Old 16-02-08, 14:49   #1
Time For Action Radge

Sunshine on Leith is on the way to a first team debut
Gigs part 2.

Carrying on the theme of gigs, can you remember your 1st one and what year and venue.

I've already stated mine on the most memorable thread.

Gen X - 1979, Edin uni.
Sunshine on Leith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 15:13   #2

Re: Gigs part 2.

Carrying on the theme of gigs, can you remember your 1st one and what year and venue.

I've already stated mine on the most memorable thread.

Gen X - 1979, Edin uni.
Sparks..Usher hall [i'm sure] circa 1972 ish

In other words, no I cant really rmember but that was my first.

Old 16-02-08, 15:16   #3
Time For Action Radge

Never realised you were that auld Ian
Old 16-02-08, 15:18   #4

Never realised you were that auld Ian
Sadly I am but cheers for the compliment Bomber

Old 16-02-08, 15:22   #5

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Spooky.

Sparks was the first gig I ever went to, and it was about that year.
It was in the Odeon tho. Pilot were the support.

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 15:26   #6

Spooky.

Sparks was the first gig I ever went to, and it was about that year.
It was in the Odeon tho. Pilot were the support.
Odeon it could easily have been the odeon Stretch, hazy days [should that be daze] in the early 70s. I didnt see you there though, suppose you were shorter then.

Old 16-02-08, 15:30   #7

madness at ingiliston in 1992

the farm,808 state and the ccs v motherwell saturday service as support
Old 16-02-08, 15:35   #8
Time For Action Radge

madness at ingiliston in 1992

the farm,808 state and the ccs v motherwell saturday service as support

Was the fighting as bad as i've been told JV?
Old 16-02-08, 15:41   #9

Was the fighting as bad as i've been told JV?
from my memory-yes-the main bit that sticks out for me is some skinheads pulling down a lighting rig and the clattrering of scaffolding poles hitting the ground and then them all charging at the hibs boys with them-who didn't even move

madness were great when they came on though
Old 16-02-08, 16:20   #10

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Madness Dec 1980 Odeon

Old 16-02-08, 16:49   #11

seeing where having a lot of discussion about gigs

some of you might find this website interesting

Old 16-02-08, 17:35   #12

Hibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of lightHibsean is a glorious beacon of light

Blondie, Odeon, '79.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Being another year older.
49 days 9 hours 48 minutes
Hibsean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 17:40   #13

©stretch is just really nice©stretch is just really nice

Odeon it could easily have been the odeon Stretch, hazy days [should that be daze] in the early 70s. I didnt see you there though, suppose you were shorter then.
Naw same height then.

As a fetus I was 6' 3"

" target="_blank">

©stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 17:47   #14

psychocandy will become famous soon enough

the rolling stones at murrayfield in 97 or 98
Old 16-02-08, 17:52   #15

Zimmy is on the way to a first team debut

The Beatles ABC Lothian Rd 1964
Zimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 17:56   #16
LOVE with Arthur Lee Radge

mike t is on the way to a first team debut

seeing where having a lot of discussion about gigs

some of you might find this website interesting

Fantastic site!!!
mike t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 17:56   #17

the rolling stones at murrayfield in 97 or 98
it would have been 1998 though the gig had originally been scheduled in 1997 but they couldn't do it cause they'd used up all their tax days in the UK or something like that

i had tickets for 97 but couldn't make it when they came back
Old 16-02-08, 18:02   #18
Hibsterical Radge

oo2beahibby is on the way to a first team debut

Was that the tour when the had the bairns concert in the afternoon before the main event at night Beefy? If so, I was at the bairns' one, and it was my first concert! For some strange reason I thought it was 1979
06 October 2007 16:54
1 Hibernian 9 9 21
2 Celtic 8 21 19
3 Rangers 9 15 19
4 Dundee Utd 9 4 16
5 Hearts 9 1 14
6 Motherwell 9 -1 13
oo2beahibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 18:12   #19

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Was that the tour when the had the bairns concert in the afternoon before the main event at night Beefy? If so, I was at the bairns' one, and it was my first concert! For some strange reason I thought it was 1979
Not sure
I was at the night one though if it was.

The Madness icon on the backdrop had a santa hat rather than a pork pie hat

Old 16-02-08, 19:56   #20

Madness Odeon 1981, I think.

Used to love watching the bands at La Sorbonne in the Cowgate.
Old 16-02-08, 21:07   #21

KerPlunk is on the way to a first team debut

Feck, here goes, and nae takin' the pish aboot ma age !!!!

October 15th 1975 (ma burfday) Usher Hall to see Barclay James Harvest, supported by a madcap 3-piece called Cafe Society, one of whom was the very brilliant Tom Robinson. (2-4-6-8- Motorway)

Keith JacksHun - Poodle of David Murray, Lapdog of Willie McKay and Gimp-In-Chief to Scotland's Shame.
KerPlunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-08, 21:10