Casino cash: £37763 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Anyone Got any of This "Rubbish"?
Are you, by any chance, brushing your teeth with the most resource-wasting, overcomplex piece of gadgetry that’s been witnessed by internet voters in the past 12 months? The £179 Sonicare electric toothbrush, made by Philips, has just been voted the winner of the first annual Landfill prize, the award for Britain’s cleverest rubbish – unnecessarily convoluted consumer inventions that help to increase the teetering junkpile of refuse we Britons produce every year.
I have to confess to the Power Fusion Razor. I was tempted by the Slingbox. Lots of sanctimonious middle class herumphing at:- http://business.timesonline.co.uk/to...cle3376374.ece I
Aged Radge
Casino cash: £12235 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Re: Anyone Got any of This "Rubbish"?
I've got it.
And the fusion shaving kit...............
![]() For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Zemmamas gone and I don't know what to do radge
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Apr 2005
Casino cash: £6047 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 1
Apart from the razor you mention, I've never heard or seen of any of that stuff!
Think I've got a Gilette fusion razor; the green one.
![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Casino cash: £15030 vCash: 10000
Nope I dont. However I was struck recently by the thought that whenever I change my toothbrush (an ordinary plastic manual - move yer arm to clean yer teeth job) I change the entire thing.. bristles and handle..and it's all plastic...
Why has no-one come up with a way to simply replace the head (a bit like razors) and re-use the handle? Less to landfill! Thought it might be a go-er, especially if there was agreement on a "universal" fitting for handles that would allow all heads to attach to all handles.. Posh folk could even have solid gold toothbrush handles (if it floated their boat) and they'd only have to replace a wee plastic bit on the end with the bristles in it... Do you think the dragons den would give me money to develop my idea? (or have I just blown it by going public on here?) Save the planet and all that!!! ![]()
Casino cash: £859 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]()
More reason if needed, to drink more beer. So I said to the wee blonde beer drinking babe, sorry small blonde beer drinking babe.I'm off home soon and there is far too much beer to be drunk. Poor lassie was devastated ![]()
Casino cash: £19785 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Anyway I'm off now to register my new invention ![]()
Look aboot ye! radge
Casino cash: £11114 vCash: 10000
"Secondary operations" ie getting someone to screw the head together would cost far more than the single operation two step overmoulding of the ABS terpolymer and the TPO elastomer which constitutes a single toothbrush. The bristles are FDA CFR21 approved PA 6.6 semi crystalline ETP, so they would not be easy recycled with the amporphous polymer that make up the body, again without secondary ops. However, your idea is enviromentally sound, and I commend you.
Casino cash: £859 vCash: 10000
) And managed to get out with all limbs intact. Stenny you're becoming a legend mate ![]()
More reason if needed, to drink more beer. So I said to the wee blonde beer drinking babe, sorry small blonde beer drinking babe.I'm off home soon and there is far too much beer to be drunk. Poor lassie was devastated ![]()
![]() But why have the handles and "brush bit" secondary assembled? why not have two bits in the packaging that you have to self assemble (ikea style) when you get them home? You could then buy mulitpacks of the heads and just unscrew/unsnap them whenever they needed changing... and as I said before the handles could be made of virtually any material (environmentally friendly) with only the small bit at the end with the bristles in it disposable. OK you say it's hard to recycle that type of 'plastic', but it'd still be a lot less to landfill than we currently throw away. ![]()
Look aboot ye! radge
If all the goals had been 2 yard tap in's it would have been fair enough... but I remember one of them being a 20 yarder on the volley!! Saying that the Ranger's scout most likely asked "How does that laddie spell his name?" and that was the end of any interest!!! I never mentioned the two I scored against Gairdoch in the Brae's sheild final during Forth Valleys 2-1 win, did I Louis?? Who did you used to play for , again??![]()
Look aboot ye! radge
Last edited by Stirlinghibee; 19-02-08 at 16:06. Reason: better take these parts oot! |
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Look aboot ye! radge
It really does comes down to marketing , someone needs to take the plunge and redesign their mould tools (~25000 GBP per tool) so the mating parts can be done. Material properties such as Tensile and Flexural Modulus (ISO 527 and 178) and Izod impact strength (ISO 180) would not be effected. If you add a Silver Zeolite biocide to the polymer you would not any fungal growth as well. Seems a winner to me. ![]()
Casino cash: £14978 vCash: 10000 Thanks: 0
![]() Plus, tigers have feck off big white teeth!
![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() You can spin this environmental stuff any old way.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/7254939.stm Self healing plastic....
Look aboot ye! radge
"The as-yet-unnamed material - a form of artificial rubber - is made from vegetable oil and a component of urine. " I think i know how they did this. I would wager a process of graft polymerisation with polar substance's such as Maliec Anhydride and Ethanoic acids. This would mean the C=O and the COOH groupings would form polar bonds. (This is a similar mechanism to the "IONOMERS" that golf ball manufacturers cover their products with).
Aged Radge
Casino cash: £12235 vCash: 10000
![]() ![]() ![]() |