evening then off to me scratcher. Wake up next day feeling dandy
Johnny Kash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 15:46   #7

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
Never used to happen to me until a few years ago (so possibly when I hit 40 too). Get it worst after mixing drinks so tend to stick to lager these days.

Had a stinker after a burns supper a couple of years ago.. Whisky, White wine, Lager and then hoovering up all the unfinished bottles of red (didn't want to waste any)... problem is, I'd probably do the same thing again in similar circumstances cos once I've had a few I tend to forget how bad I felt the last time.
Like veteran footballers we have to time our run a bit more these days.
Old 20-02-08, 16:41   #8

deltinghibby is on the way to a first team debut

Like so many on here it only really hit me when I was in my early 40s. I find sticking to pints is a big help. Last year I gave up lager and started drinking guinness - that helped a hell of a lot too. No idea why but it did!
deltinghibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 16:51   #9
Not Really All That Radge

Looby-Lou is on the way to a first team debut

Right I am worried!! I get this although not quite as bad as y'all! But there have been occassions recently where I have been on a downer - total guilt feelings etc after a heavy night!! I'm only 24 FFS!!!

Just noticed OP is same age as me!!

Fancy a sesh mate
Looby-Lou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 17:25   #10

Originally Posted by Looby-Lou View Post
Right I am worried!! I get this although not quite as bad as y'all! But there have been occassions recently where I have been on a downer - total guilt feelings etc after a heavy night!! I'm only 24 FFS!!!

Just noticed OP is same age as me!!
Yeh Im also getting a bit concerned about the number of people who say they only started feeling like this after they hit 40 .
Old 20-02-08, 17:46   #11

Keepitgreen is on the way to a first team debut

I get this too. It's pretty horrible and really makes me want to stop drinking as I gave up drugs for similar reasons i.e. the hangover, guilt and general shittiness about what I'd got up to the previous night.

I've said it before though, alcohol might be the hardest drug of all to stop completely. And I just can't manage the one or two no matter how much I try.
Old 20-02-08, 18:35   #12

GalegoHibs is a jewel in the roughGalegoHibs is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by superbam View Post

Increasingly over the past few years, its not so much that my hangovers have got worse, its this almost crippling feeling of guilt, shame and crisis in self-confidence that seems to affect me the monday (and sometimes the tuesday too) after a serious weekend on the drink. It never use to happen to me, when similar amounts of bevvy where involved - my hangovers use to be purely physical. Sore heed, dicky tummy and mibbe the odd spew. Now its more like a sort of comedown.

It comes over me even when I know, really, that I have not made too much of a tit of myself, or done anything when pished that I might have regretted, and have had this confirmed by other folk I was with. But it eats in to the start of my week more than a simple hangover, and more than the fuzzy general bad-form of any chemical comedown I have had.

Yep. I experienced that shect. I wasn't anywhere near 40 and it happened whether I mixed my drinks or not. In my opinion it is not just a case of certain drinks disagreeing with me - they all did in the end. Caused me to give up the bevvy at 26-27 and I haven't touched it since. I feel a hundred times better and rarely experience those kinds of mood swings.

Remember alcohol is a mood altering depressant drug so those symptoms are not too surprising when you think about it, especially if you are knocking it back. Don't know if you are but any kind of long term abuse will have an effect on the body sooner or later.

http://www.runet.edu/~kcastleb/affect.html
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 18:59   #13
Gav
Formerly Cockney Radge

Gav is on the way to a first team debut

The regular Sunday night fear hit me in my late 20s, early 30s...it now sometimes drags on a bit into the next week but I rarely consume enough for that these days. Take lots of vitamin c and fish oil capsules..seems to help me and i'm a right miserable barsteward at the best of times!!
Old 20-02-08, 21:37   #14

Boogy is on the way to a first team debut

Yeh Im also getting a bit concerned about the number of people who say they only started feeling like this after they hit 40 .
Ha ha! I'm not that old yet! Seriously man, don't worry about it. Unless you've got some kind of depressive illness that's triggered by alchohol then chances are it is just 'the fear'! I used to manage to hold it off until I got in my cot on a Sunday, and then I would get breathless and panicky and a sense of guilt and doom overcame me. In those days though I was out on the lash EVERY weekend and mixing my drinks and all sorts (no chemicals though I must add). I looked into it and although there are a few scare stories it's literally just a case of taking a back seat for a while, avoid bringe drinking and certainly keep of the nose candy if your partial.

