Old 06-02-08, 21:58   #1

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all
Ten places to see before you die...

A friend has just come back from Casablanca and expressed their sense of disappointment that it was nothing at all like they'd imagined (though they were actually warned before they went iirc)...and I remember a couple of years back the BBC had a programme showing the top 20 things to visit before you die based on a poll of many thousand viewers...

It had the Grand Canyon as the No1 thing to visit in your life before you go to the great Cowshed in the sky. Given the eclectic mix of bletherers on the Cooshed I reckon we could come up with a pretty impressive and interesting list of our own...

So I suppose to kick start it, here goes...it can be places you have seen and want to go back to, or places you simply dream of visiting.

1. My own number one is also the Grand Canyon. Visited it about 7 or 8 years ago and am definitely going to make sure I go back at some point. Truly amazing experience and one of the few places I have literally felt my breath being taken away - I certainly had no real concept of it's vastness before standing at the edge of it for the first time. Next time I will certainly want to do the helicopter tour from Vegas that seemingly is well worth the hundreds of pounds it knocks you back...

2. Petra

The city carved in the rocks. It looks like an unofficial wonder of the world. It looks stunning.

3. Cambodia

One of the best kept secrets until recently - probably due to the Killing Fields association and history - but seemingly fascinating and beautiful place. Another one on the yet to see list.

4. New York

Already had the delights of this fantastic city. Love the place. Its like one massive film set and means you feel like you know it even when you visit for the first time. Great sightseeing, great delis, great shopping. Desperately want to go there for the Christmas period /New Year bells at Times Square...

5. Florence

I love Italy full stop. Done the football weekenders a few times to Milan and Rome and they are ace. Done the cultural holidays to Rome, Venice and the like but have so far managed to miss out on Florence. This coupled with a detour to greater Tuscany is on the hit list in Europe for me...I will use this to sneakily mention Rome again. Everyone should see the Colosseum for themselves...

6. Seychelles

Spent three weeks there a fair time ago and was priveliged enough to do the David Attenborough bit watching Giant Turtles coming out of the Indian Ocean to lay their eggs. I even did the whispering bit... Paradise, if a tad expensive.

7. Silver trail in South America

Always had the hankering to go off to Argentina/Peru since I saw Billy Bragg do the same in a documentary about the silver trail. The Andes, the native temples, the culture all appeal big time. Must do - note to self.

8. NZ

Who cares if it is partly inspired by visions of scenery from Lord of the Rings
(it isn't the only reason or excuse I'd need).

9. Cape Town

The scenery looks great, the climate fantastic and I'd like to visit places like Table Mountain, Robben Island etc whilst there.

10. Great Wall of China

Actually China per se. Culturally, historically and Great Big Walls...and I'd use it as an excuse to nip to the future (sorry Japan) and visit a mate at the same time...

Anyone else?

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:04   #2

pdm777 is on the way to a first team debut
Re: Ten places to see before you die...

paris
pdm777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:09   #3
HGV DRIVING & DAD TO BE (again) RADGE

madkink is just really nicemadkink is just really nice

A friend has just come back from Casablanca and expressed their sense of disappointment that it was nothing at all like they'd imagined (though they were actually warned before they went iirc)...and I remember a couple of years back the BBC had a programme showing the top 20 things to visit before you die based on a poll of many thousand viewers...

It had the Grand Canyon as the No1 thing to visit in your life before you go to the great Cowshed in the sky. Given the eclectic mix of bletherers on the Cooshed I reckon we could come up with a pretty impressive and interesting list of our own...

So I suppose to kick start it, here goes...it can be places you have seen and want to go back to, or places you simply dream of visiting.

1. My own number one is also the Grand Canyon. Visited it about 7 or 8 years ago and am definitely going to make sure I go back at some point. Truly amazing experience and one of the few places I have literally felt my breath being taken away - I certainly had no real concept of it's vastness before standing at the edge of it for the first time. Next time I will certainly want to do the helicopter tour from Vegas that seemingly is well worth the hundreds of pounds it knocks you back...

2. Petra

The city carved in the rocks. It looks like an unofficial wonder of the world. It looks stunning.

3. Cambodia

One of the best kept secrets until recently - probably due to the Killing Fields association and history - but seemingly fascinating and beautiful place. Another one on the yet to see list.

4. New York

Already had the delights of this fantastic city. Love the place. Its like one massive film set and means you feel like you know it even when you visit for the first time. Great sightseeing, great delis, great shopping. Desperately want to go there for the Christmas period /New Year bells at Times Square...

5. Florence

I love Italy full stop. Done the football weekenders a few times to Milan and Rome and they are ace. Done the cultural holidays to Rome, Venice and the like but have so far managed to miss out on Florence. This coupled with a detour to greater Tuscany is on the hit list in Europe for me...I will use this to sneakily mention Rome again. Everyone should see the Colosseum for themselves...

6. Seychelles

Spent three weeks there a fair time ago and was priveliged enough to do the David Attenborough bit watching Giant Turtles coming out of the Indian Ocean to lay their eggs. I even did the whispering bit... Paradise, if a tad expensive.

7. Silver trail in South America

Always had the hankering to go off to Argentina/Peru since I saw Billy Bragg do the same in a documentary about the silver trail. The Andes, the native temples, the culture all appeal big time. Must do - note to self.

