Old 19-02-08, 17:52   #1

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Simon Pia has a new job

incredibly

I'm not making this up

He's Wendy Alexanders new spin doctor

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 17:54   #2

Re: Simon Pia has a new job

incredibly

I'm not making this up

Jesus, bang goes every bit of respect I had for the man.

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 17:55   #3

incredibly

I'm not making this up

IF true then she's just done her first decent thing as leader...
Old 19-02-08, 18:12   #4

southfieldhibby is on the way to a first team debut

Everyone's got bills to pay Mark, the overtime he'll work will make him minted.
southfieldhibby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 19:01   #5

Everyone's got bills to pay Mark, the overtime he'll work will make him minted.
Imagine being paid to lie for a ugly wee toad faced unionist though?

1875 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 19:04   #6

Bartok has a spectacular aura aboutBartok has a spectacular aura about

Me tae. What was wrong with getting a bar job or driving the taxis?

Bartok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 11:41   #7

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

Me tae. What was wrong with getting a bar job or driving the taxis?
Street cred right oot the windae. What a fool
Old 20-02-08, 12:04   #8

What's even more amusing is the past comments of Simon on his new boss...
Old 20-02-08, 12:06   #9

What's even more amusing is the past comments of Simon on his new boss...
Read these. It suggests to me that he has no principles whatsoever, working for a woman he has constantly denigrated in his column.

Should be well suited to New Labour .
Old 20-02-08, 12:09   #10

Read these. It suggests to me that he has no principles whatsoever, working for a woman he has constantly denigrated in his column.

Should be well suited to New Labour .
In fairness it was no more than tittle tattle..

It actually does IMO show Wendy in a bit of a good light that such comments have not put her off employing him..

I'm sure Salmond would likewise not be so sensitive to such criticism..

Old 20-02-08, 12:12   #11

In fairness it was no more than tittle tattle..

It actually does IMO show Wendy in a bit of a good light that such comments have not put her off employing him..

I'm sure Salmond would likewise not be so sensitive to such criticism..

I'm sure he wouldn't but then again why should he be. If someone ripped me in the press I sure as hell wouldn't employ them.

Could be a big mistake by Alexander. I give them 8 months tops.
Old 20-02-08, 17:33   #12

bennyk is on the way to a first team debut

Simon will have them all converted to Hibbies by Easter. We dont want Fatty Foulkes though Si.
bennyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 23:34   #13

wheres the surprise. the scottish meeja establishment are virtually indivisible from the nulab establishment.
Old 21-02-08, 18:57   #14

Archie will become famous soon enough

wheres the surprise. the scottish meeja establishment are virtually indivisible from the nulab establishment.
Really - care to elaborate?
Archie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-08, 18:06   #15

at the extreme you have the kirsty wark's of this world whispering into first minister's ears about what policy should be, and shaping the bloody parliament building. on a more minor scale, you have a dominance of outlook in the print and broadcast meeja that parrots the nulab ethos.
Old 22-02-08, 19:32   #16

at the extreme you have the kirsty wark's of this world whispering into first minister's ears about what policy should be, and shaping the bloody parliament building. on a more minor scale, you have a dominance of outlook in the print and broadcast meeja that parrots the nulab ethos.
That's interesting. I can see Kirsty Wark, but looking at the papers in Scotland, only the Herald and Record could be seen as pro-Labour, and the Herald is critical at that. In terms of media coverage, are you seriously saying that BBC and STV give Labour an easy ride? Given that Salmond's most senior adviser is a former STV producer and John Swinney is married to a BBC journalist, don't you think this might not be as clear as you make out?
Old 22-02-08, 20:44   #17