Otherwise relax dude - check out how many folk have responded with similar tales, it's pretty common.
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 22:34   #15

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

i think its just the fact your body struggles to cope with alcohol as you get older. wait till you suffer blackouts and a hangover that topping yoursel seems the best option cos you feel so low. ive experienced it numerous times and still do. 3 years on anti ds and i blame the booze for a major part in me needing them as well as self confidence. sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and either stop and moderate which is hard enough. no answer but its a nasty fuckin substance is the bevvy but we all love it for some reason. its not even as if its that enjoyable to be drunk after 2-3 pints for me these days.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-08, 11:42   #16
Hun Hating Radge

Hibee-Dan is on the way to a first team debut

I can completely relate to this. Stopped drinking for about 2 months as a result.
"Hibs are on the prowl again, in a menacing mood. Russell Latapy- twisting, turning, lovely one-two, that is absolutely wonderful!, from Russell Latapy. Six of the Best for Hibs" Ian Crocker, 22/10/2000
Hibee-Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-08, 12:06   #17
On the Wagon Radge

HenryLB is on the way to a first team debut

I've started getting it a bit, but I think I drink more in an average sesh than I used to. My solution has been to drink a bit more slowly - I realised I was really tanning the drinks, and worked out it was probably because of the smoking ban. No pausing to light up and tab away.

Now I stick to whisky and soda or just beer, and I top up the whisky with soda quite regularly so I don't get hammered too fast.
Old 21-02-08, 12:11   #18

It was first described to me as the ''Fear'' by our very own NIHibby during our very boozy tour of Ireland back in 2005. A more appropriate term for the feeling I have yet to hear. It certainly kicked in with me in my late 30's, and is the strangest of sensations.

Like a few other over 40's I now stick to Guinness and stay off spirits, which seems to help.

Having been almost three weeks off the peeve due to ongoing 'manflu', I actually dinnae miss it at all, which is even stranger???
Old 21-02-08, 12:28   #19

Brainwrong will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Johnny Kash View Post
Worst case of 'the fear' I had was when I used to have the old Red Bull + Vodka sessions. Both the resultant high from this concoction and the resulting hangover were more akin to comedowns IMO. Crossing the road the next day became especially hazardous and to be avoided.

I found the best remedy to be a bottle of white whine slowly scooped the following afternoon/early evening then off to me scratcher. Wake up next day feeling dandy
I also call it the fear. It started for me in my early 20s.

I can also confirm that a bottle of white wine will sort you out no end.
Old 21-02-08, 13:25   #20

hibeeshibs is on the way to a first team debut

Yeah can relate to this too, especially the Redbull & Vodka. I've just started to have a few redbull and voddie sessions every now and then, as a would normally just stick to pints, and it is definately worse on the redbull or is it the vodka (who knows). I will have to try the white wine theory but doesn't it just delay the inevitable? Delayed hangover and delayed "The Fear" on a Monday not a good start to the week
Old 21-02-08, 13:41   #21
Knockout Radge

CAPY888 will become famous soon enough

Yup like quoted in the other posts this is unfortunately called the "THE FEAR"!!!!! THE FEAR[B][/b] doesnt necessary hit you straight away, infact some days you will wake up feeling great. But over the course of a day two maybe three it slowly eats and eats away at your inner calm and warmth. Untill you think the whold pub/club whatever is talking about your antics or what you got up to. THE FEAR can be made worse by going long period of times without talking to a friend who can make you feel better with a funny story or with some antics which were worse than yours from the previous night. The reason THE FEAR has become more widespread and why people notice it more nowadays is the uncontrolable urge to be accepted or fit in or to not be seen as a fandango. Meaning that we all get very self conscious when we have doubts over how we behaved or how we were perceived to be seen the previous night. Coming from a small town my worst feeling of THE FEAR is someone bumping into my mum or a respected friend or a hot bird and saying "did you see the nick of your capy888 last night he made a right fanny of him self. When in reality all I did was enjoy a good night and danced on a few tables.

Guys do not let THE FEAR take over your sundays get out, get some fresh air, go for a swim do anything to get this black mist away from you.
CAPY888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-08, 13:49   #22
Zemmamas gone and I don't know what to do radge

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut

Can I third this?

I was getting what's being reffered to here as "The Fear" at 19,20,21 ffs....

Can't really say I get "It" now but then I don't go hammering the bevvy on Friday & Saturday nights like I used to - personally, I found that voddy was the culprit.

I'd be sitting on a Sunday, watching the afternoon Zitelli (Usually Smallville / Friends etc) feeling miserable & paranoid as fcuk.

A wee snooze took the edge off but I wasn't 100% again until the Monday morning.
Old 21-02-08, 13:49   #23

I have to say this affects me even when im certain I have not acted the dick when i was pished. Maybe its the realisation after of exactly how far removed from your normal state of consciousness you were when you were pished, even if you know your drunken auto-pilot personality isnt too ugly. It only seems to come over me after an all-day session. I blame these televised 12.30 kick-offs personally.