Old 12-02-08, 09:24   #1

Berwick upon Tweed

What do bouncers think about this story then?

Old 12-02-08, 09:48   #2
Matty Jack Hibs Supporters Club

ZemmamasBarnet is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Berwick upon Tweed

What do bouncers think about this story then?

Excellent, who else can we pick up on a Bosman?

Hibernian F.C. - We Own The Capital

ZemmamasBarnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 09:49   #3

Jack is a jewel in the roughJack is a jewel in the rough

I think a lot has to do with the SNP doing what its best at – sniping at the English!

But seriously IMO healthcare is better (and better organised) in Scotland and there's free personal care as well, so the old folk of Berwick upon Tweed would be right for it.

I really cant think of any other reason they would want to make the change

............... ****** Even the Loch Ness Monster's a Hibby ****** ...............

Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 10:24   #4

hibeeshibs is on the way to a first team debut

Quite interesting that the local poll found that 77% of those that voted would be in favour of switching
That surprised me so it did

Can we not do a wee swap though? Say... Gorgie for Berwick?

hibeeshibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 10:35   #5

beefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of lightbeefy is a glorious beacon of light

Will they move the town up a bit or the border down a bit

Old 12-02-08, 10:41   #6

I think a lot has to do with the SNP doing what its best at – sniping at the English!

But seriously IMO healthcare is better (and better organised) in Scotland and there's free personal care as well, so the old folk of Berwick upon Tweed would be right for it.

I really cant think of any other reason they would want to make the change
On the basis of the better NHS and education funding they could probably persuade London to become part of Scotland
Old 12-02-08, 11:16   #7
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

Quite interesting that the local poll found that 77% of those that voted would be in favour of switching
That surprised me so it did

Can we not do a wee swap though? Say... Gorgie for Berwick?

And Glasgow for Newcastle?
Old 12-02-08, 11:25   #8
Tea Totalled Radge

Will they move the town up a bit or the border down a bit

Seriously, there's another possible motive for this:

In 1999, Westminster, backed up by Donald Dewar and the feeble New Labour cabal in Holyrood, moved the border with England up a few miles north of Berwick. The SNP opposed this at the time, not surprisingly.

The purpose of this was a blatant smash-and-grab raid on Scottish territorial waters. By moving the angle of the Border, it allowed the invisible dotted line that goes out into the North Sea to move up a few degrees and move a large chunk of territorial waters that contain gas reserves and some oil reserves into English territorial waters.

Take Berwick back and we put the gas and oil reserves back into what would be considered Scottish territorial waters. i.e. where they were up until 1999.

Question to those who think this is just the SNP picking a fight with London: where were you in 1999 when New Labour - north and south - did the dirty on Scotland?
Old 12-02-08, 11:38   #9

gun ainm is on the way to a first team debut

seems clear to me - if theres a majority in favour of being governed by Edinburgh rather than London then no problem. FWIW i think we'd maybe pick up territory as far south as York if Berwick set a democratic precedent...
And still they teach you in your school, about those glorious days of rule, and how it's your destiny to be, superior to me, But if you've any kind of mind, you'll see that all human kind, are the children of this earth, and your hate for them will chew you up and spit you out
gun ainm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 12:12   #10
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

The whole of the north east of England should have this choice. I regularly tell the punters I work beside that they are more like us than than the parts of Englandastan I have to visit when I go south of Leeds.

It's a wonder Labour did'nt post the border at Dunbar, so the line could go due north...

Stirlinghibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 12:42   #11

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

Seriously, there's another possible motive for this:

In 1999, Westminster, backed up by Donald Dewar and the feeble New Labour cabal in Holyrood, moved the border with England up a few miles north of Berwick. The SNP opposed this at the time, not surprisingly.

The purpose of this was a blatant smash-and-grab raid on Scottish territorial waters. By moving the angle of the Border, it allowed the invisible dotted line that goes out into the North Sea to move up a few degrees and move a large chunk of territorial waters that contain gas reserves and some oil reserves into English territorial waters.

