Old 20-02-08, 11:03   #1

Casino cash: £29598
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough
Corporate Branding And Public Organisations

Lothian & Borders finest are the latest to get a new one at a cost of 120K..

http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/late...n-a.3794156.jp

I've had dealings with design agencies in recent years and their rates are pretty damned expensive..

The Drum magazine celebrates the wonderful work of design agencies on rebranding of logo's and annual reports etc etc of publicly funded organisations..

It is all wonderful work but does The Scottish Ambulance Service need to spend tens of thousands of pounds on design of their annual report for example?

Does Lothian & Borders finest really need a new 120K logo? Would that 120K not be better going on Police pay or giving facilities to bairns in the community?
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 11:08   #2

Casino cash: £3931
Re: Corporate Branding And Public Organisations

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

I've had dealings with design agencies in recent years and their rates are pretty damned expensive..

The Drum magazine celebrates the wonderful work of design agencies on rebranding of logo's and annual reports etc etc of publicly funded organisations..

It is all wonderful work but does The Scottish Ambulance Service need to spend tens of thousands of pounds on design of their annual report for example?

Does Lothian & Borders finest really need a new 120K logo? Would that 120K not be better going on Police pay or giving facilities to bairns in the community?
Pah ! Small fry.

Royal Mail spent 2.5 mill renaming itself Consignia. Lasted aboot 10 months.
Old 20-02-08, 11:11   #3

Casino cash: £29598
Rep Power: 34 Smurf is a jewel in the roughSmurf is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by sKipper View Post
Pah ! Small fry.

Royal Mail spent 2.5 mill renaming itself Consignia. Lasted aboot 10 months.
Another good example.

Good to hear the Peoples Bank Northern Rock are not rebranding to British Rock or whatever else...
Smurf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 11:11   #4

Casino cash: £17690
Rep Power: 26 Dub is just really niceDub is just really niceDub is just really nice

Originally Posted by Smurf View Post

Of course they need a new logo, how else are you supposed to identify a police car if it doesnt have its new logo :dub9:

Erm, no actually if you see a police car or police van or walk past a police station it say police on the car/van/station and you might be tempted to think "oh thats the police then" or words to that effect - a new 120k logo wont help anyone recognise them any more than they do now so its a complete waste of money.

Old 20-02-08, 17:56   #5
A radge, a radge, my kingdom for a radge

Casino cash: £2090

Originally Posted by Dub View Post
Of course they need a new logo, how else are you supposed to identify a police car if it doesnt have its new logo :dub9:

Erm, no actually if you see a police car or police van or walk past a police station it say police on the car/van/station and you might be tempted to think "oh thats the police then" or words to that effect - a new 120k logo wont help anyone recognise them any more than they do now so its a complete waste of money.
Some people think it says Taxi

Yam - Act like a twat look like a twat
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: The schools going back and peace returning
That's it for another year - feet up now
Beagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 19:45   #6

Casino cash: £32363
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

Style over substance - and a board which doesn't know what to focus on.