Old 05-02-08, 20:04   #1

PILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura aboutPILTONSTANY has a spectacular aura about
Alex Salmond threatens to resign.......

as 1st minister if his party's budget isn't passed the morn......
Football in Scotland is ridiculously poor value for money.We dont want to sit down. We dont want to be treated like scum by the stewards. We dont want to eat over-priced reheated stale pies and pay £2 quid for a bit of powder and warm water in a tiny cup. We dont want to sit behind pillars (Well at certain grounds it's ok). We dont want to watch guys who cant control a football.

But that's what we get........
My Countdown Is........ Counting down to: Christmas
32 days 1 hours 32 minutes
PILTONSTANY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-08, 20:11   #2

Re: Alex Salmond threatens to resign.......

It will be passed.
Old 06-02-08, 12:25   #3
Look aboot ye! radge

Stirlinghibee will become famous soon enough

Salmond resigning might be a very clever ploy.

1. Wendy is "tainted" with sleaze. Labour in Scotland is generally a shambles.

2. There has been no backlash (apart from a whimper over Trump), over the SNP government. In fact, all the polls show people are quite happy with it.

3. The "Unionist" front has not got off the ground yet, and has embarressed itself by the 3 MSP's being "called" to Westminster .

4. Party coffers are starting to fill again, with the SNP having a surge of new members.

5. The " D Alexander's policy of fear" , which Labour used as it's trump card in 1999 and 2003 , bluff has been called. And proved to be a load of shite (where is my £5000 tax bill??, oh look, the RBS is moving to Berwick??).

Therefore, now is perhaps a good time to call an election for May. The SNP will get a working majority this time.
Old 06-02-08, 12:35   #4

Purple & Green has a spectacular aura about

Therefore, now is perhaps a good time to call an election for May. The SNP will get a working majority this time.
Can anyone call an election? I thought it was a fixed term of 4 years.

Currently working on:
Purple & Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 12:54   #5
Look aboot ye! radge

Can anyone call an election? I thought it was a fixed term of 4 years.
Very true, bud. However, it is still possible as according to the Scotland Act
"
If the Parliament itself resolves that it should be dissolved (with at least two-thirds of the Members voting in favour), or if the Parliament fails to nominate one of its members to be First Minister within 28 days of a General Election or of the position becoming vacant,[59] the Presiding Officer proposes a date for an extraordinary general election and the Parliament is dissolved by the Queen by royal proclamation."

So if Alex resigns....Things might get interesting on the other side of Regent Road.
Old 06-02-08, 13:07   #6

hibs1986 is on the way to a first team debut

So...are we all up for another election?
hibs1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 13:52   #7
Look aboot ye! radge

We might well be. If a FM resigns/dies , then the governing party will put forward a new candidate, and democracy will be seen to continue as this person would have party ballot box legitimancy.

However, If the governing party does not put forward a candidate, then you either have i) a new governing coalition (ie Nicol and Wendy cosy up) with "Zippy" Alexander as the new FM or ii) A new election. Democracy would demand ii) .
Old 06-02-08, 14:23   #8

as 1st minister if his party's budget isn't passed the morn......
I was in Greggs and I heard he has his eye on the Jambos commercial director job.
Old 06-02-08, 15:51   #9
Tea Totalled Radge

Green Sleeves is on the way to a first team debut

If only! Then we could get an SNP landslide/majority this Spring and we'd have our referendum on Scottish independence in 2010.

This is why Alex Salmond and the SNP hold all the aces and why the Unionist parties will keck themselves rather than vote down the SNP budget.
Old 06-02-08, 16:00   #10

Tibs will become famous soon enough

haven't followed this story at all but sounds like an extreme course of action from Salmond. is he having a tantrum or is this a justified move?
Tibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 16:22   #11
Tea Totalled Radge

haven't followed this story at all but sounds like an extreme course of action from Salmond. is he having a tantrum or is this a justified move?
It's tactics combined with PR. Salmond is basically rubbing the opposition's noses in the fact that despite their superior numbers he is in charge. He's making them look like the ineffective losers that they are.

If the three Unionist parties wanted to, they could vote down the budget, accept Salmond's resignation, then vote together to elect a First Minister from their own ranks. They've got the numbers to do this... but they haven't got the balls.
Old 06-02-08, 16:27   #12

It's tactics combined with PR. Salmond is basically rubbing the opposition's noses in the fact that despite their superior numbers he is in charge. He's making them look like the ineffective losers that they are.

If the three Unionist parties wanted to, they could vote down the budget, accept Salmond's resignation, then vote together to elect a First Minister from their own ranks. They've got the numbers to do this... but they haven't got the balls.
What a knob cheese.
Old 06-02-08, 16:48   #13
Tea Totalled Radge

All politicians are.
Old 06-02-08, 17:36   #14
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

If only! Then we could get an SNP landslide/majority this Spring and we'd have our referendum on Scottish independence in 2010.

This is why Alex Salmond and the SNP hold all the aces and why the Unionist parties will keck themselves rather than vote down the SNP budget.
Do you think the SNP will wait for a tory win down south before calling a referendum? play the 'remember the tories' card, GS?

That could be a tactical masterstroke

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 18:06   #15
Tea Totalled Radge

Do you think the SNP will wait for a tory win down south before calling a referendum? play the 'remember the tories' card, GS?

That could be a tactical masterstroke
I reckon thats been the plan from day one. And not a bad one at that.

NB SNP budget just passed.

64 for
1 against
60 abstentions
Old 06-02-08, 18:14   #16
PEG SELLING RADGE

HailHail has a spectacular aura about

I reckon thats been the plan from day one. And not a bad one at that.

NB SNP budget just passed.

64 for
1 against
60 abstentions
It's clever in many ways, it would also mean that hitler esque orator david cameron would be the PM who presided over the break up of the UK
. i WONDER HOW THE WELSH AND ni FOLKS WOULD TAKE TO TORY RULE AGAIN
sorry about caps lock.

HailHail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:12   #17

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

Aye but as astute a knob cheese as you'll ever find.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:17   #18

Aye but as astute a knob cheese as you'll ever find.

and as smug.
Old 06-02-08, 20:30   #19

Hampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura aboutHampden_Hibby has a spectacular aura about

He's got plenty to be smug about, best Scottish politician of his generation.

Although I bet he'll no get a statue like Donald 'umm' Dewar.
Hampden_Hibby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-08, 20:34   #20

sKipper is on the way to a first team debut

And the best politician this country has ever seen.

The Lib Lab pact were so petrified of an election they both abstained !

Salmond has utterly destroyed them
He was doubled up with laughter when the result came in.
Old 06-02-08, 20:37   #21

He's got plenty to be smug about, best Scottish politician of his generation.

Although I bet he'll no get a statue like Donald 'umm' Dewar.
He's the only real parliamentarian amongst a bunch of councillors - all that experience at Westminster has stood him in good stead.
Old 06-02-08, 20:42   #22