Old 06-02-08, 20:39   #1

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut
300 mill Old Town development

Just caught the end of the news and saw that Edinburgh council are spending hundres of millions on an Old Town development.

Where about is this ?

I hope it's sympathetic to the area.
Old 06-02-08, 20:41   #2

Tibs will become famous soon enough
Re: 300 mill Old Town development

Caltongate

Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:42   #3

Just caught the end of the news and saw that Edinburgh council are spending hundres of millions on an Old Town development.

Where about is this ?

I hope it's sympathetic to the area.
This it?

Think its the bus depot on Calton Street et al.
Old 06-02-08, 20:44   #4

This it?

Think its the bus depot on Calton Street et al.
That'll be it. Sounds good and is in a rundown part of town which defo needs investment.

Still worried about the architecture though.
Old 06-02-08, 20:46   #5
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

Hope they don`t "Murder" it. As in "The Old Kirkgate"

Some krunt should have been hung for that monstrosity.
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:47   #6
Princess Fiona (alledgedly) Radge.

Zitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the roughZitelli`s Heid! is a jewel in the rough

And Leith St. tae.............
Zitelli`s Heid! is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:47   #7

That'll be it. Sounds good and is in a rundown part of town which defo needs investment.

Still worried about the architecture though.
Did a scheme for this area at Uni!! Things move slowly!!!!!!!

(one chap developed a very workable scheme for a parliament at the Royal High extending into this area - but don't tell Margo MacDonald).
Old 06-02-08, 20:48   #8

Hope they don`t "Murder" it. As in "The Old Kirkgate"

Some krunt should have been hung for that monstrosity.
The worst for me was the St James Centre. What an eyesore ! I've heard that this too is being flattened and rebuilt

Looks like we may have a city to be proud of agian in a couple of years.
Old 06-02-08, 20:50   #9

The worst for me was the St James Centre. What an eyesore ! I've heard that this too is being flattened and rebuilt

Well, we will see.

The views down from the bridges to the Forth and Berwick Law are protected and there are lots of groups that will wade in. I expect it will take a long time.

St James redevelopment was always hampered by the Scottish Office buildings - are they gone/going. Its a great site.
Old 06-02-08, 20:50   #10

hope so. that place is hideous
Old 06-02-08, 20:53   #11

found this. sounds good

Old 06-02-08, 20:58   #12

found this. sounds good

It sure does. Another 850 mill

Things are definitely progressing. Even that hideous concrete 1970s monstrosity on the top of Victoria Street has been demolished.
Old 06-02-08, 20:59   #13

Things are definitely progressing. Even that hideous concrete 1970s monstrosity on the top of Victoria Street has been demolished.
They are replacing that with a new monstrosity. Its a shockingly uninspired design.
Old 06-02-08, 21:01   #14

PILTONSTANY is a jewel in the roughPILTONSTANY is a jewel in the rough

A bit more......

My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
20 days 1 hours 18 minutes
Old 07-02-08, 10:33   #15

tricky will become famous soon enough

some stuff about the urban idiocy of the 'Caltongate' development on this site.

Old 07-02-08, 10:51   #16

Malcolm Fraser is a good architect.
Old 07-02-08, 10:55   #17

Typically folk on the telly last night moaning about it... Big bad business coming in..
Old 08-02-08, 01:39   #18
Lost in France Radge

Peevemor is on the way to a first team debut

Malcolm Fraser is a good architect.
Does Allan Murray not have the biggest slice of the pie?
Peevemor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 01:51   #19
Everybody is a Radge

snoots is a jewel in the roughsnoots is a jewel in the rough

That area of town is now derelict and dangerous at night. Things move on. The Bongo Club was OK but the premises were a total shit-hole. The only thing that bugs me about it is the feckers in the council who no doubt will be getting plumper by the minute.
Old 08-02-08, 09:27   #20

Does Allan Murray not have the biggest slice of the pie?
Yes. He's very successful but rather bland and corporate for my taste. I would have like to see Richard Murphy involved.