Old 20-02-08, 12:16   #41

GalegoHibs is just really niceGalegoHibs is just really nice

Re: The good luck Celtic thread

Thanks for the fuller explanation. I thought Valencian was a form of Catalan but the Valencian lads I know would dispute that for the reasons you say! Big rivalries with Barca and all that.
Yes, there is a big rival with Barça as you know.

Some Valencians accept Valencian is a form of Catalan and others don't. Some will sidestep the issue by telling you there are more important issues than arguing to the cows come home about this.

Valencia is also one of the areas of Spain where the Partido Popular are strongest. This party is not very popular in Catalonia where it is believed to be anti-Catalan (in fact it is pretty much anti anything which promotes "regional nationalism", which it thinks could lead to the break up of Spain). Valencia is quite pro-Spanish/centralist in this sense, which can sometimes mean being anti-Catalan. It is complicated. I wrote a bit more about it here if you're interested:

Your Valencian friends are entitled to their opinion but it might have something to do with this. Ask them who they are voting for next month. Or it might have more to do with simply being a Valencia fan as you say.

By the way, "amunt" is also a general Catalan word meaning up or above. It's just that the Valencia motto is "Up Valencia" while the Barça one is "Long Live Barça". Nothing to do with a difference between Catalan and Valencian in this case.
GalegoHibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 12:29   #42

Funny you say that, my friends are from Mallorca and even they cannot agree whether they speak Mallorqui or Catalan? Spending time with them every year, I have picked up bits of their language. When in Tarragona two years ago, a local barman who I got friendly with, called me the mallorcan. When I asked him why, he said I spoke catalan like a Mallorquin. I barely know 50 words!

I would love to learn more of the rivalries between Valencia and Barca, anything in print?
Hi 1875. Don't know about your football question but what I said about the Valencian and Catalan also stands for Mallorcan and Catalan. I see them as the same language with minor differences. The politics are not wholly different either. The PP also tend to do well in the Balearics, although you will find small independence movements there, and also in Valencia I believe. I should add that many pro PP right wingers don't really want to have anything to do with regional languages like Mallorcan or Valencian. Spanish is far superior as far as they are concerned. Indeed, I'd say most people in big cities like Valencia or Palma speak Spanish on a daily basis - not Mallorcan Catalan.

The same thing happens with Galician. In the biggest cities like A Coruña or Vigo, the predominant language you hear on the street is Spanish rather than Galego.

Perhaps Euskal can tell us about the situation in the Bilbao and the rest of the Basque Country.
Old 20-02-08, 12:43   #43
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

C'mon Celtic, Rangers & Aberdeen !

Do it for Scotland !!!

That's what I want to say but the words just wont come out.

Best I can do is say a big good luck to Aberdeen, a small good luck to Celtic and please please Panathinaikos rip another asshole in those retarded Brit-loving bigots.
Old 20-02-08, 13:37   #44
The Lass thats Radge About.........................

Maybe its just me but I feel more affinity with Aberdeen than that mob of manky giro claiming bigots. Sellik are nowt to do with us - Hibs have a soul - Sellik and their chums in blue sold theirs to the devil a long long time ago.

Visca el Barca.

Couldnt have said it any better myself !! totally agree !!

Hibs_Lass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 14:30   #45

AndyM has a spectacular aura aboutAndyM has a spectacular aura about

I would love to learn more of the rivalries between Valencia and Barca, anything in print?
Just what the Valencia boys I know have said.
I believe its just 'big club rivalry'. Valencia see themselves as being up with Barcelona and Real Madrid although the league table would disagree with that at the moment.

But there have been incidents in past years of Valencia loaning first team players (usually of the hammer throwing persuasion) to city rivals Levante UD as they were due to play Barcelona and Real Madrid in upcoming fixtures which is a bit naughty.

Perhaps I'm wrong but the impression I get is that Valencia often treat Levante like daft wee kid brothers who are useful to have around which is something I don't like about Los Che - Valencia suprised a lot of people in the penultimate game of the 2006-7 season by crashing to Levante which guaranteed their city rivals place in La Liga for the 2007-8 season.

I can tell you that I know an Espanyol fan who would echo this comment about Barca I nicked from the BBC

Mes que un club?
CATALUNYA ES MES QUE UN CLUB
I
CATALUNYA NO ES VOSTRE!!!

