Old 04-02-08, 01:47   #1

Casino cash: £3244
Free " Fucking Spech "

its gone. my few experiences of football matches like today has been diluted. the PC brigade have won. shame on ye fuckin shame. even the huns/sorry rangers supporters abide by it . SUPPRESION OF THE WoRKING CLASS while rugger lads live up a bevvy filled 70k kronenbug extravaganza. and fuck all gets said

tombliboos tombliboos knock on the door

---------------------------------------------
tortohibee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-08, 01:50   #2

Re: Free " Fucking Spech "

oh my working class spelling " SPEECH "

Old 04-02-08, 02:01   #3

Casino cash: £4246

What you on about Torto? Explain dude.
Old 04-02-08, 02:25   #4

Originally Posted by Keepitgreen View Post
What you on about Torto? Explain dude.
well withoutout getting to egb/COLR. about it. being at the game today. i felt if even if shouted the l word hun i might be arrested. my 4 year old son was told off for daring to get of his seat and stand next to the wall.. and to round it off. i took a resident from my work who suffers from dementia and weights 20 stone and heaven forbid female polis made me walk from tamsons boozer up the hill with a wheelchair up st clair street while taxis and meatwagons were going willy nilly going up and down the steet made me a bit pissed off. you try getting a wheelchair without a cerb and you will understand. all i wanted to do was go to a football game with a die hard guy who has spend thousands in his own time and to get treated like that was disgusting.

Old 04-02-08, 02:27   #5

but a rugger fan gets pished and its all a bit of banter and good natured fun . GTF

Old 04-02-08, 02:41   #6

Originally Posted by tortohibee View Post
well withoutout getting to egb/COLR. about it. being at the game today. i felt if even if shouted the l word hun i might be arrested. my 4 year old son was told off for daring to get of his seat and stand next to the wall.. and to round it off. i took a resident from my work who suffers from dementia and weights 20 stone and heaven forbid female polis made me walk from tamsons boozer up the hill with a wheelchair up st clair street while taxis and meatwagons were going willy nilly going up and down the steet made me a bit pissed off. you try getting a wheelchair without a cerb and you will understand. all i wanted to do was go to a football game with a die hard guy who has spend thousands in his own time and to get treated like that was disgusting.
Standing in the East, I've not seen anyone getting arrested for shouting hun, dude. Other areas I can't speak for.

The telling off for your 4 year old does sound harsh.

The dude you took: are you saying that you wanted the polis to give yous a run up to the game? Mate, I have my arguments with the polis but tbh, they really don't have any obligation to be doing that. Sorry dude, it might sound harsh, but where does it stop? You chose to take the guy and I take my hat off to you for it but that's really wishful thinking unfortunately.
Old 04-02-08, 02:44   #7

Originally Posted by tortohibee View Post
but a rugger fan gets pished and its all a bit of banter and good natured fun . GTF
They can be nippy dude no doubt but in the main they don't fight and they don't chant abusive or sectarian stuff. They are posh after all

The rugby fans that come over usually have exemplary behaviour too, as well as contributing nicely to our economy (and me old mans taxi wage )
Old 04-02-08, 02:50   #8

Casino cash: £535

Read an article in the paper the other day that said that the 6 nations competition was worth about £60 million to the Scottish economy every year! and Edinburgh scores over half of that sum... so it's big business.
Old 04-02-08, 03:07   #9

Originally Posted by SG7nil View Post
Read an article in the paper the other day that said that the 6 nations competition was worth about £60 million to the Scottish economy every year! and Edinburgh scores over half of that sum... so it's big business.

aye big buisness to the hotel and then odd boozer. which the council will give a licence too. i.e city centre bars that bar football colours but invite drunken hordes off middle class rugger fans that choose to wear lassies skirts and sing a dirge song all night. comon. get with the programme

Old 04-02-08, 03:10   #10

mmmm ot was funny how the old q bar and bank hotel were open todat but venturing into leith not 1 boozer was open

Old 04-02-08, 09:02   #11

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

How is the expression "hun" offensive?
Old 04-02-08, 09:11   #12
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10500
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

Originally Posted by Colr View Post
How is the expression "hun" offensive?
This seems to be the latest wheeze from the Teddy Bears to encourage everyone to believe that they are victims rather than aggressors. The gist of it seems to be that the word ‘Hun’ is a sectarian term to describe a protestant.
That’s a new one on me – I always thought it was a straightforward label for a filthy Neanderthal gap-toothed knuckle-dragging braindead scumsucking bluenose bassa. Or a shortened version if you like.

They’ll always be Huns to me I’m afraid.

If we have to stop saying 'Hun'................

:shrink73:

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 04-02-08, 09:46   #13

Casino cash: £13303
Rep Power: 27 wee 162 is just really nicewee 162 is just really nice

Originally Posted by Dr Shrink View Post
This seems to be the latest wheeze from the Teddy Bears to encourage everyone to believe that they are victims rather than aggressors. The gist of it seems to be that the word ‘Hun’ is a sectarian term to describe a protestant.
Correct. They have tried to create an equivalence between the use of the word hun as a synonym for protestant and their own use of the word fenian as shorthand for catholic. Which tells you all you need to know about their thinking imo, and kindae shatters their previous defence of saying that when they were singing about being "up to their knees in fenian blood" they were not actually singing about the radical (non-sectarian) independence fighters from 19th century Ireland...