That's interesting. I can see Kirsty Wark, but looking at the papers in Scotland, only the Herald and Record could be seen as pro-Labour, and the Herald is critical at that. In terms of media coverage, are you seriously saying that BBC and STV give Labour an easy ride? Given that Salmond's most senior adviser is a former STV producer and John Swinney is married to a BBC journalist, don't you think this might not be as clear as you make out?
the bbc in england is virtually the ministry of propaganda for new labour's worldview, despite the odd spat when labour drift to far to the right.

in scotland it's perhaps not quite so bad, but overall the sitch is worse given the uniformity of the printed press.

record; labour, herald labour, scotsman group labour (they're hardly feckin nationalist!), the scottish sun labour, scottish mirror labour.

it is pretty imho - thats not to say there is not a single non-labour journo, but labour are the overwhelming majority i'd say. in the beeb's case it's pretty well documented, albeit at UK level
Old 22-02-08, 20:55   #18

the bbc in england is virtually the ministry of propaganda for new labour's worldview, despite the odd spat when labour drift to far to the right.
OK - so this is the evidence?

in scotland it's perhaps not quite so bad, but overall the sitch is worse given the uniformity of the printed press.

record; labour, herald labour,
Yes, but the Sunday Herald supported an SNP administration.
scotsman group labour (they're hardly feckin nationalist!),
You have gotta be kidding me - not being nationalist is not a synonym for supporting Labour. Have you actually read it? Very shaky indeed.Yes, but it's part of the same group as the Record. You could add the Guardian, but equally there are the Mail, Express, Telegraph, Times, Courier and P and J are all to a greater or lesser degree hostile to Labour.

it is pretty imho - thats not to say there is not a single non-labour journo, but labour are the overwhelming majority i'd say. in the beeb's case it's pretty well documented, albeit at UK level
Well a bit more evidence for Scotland needed before you throw the mud. Incidentally, do you know Brian Taylor's politics? No, me neither, which is how it should be.
Old 22-02-08, 21:33   #19

what do you really expect Archie? it's either evident to you as it is to everybody bar labour apparatchiks, or it's not. it's not one i care about enough to google away on. take this as a victory as you like.

Yes, but the Sunday Herald supported an SNP administration. You have gotta be kidding me - not being nationalist is not a synonym for supporting Labour. Have you actually read it? Very shaky indeed.Yes, but it's part of the same group as the Record. You could add the Guardian, but equally there are the Mail, Express, Telegraph, Times, Courier and P and J are all to a greater or lesser degree hostile to Labour.
i was concentrating on scottish papers. but you see, it's when you say that the guardian is not a labour paper that it shows the problem in perception here. i doubt there is a guardian journo that votes other than labour, unless perhaps for some crackers far left parties.

i'm not saying they don't criticise them - they do, where they drift away from pc and towards what voters actually want - but they are the labour press. if you can't see this on the part of the guardian, you sure ain't going to take the larger point

Well a bit more evidence for Scotland needed before you throw the mud. Incidentally, do you know Brian Taylor's politics? No, me neither, which is how it should be.
i bet you he's a labour man

you should read some of the insider accounts of the beeb - obviously theyre by people with an axe to grind, but the accounts of unthinking labour bias in editiorialism are as unsurprising as they are depressing.
Old 23-02-08, 01:02   #20

what do you really expect Archie? it's either evident to you as it is to everybody bar labour apparatchiks, or it's not. it's not one i care about enough to google away on. take this as a victory as you like.
Well I'm not a Labour hack, but it really isn't that apparent to [quote=egb_hibs;788327][quote=egb_hibs;788327]me. Of course those of other political persuasions may see it differently, which is probably the point.

i was concentrating on scottish papers. but you see, it's when you say that the guardian is not a labour paper that it shows the problem in perception here. i doubt there is a guardian journo that votes other than labour, unless perhaps for some crackers far left parties.
I maybe wasn't clear, the guardian is a labour supporting paper, with a very low corculation in Scotland - but apart from the Record and Herald, the other examples you quoted as supporting Labour just were wrong. The Scotsman is ferociously anti-Labour but you have it as Labour s