Hearts have been awful, the type of football they've played has made my eyes bleed.
AndyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 14:56   #46

Perhaps I'm wrong but the impression I get is that Valencia often treat Levante like daft wee kid brothers who are useful to have around which is something I don't like about Los Che
Probably the same everywhere where one city club is bigger or more successful - Barça v Espanyol, Real v Atletico, Man U v Man C, Hearts v Hibs... wait a minute at least the first three have an excuse for their arrogance.
Old 20-02-08, 15:22   #47
HALLOWEEN JACK

Corrie Greens is on the way to a first team debut

That's what I want to say but the words just wont come out.

Best I can do is say a big good luck to Aberdeen, a small good luck to Celtic and please please Panathinaikos rip another asshole in those retarded Brit-loving bigots.
Something wrong with loving Britain I presume!!!

I take it that's why your wishing Celtic well, given their hatred of all things British.
Corrie Greens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 16:25   #48

KeithDev1875 hasnae upset anyone -yet

"Something wrong with loving Britain I presume!!!
I take it that's why your wishing Celtic well, given their hatred of all things British."

Probably the same reason some Hibbies take offence to calling them "Tims" but no one has an issue with Huns. Or was that hibs.net?
KeithDev1875 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 16:31   #49

Fly On Drug Champion! Makai Hockey Champion!

i hope the lot of them get fucked

Tully is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-08, 17:00   #50

i hope celtic do well after all they are Geen and white and basically ours!!!!!!!!!! but i realy want Aberdeen and Rangers to get a total thumping cant stand them lot

Complete galloping knobrot!

Old 20-02-08, 19:54   #51

Euskal Hibernia is on the way to a first team debut

Perhaps Euskal can tell us about the situation in the Bilbao and the rest of the Basque Country.
Seem to be 2 threads in 1 here; 1 about fitba and the other about languages so i'll keep this brief.

In Bilbao the prodominant language is Spanish and it's often regarded as a political gesture to speak Euskara but it depends on the situation, often varying depending on the area or even the type of bar you're in. This can be a problem when you're pished and you forget that ordering a beer in Basque/Spanish is tantamount to membership of ETA/Guardia Civil in the barman's eyes. Elsewhere in The Basque Country the situation varies a lot. There are some towns where you will hardly hear or see any Spanish.

As for Barca, IMO they're the Celtic of La Liga. Foreigner's buy their shirts and buy into the More Than a Club thing, when in reality they're just a big corporation.
Not much between them but i guess I'd rather see Celtic beaten.

Real Sociedad - Athletic Club, 1st derby after legalisation of the Ikurrina flag.
Euskal Hibernia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-08, 10:14   #52
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

They are all Scots to me.
And you are a "Bead rattling tattie munching aids ridden terrorist supporting scum" to one of these teams supporters. Can you guess which one?

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-08, 10:46   #53

mrsnuffleupagus is on the way to a first team debut

And you are a "Bead rattling tattie munching aids ridden terrorist supporting scum" to one of these teams supporters. Can you guess which one?
oh dear
i think you should get out more
Old 21-02-08, 10:52   #54
Look aboot ye! radge

oh dear
i think you should get out more
That's exactly what I heard being shouted by a group of Rangers fans.
Was'nt a very nice thing for my 11 year old to hear.
Hence, I wont ever cheer them on.

Old 21-02-08, 11:07   #55

mrsnuffleupagus is on the way to a first team debut

That's exactly what I heard being shouted by a group of Rangers fans.
Was'nt a very nice thing for my 11 year old to hear.
Hence, I wont ever cheer them on.
fair enough
but whats that got to do with SKIPPER wanting them to win
Old 21-02-08, 11:33   #56
Look aboot ye! radge

fair enough
but whats that got to do with SKIPPER wanting them to win
He is entirely within his rights to think that all these teams are Scottish and want them to win. I was just pointing out that one of these teams fans might not think of him , and the team he supports, in the same warm tones.

Ranger Fans are the best example of the "mob mentality" , when you get them on an individual or a dual basis , then can be just normal punters like the rest of us. However, get them in a crowd and that statement I gave you earlier was just a mild example of what I have heard them chant and abuse when they see anyone in a green scarf, kids or no kids with them.

Old 21-02-08, 12:12   #57
Mental Matelot Radge

Billythehibby is on the way to a first team debut

Visca Barca, Visc Catalunya
Feck it was cold in Darkheid but when Messi's 2nd went in we went wild..

What a night, Fair play Celtic they at least took the game to Barca rather than 11 behind the ball at Ipox
Old 21-02-08, 12:16   #58

Johnny Kash is on the way to a first team debut

[quote=Stennyhibee;787344]He is entirely within his rights to think that all these teams are Scottish and want them to win.

He is, and that would be a refreshing viewpoint were it not for the fact that both the infirm are ashamed to be Scottish. Why should any proud Scots football fans back these people
Johnny Kash is offline   Reply With Quote