8. NZ

Who cares if it is partly inspired by visions of scenery from Lord of the Rings
(it isn't the only reason or excuse I'd need).

9. Cape Town

The scenery looks great, the climate fantastic and I'd like to visit places like Table Mountain, Robben Island etc whilst there.

10. Great Wall of China

Actually China per se. Culturally, historically and Great Big Walls...and I'd use it as an excuse to nip to the future (sorry Japan) and visit a mate at the same time...

Anyone else?
i wanna see everything i can, and probably all on your list

but my top 10 would be (and in no real order)

egypt
canada
china
japan
northern lights
panama canel (wanna canoe along it)
amazon rain forrest
niagra falls (i know its on the canadian border but if i am in the us can do it also)
Las vegas
moscow

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: HGV DRIVER TRAINING START DATE
TIME TO START DRIVER TRAINING - BE CAREFUL - I AM ON THE ROADS AS YOU READ
madkink is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:16   #4

Boogy is on the way to a first team debut

Noosa, Queensland, AUSTRALIA

12 Apostles, Great Ocean Road, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

Phi Phi Don Island, Kho Phi Phi, THAILAND

Would like to go to - (all of the above) and;

Sicily...just because.

It's not ten places, but not bad for a start.
Boogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:17   #5

alexi will become famous soon enough

Zablocie
Prague
Holy Land
Buenos Aries (La Bombanera)
Shaolin Temple-China
The South Bronx
Monte Cassino
Machu Pichu
Egypt (pyramids)
True site of Battle Of Bannockburn.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:20   #6

SKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to allSKII is a name known to all

niagra falls (i know its on the canadian border but if i am in the us can do it also)
Funnily enough this is one people are often disappointed with?

Las vegas

moscow
Moscow is fascinating. It was even more fascinating in the past (lucky enough to go there during Gorbachev's reign) but I reckon still very interesting. Even their underground stations are like museums with prized art and sculptures on display...

Vegas is a place everyone should see but you probably either love it to bits or find it a bit surreal. Have to say I enjoyed my stay there but wouldn't rush back ahead of anything on my list other than to go back to the Grand Canyon - LV is commonly the base people use for that trip.

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Back to work...
damn
SKII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:21   #7
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

In no particular order (all places I've not been to):

Bukhara, Uzbekistan
Jaipur, India
Churchill, Canada
Cappadocia, Turkey
Petra, Jordan
Leptis Magna, Libya
Tallinn, Estonia
Great Wall Of China
Axum, Ethiopia
Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:23   #8
Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yester-Radge

Baron von Hibee has a spectacular aura about

Need to cross the border for that one - the Canadians got the best bits!
Baron von Hibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 22:27   #9

Tibs will become famous soon enough

places I've been to which are must-see's are Machu Picchu and, less well known, Angel Falls in Venezuela

Other places I'd like to see, a few other places in South America, Cristo Redemptor in Rio, New York, Tokyo, Great Wall of China, the Pyramids
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 23:38   #10

bennyk is on the way to a first team debut

In no order,of the places I have been,
Tangier,
Cairo.
Las Vegas,
Bangkok
India,
Rome,
Serrekunda(West Africa),
Sahara Desert,
Washington DC,
Jerusalem.
bennyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 23:43   #11

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

I used to work with a Chinese lassie who, as a manager in her old company in China, used to take British businessmen to the Great Wall because her English was excellent.

She told me that most of it is rubbish. The one good bit is the up and down the hills bit they always show on the telly.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 23:43   #12

I know ive already done 10(see previous post) but can I add Auschwitz.
Old 06-02-08, 23:44   #13

1. The scottish cup display at ER

2. The inside of Bannox's wallet

Not such which is the most unlikely
Old 06-02-08, 23:47   #14

GOOD CALL, wanaa see it too

Old 06-02-08, 23:48   #15

Not sure i'd like to see that , wee bit morbid
Old 06-02-08, 23:53   #16

Not sure i'd like to see that , wee bit morbid
in a way yes, however still think it would be a life altering expierience

also wanna see alcatraz,

Place to go if your ever in jersey is the underground hospital, Jersey was a nazi stronghold during the war (my great grandad was forced to fix there vehicles) and there are alot off things relating (the hotel i usually stay in used to be the nazi head quarters in the channal islands(merton hotel))

Old 06-02-08, 23:54   #17

alexi will become famous soon enough

Im going there next month.
alexi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 23:55   #18

need to report back on what it is like, and are the stories true (no nature sounds, no birds flying over etc etc)

Old 06-02-08, 23:55   #19

in a way yes, however still think it would be a life altering expierience

also wanna see alcatraz,

Place to go if your ever in jersey is the underground hospital, Jersey was a nazi stronghold during the war (my great grandad was forced to fix there vehicles) and there are alot off things relating (the hotel i usually stay in used to be the nazi head quarters in the channal islands(merton hotel))
Aye that sounds interesting , too much sadness surrounding Auschwitz for me i think though
Old 07-02-08, 00:00   #20

Its true parts of Auschwitz are really morbid but I found other parts quite peaceful . Like Forza I want to see the SC at Easter Road.
Old 07-02-08, 00:00   #21