Old 11-02-08, 23:11   #1

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all
Interesting repercussions for us all when tomorrow comes...

There are going to be some tough decisions made by councils up and down the land thanks to the Council Tax freeze, the Scottish Government concordat, the costs of the unified pay deal and in Edinburgh specifically the budget deficit anticipated anyway...

Many of the most vulnerable in the community may well be hit...tomorrow's budgets will reveal a lot.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-08, 23:17   #2

Re: Interesting repercussions for us all when tomorrow comes...

Something is wrong with council budgets...
Old 11-02-08, 23:20   #3

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

Something is wrong with council budgets...
Wonder what would happen if all the deprived schools in this city made a DVD too

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
20 days 1 hours 17 minutes
Old 11-02-08, 23:26   #4

Wonder what would happen if all the deprived schools in this city made a DVD too
Good point. Proves that maybe this SNP politically motivated council tax freeze is not really what's needed?
Old 11-02-08, 23:30   #5

Good point. Proves that maybe this SNP politically motivated council tax freeze is not really what's needed?
A different form of local taxation is what's needed,i'd means test it if need be....

I pay a higher % of my income on council tax than a couple despite having the same living costs,less earnings and using less of the services (A couple using twice as many)

There's thousands of folk that work living with their parents that pay no council tax,Get them paying too

Old 11-02-08, 23:32   #6

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

Other authorities have already had constituents writing to the press about the prospect of a 3% cut in school budgets for the next 3 years (compounded - 3% this year, 3% next year and then another 3% the next) being imposed by Holyrood...

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 00:24   #7

hibadelic is a jewel in the roughhibadelic is a jewel in the rough

A different form of local taxation is what's needed,i'd means test it if need be....

I pay a higher % of my income on council tax than a couple despite having the same living costs,less earnings and using less of the services (A couple using twice as many)

There's thousands of folk that work living with their parents that pay no council tax,Get them paying too
Bring back the council tax!!!

Hmmm
only kidding.

I would agree with means testing as a fair way to work it out. In a perfect world there would be a way to means test that would be cheaper to calculate and collect than the current system.

Wait a minute, we could just increase income tax a wee bit and get rid of what will always be an unfair and inefficient system. Much of the money you pay in council tax goes on collecting the fecker anyway, so it makes sense from every angle.

It fills me with joy to see moshers out jogging.
hibadelic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 00:26   #8

Hmmm
only kidding.

I would agree with means testing as a fair way to work it out. In a perfect world there would be a way to means test that would be cheaper to calculate and collect than the current system.

Wait a minute, we could just increase income tax a wee bit and get rid of what will always be an unfair and inefficient system. Much of the money you pay in council tax goes on collecting the fecker anyway, so it makes sense from every angle.
Did you mean bring back the Poll Tax?
Old 12-02-08, 00:29   #9

Hmmm
only kidding.

The SP have the powers for it and if it's explained properly as a fairer system to folk then we should do it.

Still need to tax the rich that have no "Income"

Old 12-02-08, 00:34   #10

The SP have the powers for it and if it's explained properly as a fairer system to folk then we should do it.

IIRC around 80% of the council's spend comes through a grant from Holyrood..

Why not go to 100%?

It appears to work in terms of 100% grant from westminster to holyrood..
Old 12-02-08, 00:40   #11

Did you mean bring back the Poll Tax?
Yeah

Old 12-02-08, 00:45   #12

That's a good point but not a major sticking point.

It would be a fairer and cheaper system for most people IMO. I doubt many would be paying more since the cost of administrating it would be almost wiped out.

Old 12-02-08, 00:49   #13
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

Hmmm
only kidding.

but where do you means test it? on peoples income or what services they use (ie waste weight, etc)

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 00:55   #14

but where do you means test it? on peoples income or what services they use (ie waste weight, etc)
Income as that's the unfair part as it stands......

Old 12-02-08, 00:58   #15

On their income as it's the easiest and cheapest because it's being done anyway. Make it that people are paying for access to services rather than for the services they use, just like it is now.

Old 12-02-08, 01:06   #16

tortohibee is on the way to a first team debut

myself i am on the front line of the social service and to see the scrimping and saving going on is disgusting in this day and age. most occations im working with complete fucking numpties that only work experience is as a sheep hearder. i kid you not. how they can even give some folk enhanced disclosures when they are from some african backwater scares me as residents here go through a stringent check. by hey turn a blind eye its cheap labour. thats an extereme case however the council job freeze in the social work in verging on collapse with the pressures put on frontline staff and its near on impossible to deliver the same standard of care than even 3 years ago when we had doulble the permanent staff now there is a ratio on average of 2 permanent to 5 agency workers dealing with 40 odd neady clients. all to save a few £££££. meal times are an even bigger joke. some folk pay over £500 per week and i kid you not some meal times they get 1 slice of toast and a spoonfull of beans with the free butter from the EU overspill. the council is just waiting to privatise the care homes and im dreading it. ill get a shady 2% rise when inflation is much higher and my standard of living is going down especialy now im on my own but thats my problem. the whole system needs an overhaul. just 1 tax for all instead of the 3 systems the now.

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 01:12   #17
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

myself i am on the front line of the social service and to see the scrimping and saving going on is disgusting in this day and age. most occations im working with complete fucking numpties that only work experience is as a sheep hearder. i kid you not. how they can even give some folk enhanced disclosures when they are from some african backwater scares me as residents here go through a stringent check. by hey turn a blind eye its cheap labour. thats an extereme case however the council job freeze in the social work in verging on collapse with the pressures put on frontline staff and its near on impossible to deliver the same standard of care than even 3 years ago when we had doulble the permanent staff now there is a ratio on average of 2 permanent to 5 agency workers dealing with 40 odd neady clients. all to save a few £££££. meal times are an even bigger joke. some folk pay over £500 per week and i kid you not some meal times they get 1 slice of toast and a spoonfull of beans with the free butter from the EU overspill. the council is just waiting to privatise the care homes and im dreading it. ill get a shady 2% rise when inflation is much higher and my standard of living is going down especialy now im on my own but thats my problem. the whole system needs an overhaul. just 1 tax for all instead of the 3 systems the now.
That is wishful thinking, but would be better in one sense

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is offline   Reply With Quote