Take Berwick back and we put the gas and oil reserves back into what would be considered Scottish territorial waters. i.e. where they were up until 1999.

Question to those who think this is just the SNP picking a fight with London: where were you in 1999 when New Labour - north and south - did the dirty on Scotland?
Are you sure about this? I'm pretty sure Berwick has been officially part of engerland for the past 700 years. I've often travelled up and down that part of the country in the last 35 years and don't recall the borderposts ever changing location...
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 12:43   #12

The myth started because the Treaty of Everlasting Peace [between Scotland and England in 1502] stated that Berwick was of England but not in England, so Berwick was always mentioned separately in Acts of Parliament.”
There you go, B upon T can join who they want.

If this is to be believed

Old 12-02-08, 12:44   #13
Tea Totalled Radge

Are you sure about this? I'm pretty sure Berwick has been officially part of engerland for the past 700 years. I've often travelled up and down that part of the country in the last 35 years and don't recall the borderposts ever changing location...
The common law land border hasn't changed as such but the territorial waters have changed as a result of the change in the points of triangulation taken at the border, if that makes sense.

I'll try and dig out the legislation from 1999. It was all done under the auspices of a change in fisheries waters but many who opposed this at the time questioned the actual implications of this - something that wont be known for sure until the Independence settlement is negotiated.
Old 12-02-08, 13:00   #14

SG7nil will become famous soon enough

They'd be better off staying in Englund, the weather in Scotland can be shocking especially in winter!

SG7nil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 13:09   #15

vasco de gama is on the way to a first team debut

The common law land border hasn't changed as such but the territorial waters have changed as a result of the change in the points of triangulation taken at the border, if that makes sense.

I'll try and dig out the legislation from 1999. It was all done under the auspices of a change in fisheries waters but many who opposed this at the time questioned the actual implications of this - something that wont be known for sure until the Independence settlement is negotiated.
That makes sense - but then if it was the case that they just changed the angle of trajectory into the waters rather than the land-border, they could just do the same even if they change the land-border to make Berwick Scottish again. Seems pretty amazing that they changed the waterline as recently as 1999 but just goes to show loads is done with the majority of us being none the wiser. I guess at the time nobody created a big enough noise.
vasco de gama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 15:08   #16

The whole of the north east of England should have this choice. I regularly tell the punters I work beside that they are more like us than than the parts of Englandastan I have to visit when I go south of Leeds.

It's a wonder Labour did'nt post the border at Dunbar, so the line could go due north...
They did. They were offered a regional assembly and they turned it down.
Old 12-02-08, 15:10   #17

They'd be better off staying in Englund, the weather in Scotland can be shocking especially in winter!
It is lovely at the moment.
Old 12-02-08, 15:16   #18
G-Radge-ual Descent into Madness

FTJT will become famous soon enough

They did. They were offered a regional assembly and they turned it down.
how is that the same? being offered a superfluous piece of semi-devolved government and getting a plebiscite arent really the same thing
FTJT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 15:22   #19

how is that the same? being offered a superfluous piece of semi-devolved government and getting a plebiscite arent really the same thing
Not exactly, but the point was they rejected it. It scuppered the governments policy to devolve more power to the regions and so never got past the first hurdle.
Old 12-02-08, 16:03   #20
G-Radge-ual Descent into Madness

FTJT will become famous soon enough

Not exactly, but the point was they rejected it. It scuppered the governments policy to devolve more power to the regions and so never got past the first hurdle.
it wasnt though, the NE assembly was a prescott project which proposed a significant tax in the area for a fundamentally purposeless legislature. same costs as Holyrood but none of the actual devolution - it was voted down on a practical rather than principled basis - the idea of more power to local councils and so on polled extremely well, as i recall.
FTJT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 16:25   #21

it wasnt though, the NE assembly was a prescott project which proposed a significant tax in the area for a fund