Fuck the huns.

ps I noticed a banner in the huns end yesterday which said "Carson Loyal". Presumably this was in reference to Edward Carson who founded the UVF whilst in government. Still, it was slightly surprising for a support who love to proclaim their unionist politics that they would celebrate a man who advocated a break up of the UK should there be Irish home rule... I would imagine their next project will be aiming for a re-appraisal of PW Botha and how he was just misunderstood and an unfair victim...

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.” Timothy Leary
Old 04-02-08, 10:22   #14

Casino cash: £33478
Rep Power: 36 Colr is just really niceColr is just really niceColr is just really nice

That’s a new one on me – I always thought it was a straightforward label for a filthy Neanderthal gap-toothed knuckle-dragging braindead scumsucking bluenose bassa. Or a shortened version if you like.

They’ll always be Huns to me I’m afraid.

If we have to stop saying 'Hun'................

:shrink73:
I thought it was from ranGERs - GERmans - HUN. Alluding to them being the enemy. Nothing sectarian about it. Less offensive than referring to the Gunts and they don't complain.
Old 04-02-08, 10:24   #15

Casino cash: £1907
vCash: 24000
Rep Power: 17 Northern Ireland Hibby will become famous soon enough

As I've posted a few times here before - if the OF are going to come under increasing pressure to clean up their act then everyone else had better be sure that they are whiter than white, as the OF have the time, money, twisted supporters and media fan club to turn the argument onto everyone else.

Old 04-02-08, 10:43   #16
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £4600

Originally Posted by Northern Ireland Hibby View Post
As I've posted a few times here before - if the OF are going to come under increasing pressure to clean up their act then everyone else had better be sure that they are whiter than white, as the OF have the time, money, twisted supporters and media fan club to turn the argument onto everyone else.

Are you saying that we shouldn't call them huns, Conor
Old 04-02-08, 10:55   #17

Originally Posted by brianmac View Post
Are you saying that we shouldn't call them huns, Conor
No. What I'm saying is that it is inevitable that we won't be able to at games, and it is an unfortunate price of the pressure being brought on the OF to clean up their chants.

The OF have learnt a lot about being professional victims from their followers in NI, and the focus of the debate will be swung back onto the other teams constantly by the gruesome twosome.

Hibs have dozens and dozens of football songs with a proud history to sing, so we've no need to resort to prehistoric nonsense anyway, so it shouldn't be of any concern for 99% of us.

Old 04-02-08, 11:05   #18
Bit Daft But Not Completely Radge

Casino cash: £10500
Rep Power: 28 Dr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really niceDr Shrink is just really nice

No. What I'm saying is that it is inevitable that we won't be able to at games, and it is an unfortunate price of the pressure being brought on the OF to clean up their chants.

The OF have learnt a lot about being professional victims from their followers in NI, and the focus of the debate will be swung back onto the other teams constantly by the gruesome twosome.

Hibs have dozens and dozens of football songs with a proud history to sing, so we've no need to resort to prehistoric nonsense anyway, so it shouldn't be of any concern for 99% of us.
It’s a problem for me.
Not the singing part, because I’m in the FF where singing is not allowed
But the acceptance that Hun is on the ‘banned list’ just because the Huns say it should be. That smacks of appeasement. And the last time we appeased the Huns, just look what happened. No I don’t mean letting Katie sign for them – I mean the Second World War.

Huns are Huns. I know quite a few of them, and it’s only recently (last 12 months or so) that they have started the “Yes it IS an offensive term” stuff.
Are we allowed to call Dundee United “Arabs” still? Or is that going to be seen as a racist or bigoted term too?
I’m not sure about your comment in bold – are you suggesting that there is some legitimacy to the Huns claim that there is some sort of religious baggage to the term? I honestly didn’t know that if that is the case.

For the avoidance of doubt, anything stated in the above post is written without prejudice; is probably completely uninformed opinion, and possibly just a figment of my imagination. Readers should either ignore, treat with contempt, or simply accept the spirit it is written in, without recourse to huffy replies, legal action or threats of violence.
Old 04-02-08, 11:17   #19

It’s a problem for me.
Not the singing part, because I’m in the FF where singing is not allowed
But the acceptance that Hun is on the ‘banned list’ just because the Huns say it should be. That smacks of appeasement. And the last time we appeased the Huns, just look what happened. No I don’t mean letting Katie sign for them – I mean the Second World War.

Huns are Huns. I know quite a few of them, and it’s only recently (last 12 months or so) that they have started the “Yes it IS an offensive term” stuff.
Are we allowed to call Dundee United “Arabs” still? Or is that going to be seen as a racist or bigoted term too?
I’m not sure about your comment in bold – are you suggesting that there is some legitimacy to the Huns claim that there is some sort of religious baggage to the term? I honestly didn’t know that if that is the case.

No - I'm not suggesting that they are in any way right that the term hun (if the Scottish football sense, as opposed to the NI sense) is offensive, but it was inevitable that the huns were going to claim that it is.

Old 04-02-08, 11:17   #20
I ain't getting on no plane, ya radge

Casino cash: £4600

I don't get it, mate. IMO it's not a sectarian word. I have hun mates who couldn't give a shit about being called it. In fact they seem to like it
Old 04-02-08, 11:38   #21

Casino